We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience”

Hector's Restaurant
Ranked #114 of 2,232 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: New Zealand, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our food philosophy is based on the “Eco Gastronomy” concept, which has strong connections between how and where food is produced and consumed. We strive to source premium ingredients locally which are seasonal, fresh and in their prime. Our menus offer a wide variety of light and healthy options and we believe that eating is for the mind, body and soul.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I used a Grab One Voucher to treat my wife their High Tea. When we were led to our table, the first thing we noticed was how filthy the carpet was. I have never been to a Restaurant where the carpet was in a state like this. It was certainly not a good first impression. The Service was ok and the food was ok. Neither was not up to the standard of other Auckland Hotels where we have had their High Tea.
From Colin of Auckland

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    58
    15
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“STUNNING VEGAN FOOD - WONDERFUL ATMOSPHERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

This stunning and serene restaurant is just a stone's throw from Auckland central - a choice of the most beautiful vegan dishes as well as succulent meat options for those who prefer to be carnivorous. Such a delicate fusion of flavours in every course. Perfect and courteous fast service - great atmospehere - we will definitely come back for more - reasonable prices too! Hats off to the wonderful chef!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
232 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Lovely Valentine's meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We came here for Valentine's dinner as dining is always a bit of a pain with one veggie and one meat eater so this way we could both be pleased! The menu was a set menu with only 2 choices per course - 1 vegan and one meat/non-veggie. This suits me as I don't like too much choice and I'm not fussy. Perhaps it might have been a little too restrictive for other people.

Anyhow, the restaurant is in a hotel atrium as others have said. It is a little odd but not cold or unwelcoming and the staff were really friendly. It seems like some effort has been made to disguise the fact that this is a hotel restaurant eg the breakfast buffet table was behind a screen.

There was a glass of bubbles each to start with and a flower for me. Then there were warm, freshly baked bread rolls with olive oil and balsamic dips. I liked this as most NZ restaurants do not offer bread routinely as they do in Europe. Then we had an amuse bouche which was a delicious tomato cracker with cashew hummus and coconut. After this, Vince had a starter of asparagus with various bits and bobs. He thought the tomato granita was a "bit weird" but he liked the dish overall with the corn mousse and almond gazpacho. I had the most delicious thing ever - tuna and crab canneloni with the thin tuna forming the canneloni tubes and the crab inside. This came with a beautiful avocado puree. Vince was not so fond of his main of exotic mushrooms. While he enjoyed the rest of the dish, he felt it was overwhelmed by the mushrooms, some of which were quite large and had an unusual texture for him. My venison was nicely cooked with some interesting accompaniments. The desserts were delicious - a vegan chocolate mousse, again with interesting and tasty accompaniments and I had a fruity mousse cake with macaron and fresh berries.

The wine list has a great selection of wines, many of which are vegan and, of these most are available by the glass.

What really impressed me was the thoughtfulness of the dishes, the fact that none was overwhelming but each was beautifully presented. This would have been a 5 out of 5 if Vince had enjoyed the mushroom main more. Value for money was good for the city centre and you can be sure that we will be back

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nesbitevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Tried this place because it was listed on a vegetarian website, and found that it offered a great range of meals, for both vegetarian and non-vegetarian. Also a good selection of wines, by the glass or bottle. And wonderful service. Very pleasantly surprised -- hotel restaurants are not often this good!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDEC_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
571 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Food was delicious and beautifully presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had a couple of dinners here and the food is lovely. Staff were excellent and obliging. Well priced and very pleasant surrounds.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanP196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hector's Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Hector's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing