We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate but wouldn't stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Off Broadway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Off Broadway Motel
Ranked #24 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Adequate but wouldn't stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed at the Off Broadway for 5 nights in a large studio by myself. The accommodation was fine, although I felt it was far from 4 star.

Although I expected traffic noise, I did not expect to hear the people talking and their tv on in the next rooms. I was also aware of the person above me walking around their apartment, unfortunately this person was an insomniac and I was awoken hourly from 0200 most nights. I also had a small fridge in the room which was particularly noisy clunking on and off all night.

The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean, although there was a overpowering cleaning product smell every evening I came home along with exterior windows open, making me feel there may have been a sewage problem.
One of the reasons I chose this accommodation over others in the area (and there are a few options) was their claim to having gym facilities. These facilities were far from adequate, it was a small dark room with equipment that did not work at all. I ended up taking strolls around the city.
There is no restaurant and breakfast is overpriced.
Good location close to Newmarket.
I was staying by myself so $157 a night was expensive but as the room slept 3 it could be good value for groups.
Reception staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
25
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three days at the Off Broadway motel. It is conviniently situated in a central new market area close to the shops and restaurents. The rooms were large and clean and the managment was friendly, hospitable, and looked after us very well. We had a viriety of choices for breakfast with adequate portions. Would recommend this motel as value for money stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed one night in June 2011. We got stuck in Auckland due to change in flight schedule so tried one of the hotel mentioned by Lonely Planet. However, we were disappointed because:
1. The heater was out of order! The staff gave us a portable heater and it's brand new! I don't know whether that implied that they were so aware of the situation.
2. I suspect that the floor slab is too thin! Throughout the night, we could be able to listen the footstep and TV sounds from the units on the upper floor. As we have to leave the hotel by 4am in next morning, you can imagine what a sleepless bad night we had got.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank weslau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

From the point of reserving the most affordable,Newmarket motel at short notice to the arrival...which was late at 1200 midnight!
We received a very good service....... the room was comfortable, ambience relaxing.
Breakfast can be orderd on request (not included in rate).
For the shopper the Fashion centre is just a walk & the CBD is only a bus ride away,
convenient and would recommend to anyone in search of cost effective lodging (B&B)with comfort and warmth.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annchand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

Adequate for 1 night. Average furnishings. Bathroom floor not clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NPP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excellents, Manager at Off Broadway Motel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Please note that we advertise as a 4 star property but not as 4+ property. Further as I went through our departure list , we did not have a family from New Plymath checked out on the 13/05/2010. I would like to know further details in this regard.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed for one night in February and it was awful. Hairs on the bathroom sink, a broken shelf that was a safety hazard, and worst of all - BED BUGS! I'd never encountered them before but apparently they are on the rise. I didn't know what it was that had crawled on me in the night (I woke up and squashed two) until I got back home and came up with red welts all over, 1 day later. Bites can take several days to appear (I subsequently learnt from scouring the internet). The management did take my complaints seriously but I could tell from the way they responded that they've had them before - the manager didn't act surprised and mentioned that they'd had an exterminator in recently. They were very apologetic, gave me a 50% discount and offered me a free nights' acommodation, but I won't be going back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gumboot_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excellents, Manager at Off Broadway Motel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you for informing us how you felt while you were staying in our motel. We did take this compaint seriously, certanly this is not the type of service that we desire to offer you. Please accept my apology. Unfortunatly we did not notice this untill you brought that to our notice as bugs do have hiding places mainly under bedding & they cannot be removed out of day today cleaning chemicals & disinfectants. However our motel has gone through professional bug control treatments not only in this particular room but the whole motel. Further our staff is well trained to check & identify a situation in this type. Further we have upgraded our facility upto a higher level including replacing televisions with 32" LCD flat screen televisions, painting etc
I assure you that the quality & standard of our motel at a high level & invite you to come & stay with us and enjoy the real comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

Stayed there for 2 night and had our room moved because ' there was an infestation of insects' still have no idea what these were.

When we arrived the rooms are spacious but the decor is dated. The room had a terible 'fousty' smell. There was also small blood stains in the bed sheets.

We mentioned it to the cleaner the following day and were moved to a new room.

The new room didn't smell as bad.

The location is decent. but we were glad to leave .

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland
0.0 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites Alexander Inn
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Newmarket Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Greenlane Suites
Greenlane Suites
#3 of 8 in Greenlane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tudor Court Motor Lodge
Tudor Court Motor Lodge
#35 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off Broadway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off Broadway Motel

Property: Off Broadway Motel
Address: 11 Alpers Avenue | Newmarket, Auckland 1023, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Off Broadway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Qualmark rated Apartment Style Accommodation with up to date facilities available in central Auckland Newmarket area. Simply the best location for travelers/business professionals. Fully serviced rooms with private balcony’s, Air-Conditioned comfort with lovely cotton duvets and neutral decor. Wireless broadband and Lan Broadband connection available to all guests. Large Studios with lots of space with private balconies. Bathrooms with bath (shower over). Queen-size bed and King single bed. Small Studios with a queen bed also available. Off Broadway Motel is the nearest Motel to Newmarket shops, cafes, bars, Olympic heated pool, spa, sauna, steam room, Mercy, Starship Hospital and gymnasium. 15 Minutes to Silvia Park Shopping centre, 3km to Auckland CBD and casino, 3.5km to Vector Arena and 3km to ASB Showgrounds. 16km to airport and Rainbows End Amusement park. 8km to Kelly Tarlton’s Underwater World. Close to Parnell and Remuera shopping centres, Ellerslie and Alexandra Park racecourses, university, showgrounds and major Auckland hospitals. On Auckland’s bus route, 3 km to EDEN PARK rugby & Cricket venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Off Broadway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off Broadway Motel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing