We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Helpful Service.”
Review of Mount Eden Motel

Mount Eden Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Eden Motel
Ranked #61 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly Helpful Service.”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My wife & I stayed here and The Owners & Managment were very friendly & Helpful. Our unit was spotlessly Clean & in a very peaceful Setting. Nothing was a problem to them at all & We would be very happy to stay here again. Very close to lots of places.
Thank you Mt Eden Motel.

Room Tip: Excellent Place to Stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferrit47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    8
    6
    9
See reviews for
14
11
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We travelled with 3 young children and got a 2 bedroom unit.
The place was a little old, but quaint and well- maintained, with friendly faces at reception.

Inside, the fittings looked like they had seen better days, but cleanliness was more then acceptable and the unit was well laid out. The 2 bedroom units will sleep 5 easily on beds, with another 1 or 2 on the sofa bed if necessary.

There was some noise coming from the neighbouring units and for some reason, neighbours climbing their stairs made ours creak as well.

Location was slightly outside the city, but no more than a 15 minute drive. The place was, however, walking distance from a number of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hokey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonning
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

There are half a dozen motels around Mt. Eden, most of them similar in price and facilities.

This one is set well back and up from the road, so it's quiet. Otherwise, there's not much to say about it. 30-40 years old. Average rooms, some with balconies. Good space for parking. Average reception.

A short walk from the bus route into central Auckland. So: convenient for a short stop-over, a very basic business visit, or an assignation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spanner48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We needed a really special location, one which was quiet, so we could recover from the long flight from UK, with good bus services into Auckland for sight-seeing, and also where we could take easy delivery of a hired campervan.
Our first-floor room 'in back', number 17, was nice and quiet, with a lovely view of the small garden complete with bird feeders, (husband a bird-watcher, so an added plus!), and beyond that the local tennis club with its Victorian club-house. Although the decor and facilities were a bit old-fashioned, this was more than made up for by having a sitting-room/kitchenette as well as a bedroom, and the peace!
Buses to the Waterfront in Auckland are less than10 minutes easy walk from the motel, and we found NZ bus drivers very helpful. The management at the Motel will point you in the right direction and there is further information in the room. Just beside the bus stop is Hee's Chinese Seafood Restaurant, for dine-in or takeaway, where lots of Chinese locals eat - great food.
The Motel is on rather an unusual site, but access is fine - though we had only a 2-berth vehicle. Our hire company, New Zealand Frontiers, (whom we can't recommend highly enough), delivered the van easily and we were able to get onto SH1 travelling North out of Auckland) without any problems from this location.
Finally, the price includes a continental breakfast, which was brought up to us the night before, (there is a fridge in the kitchen), so we could eat as and when we felt like it.
We stayed here for 3 nights and would be more than happy to recommend it - though if you want the high life and Auckland's attractions on your doorstep, this is not for you!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gertrudesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Not the best motel - very dated. Have not come across motel units with double beds for a long time. Decor still in 70s with facilities less than poor. Got the impression that guests were a burden. Also felt that is was about the owner rather than the experience of staying there.
Were not told of re-roofing works when checking in. One of our party was woken at 8:00am and asked to move their car for the workmen.
Only thing going for it was location - close to Mt Eden Shops. Suggest you only stay here if you cannot get another motel

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kevinatnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Tauranga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Although the rooms are of a satisfactory standard we were very disappointed with the service and rudeness of the staff. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank autopilotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed at Mt Eden Hotel for 5 days while we visited family in Auckland. We booked the motel a month in advance and got what we were promised. We arrived to a lovely clean unit and greeted by lovely friendly staff. I have a 16 month old girl and nothing was too much trouble. They set up a portacot for my daughter and made sure we had all the extras we needed. The Auckland Cup Carnival was on at the time and the staff gave us great advise on what was going on and how to get around.

There was plenty of room for the whole family and we appreciated that there were 2 larger size Flat screens in the unit. There was questions about the shower. The sign said to space out showers but we shower quickly so there was no need to do that at all, and there was no sign of flooding. We were offered to use the pool on a day that Kiwi's may think is quite warm but we declined the offer as for us it wasn't anywhere near warm enough to swim. I found all staff to be friendly, Sandy and John who own the motel were ever so helpful, and the young man who filled in for them for the weekend was so nice to us, anything we needed he hopped right to it. All in all it was a pleasant experience with nice lawn to lay on and a great area around the back for children to play, but so peaceful and quiet. I would recomend this Motel to anyone. I will definately go back (especially since I have a loyalty card and my next night is free). I read the above review and honestly, we didn't experience anything they did.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McOzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland
3.0 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
292 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
321 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
677 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Eden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Eden Motel

Property: Mount Eden Motel
Address: 47 Balmoral Road, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mount Eden Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Eden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Eden Hotel Auckland Central
Mount Eden Motel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing