We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Incredible value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

I stayed at the Auckland City Hotel for a week, and got such an incredible rate for a city-center hotel that I expected to find a youth hostel. But the hotel to my surprise was easily 3 star, with a great kitchenette and excellent bed. I didn't use the restaurant except once for a light snack, so can't comment there. I thought the parking fees (25 NZ$ per day) were reasonable for city center parking, as was the wired internet service (no wireless in the rooms), which was a per-minute charge, daily max of ~33 NZ$ or something like that. Seriously, I booked through Expedia and even with the parking and internet, it was still a smoking deal for comparable city center accommodations.

I liked its "eco-friendliness", but would have chosen it anyway for the value.
My only complaint is that I couldn't find stairs for access - I was on the second floor, and having to take the elevator up and down every day doesn't seem very environmentally friendly to me. I'd have rather climbed stairs.

As far as the neighborhood... there is a mission down the street where there were sometimes some homeless-looking people milling about, so if it would bother you to walk past them then don't stay here, go be a snob somewhere else. There is a laundry two buildings down, which made it nice to be able to run over and do some wash mid-week. There are two little convenience markets nearby that had a reasonable selection of kitchen food stuff. I walked to the harbour one afternoon and had a boat tour, wandered about, Queen Street shopping was excellent and everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarittaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    387
    247
    70
    30
See reviews for
151
404
93
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

The parking was awful, and there were no instructions to tell us where to go. Our key didn't work for the room and had to be replaced. The electricity wasn't functioning in the room, and we later found out that we had to place our key in a slot in the room just to get the electricity working. There were no instructions listed anywhere about this. The staff barely spoke English, and were rude and unhelpful. Their attitude was extremely casual, and there was no apology for the problems we had experienced. We ended up leaving and going to another hotel. I am demanding a refund.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewFromMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMTess, Guest Relations Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, February 25, 2009
Dear Sir,

The management of Auckland City Hotel regret such experience that was encountered and noted this feedback. Rest assured that we do take customer’s feedback seriously as we constantly strive to deliver service exellence to all our guests.

We thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Tess Sebastian
Guest Services Manager

Auckland City Hotel
157 Hobson St.
Auckland, New Zealand
PH- 09-925-0777
Fax 09 925-0700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

This apartment style hotel is in a great location close to skycity and queens street. The kitchenette is very well equipped and I liked the eco-friendly touches. The room was very spacious and spotless. The bed was the best I had slept in while travelling new zealand.

Unfortunately the restaurant was under refurbishment while I was there so I cannot comment on breakfast etc.

I booked this hotel on hotels.com for 48 euro per night which was nearly half what was being charged on the hotels own website.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank risin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACH157, Management at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, February 26, 2009
Thank-you for your kind comments. You will be pleased to know that the cafe is now open for breakfast and lunch from 7am to 6pm. It should be open for dinner from around mid-late March.

Also the pricing on our website is in NZ dollars (not Euros), so rooms start at around 40 Euro with no booking fees. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

Just a warning, don't rely on the hotel's wake up services and for them to book a taxi. We were assured that we'd be woken up at a certain hour which never happened and the taxi that they also assured would be booked never happened either. Luckily we just woke up in time ourselves, in time to book a taxi and just made it to our flight.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — don't offer services that you won't deliver on
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank apple055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACH157, Management at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, February 26, 2009
Thank-you for your feedback as it will allow us to identify our short-comings and address them. We sincerely apologise for your experience with us.

We seem to have an intermittent problem with our telephone system for wake-up calls, and so we have implemented a manual follow up call procedure in the interim before the system is fixed.

As for booking taxis, we have a manual booking sheet which is reasonably foolproof, however we will look further at how we can improve this. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

Very pleased with the choice of this hotel for our 2 night stay in Auckland..hotel recently refurbished to a good standard, very comfortable beds and everything fresh and clean... Skycity is literally 2 minutes walk and the waterside 7 or 8 minutes (a bit harder walk back up the hill but thats Auckland) would definately stay here if I returned but just a tip for car drivers.. the hotel car park is expensive and there are much cheaper options just 2 minutes away down the side of the hotel and through the lights.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfortable rooms, value for money
  • Disliked — Reception could be better, lacked experience.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazarronBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

For all the hype here, the hotel is just about avergae. It is centrally located just outside the sky tower, but besides that (and being effiecient -i.e good value for money) it does nothing to enhance the kiwi experience of being at Auckland !

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blackmagicwoman311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

That's how the girl at the front desk greeted me. She may have been holding up a finger at me, I don't remember. But it was definitely off-putting.

Many people who arrive in Auckland have, like me, just spent 20 or so hours on a plane. When you get to your destination you just want a smile and a little courtesy. None was forthcoming. It's not that they're rude, exactly, they just don't seem to grasp that customer service involves making people feel welcome.

Then I walked past the cafe. The sign said "will open in October 2008." It was December 2008, and it was still nowhere near being open. When I got to the room I figured out that you had to insert the card in the slot to make the power come on, but couldn't, in my jet-lagged state, deduce that you need to LEAVE IT THERE.

A phone call later, someone came and showed me. In theory, I guess I applaud the eco friendliness, but this is another thing you need to TELL THE PERSON WHO IS PAYING GOOD MONEY TO STAY AT YOUR HOTEL UP FRONT, not let them puzzle out on their own when they just flew overnight from L.A.

A word about the location for those like me who didn't do their homework: yes, it is in central Auckland. However, central Auckland is pretty awful. It is across the street from the Misson, and while Kiwi bums are not exactly intimidating, it's still not the most pleasant sight. It's near the Sky City Tower and Queen Street, yes, but unless you are a connoisseur of cheese and ugliness you will want to get as far away from these things as possible as soon as possible. They give an awful first impression of a city that is actually pretty nice once you get out into the suburbs.

Don't stay here, or in this area.

  • Liked — Cheap.
  • Disliked — Poor service, cut corners, and an unpleasant location.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drjimmy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACH157, Management at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, February 26, 2009
Thank-you for your feedback as it will allow us to address our short-comings. We do apologise for your experience with us, we are actively working to improve guest experiences.

We have addressed the less experienced members of our staff and will be monitoring their progress in terms of customer service. They will definitely improve with more experience and training. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Property: Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing