We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel near a park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I found this location to be fantastic as it is quiet and with a view over the park. Only 15 minutes walk to the centre and has some good restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were nice and spacious and I loved the large kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 334 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

No real complaints. As far as hostels go this one is comoftable, and fairly clean, despite the number of guests. If we return to Auckland we will use this hostel again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CCG_Rebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This backpackers was recommended to me by a fellow backpacker. I stayed for almost two weeks.

There are good and bad things to say about this hostel. Good things first:
It is a great place to meet fellow travellers. It has a large kitchen and large, comfy common rooms. It is a 'cosy' place, with a piano, a guitar, a small garden... It's not in the city centre but not too far away either (good bus connections and if you're determined, it's doable to walk the distance to downtown).

I stayed in a variety of rooms. Not booking in advance appeared to be a bad idea and I was forced to change rooms several times. Most rooms were okay. They're very proud of their 'no bunk beds' policy but while sleeping in single beds is a nice change, I would have appreciated it more if there were things like lockers and more closets or shelves. The new rooms downstairs had nothing to store any of your belongings.

The rooms in the 'second house', the one with the alphabetically numbered rooms are MUCH NICER. And they're the same price.

Bathrooms are pretty decent. But why aren't they cleaned on Sundays?? Or was that just a fluke in the organization?

One 'scandalous' thing that happened to me there: I had to change rooms and was put in 'a four share'. The room turned out to be a family room with a double bed and two single beds. In the double bed stayed a couple, longtermers, they were working for accommodation at the hostel. We all know that sex in dorms happens but having it blatantly encouraged by putting a double bed in a 'dorm' room was more than a bit insulting.

Overall, I can recommend this place, it's cosy and social and the owner is a friendly guy; but make sure you ask what kind of room you are being put in.

Room Tip: The second house with the alphabetically numbered rooms are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myrianeWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartmunro, Owner at Verandahs Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Thank you for your review. The share room with a double bed was a family room we were experiementing with. This did obviously not work , partly for the reason you have mentioned and the room no longer has a double bed. As for the showers , these are cleaned daily , 365 days a year. Thank you for your suggestion to have a price differentiation between the houses. We will look at this option in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I spent 10 days at Verandahs Backpacker lodge and enjoyed every day there. There are several things that make this place a great hostel:
1. It's clean, very clean. Easily the cleanest hostel I've stayed in, the bathrooms and kitchen were kept in great condition.
2. Near the downtown core, but not right downtown. This way it was an easy 20-30 minute walk right to the downtown area, or a less than 10 minute bus ride. Either way, very convenient.
3. Lots of nearby food choice. You are pretty much right beside Ponsonby and K'Road, so you have numerous restaurants available, ranging from inexpensive (the international food court is excellent) to very pricey.
4. Free car parking is available. There isn't a TON of space, but it is there and available, and I had no issues (just have to park carefully!).
5. The nearby park is really nice and has an outdoor fitness circuit set up. Great for keeping in shape!

That's not to say it was perfect (I'd give it 4.5/5 realistically), here were my minor quibles:
1. Rooms, and bathrooms, tended to be chilly. I'm used to the cold coming from Canada, but I'd still say the temperature in the building was on the very cool side. However, since travelling through more of NZ, so far that seems to be the norm. Plenty of blankets were given for the bed and sleeping was cozy and warm.
2. Costly wifi - again, this is something I'm just not used to here in NZ - elsewhere most hostels give free wifi quite readily - here in NZ, free wifi *anywhere* is very hard to find. So it has more to do with my expectations than a problem with a hostel really.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin_Sarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

A little outside the city, a quick bus ride. Near many restaurants and coffee shops. Nice lounge and kitchen area. The rooms, showers/bathrooms clean. Would recommend for travelers. No free internet.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lianelau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I arrived at Verandahs early in the morning at around 0740am fresh off a flight from LA. And despite the fact that the host Campbell wasn't supposed to be there until 8am. He came immediately to the backpackers to meet me when I called him.

I was very impressed from the start to the attention to detail paid to guests. Campbell give a very detailed guided tour of both houses and all facilities. He was also very helpful when it came to local advice on where to go and what to do.

I was staying at house number 4 in a 4 bed shared room. Thankfully no bunks here. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated inside. The bathrooms were also spotless with great showers.

All communal areas were also kept very clean. The kitchen was well equipped and a good place to meet other guests. The two living rooms were nice. One even had a piano and guitar which guests were welcome to use.

Campbell and his staff go well beyond what many backpacker places offer to make your stay a great one. This would be my first choice any time I stay in Auckland in the future. You feel so much at home in Verandahs with the bonus of a nice garden and amazing views.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed in Verandahs on 4 seperate occasions and loved our experience there every time. Each time we stayed in either a 4 or 5 bed dorm which was a nice size. The beds were really comfortable and the house itself is so cosy and welcoming it felt like our second home. The kitchen area is great as well with lots of facilities and also 2 spacious lounge areas and a big garden for reading and relaxing in. The location was great as you could walk into town within 30 minutes and Ponsonby itself is a lovely area with a huge selection of restauarants and cafes. It seemed like a lot of people staying here were there for the long term and we could completely understand why.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 132 in Auckland Central
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#15 of 132 in Auckland Central
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#5 of 132 in Auckland Central
536 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#27 of 132 in Auckland Central
9 reviews
1.8 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#30 of 132 in Auckland Central
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verandahs Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Address: 6 Hopetoun Street | Auckland Central, Auckland Central, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $24 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Verandahs Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verandahs Backpackers comprises of 2 beautiful Victorian Villa's built in late 1800's and early 1900's, renovated to surpass their original grandeur. Unfortunately our hostel is not suitable for children under the age of 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Verandahs Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verandahs Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing