We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bathroom smelled like sewage.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bathroom smelled like sewage.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

My experience staying at the Auckland City Hotel on Hobson Street was fairly average, it would have been better if my bathroom hadn't smelled like sewage. It was disgusting. I would have changed rooms if the smell had permeated throughout the rest of the room or if I had been staying for longer than two nights.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank stefflamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Stephenie,

We do apologise for the experience you had during your stay here. The smell from the bath room is usually caused by air coming back up from the drainage when a seal is loose or the water seal is too low. If our maintenance team is not able to rectify it immediately, we would offer to move rooms whenever possible. Thank-you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards
Auckland City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    388
    248
    70
    30
See reviews for
152
405
93
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

The auckland city hotel is centrally located but the service is quiet poor. We stayed here for 2 nights after the first night when we went out the next morning and came back to the hotel we found that our room was still how we had left it in the morning. The hotel staff took too long to get the room cleaned and put it back it order for us. The breakfast too wasnt upto the mark. Hardly any options or variety in the buffet. Over all its clean but the heater barely worked. Service is poor.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vaishnavi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank-you for your feedback, we are always striving to improve our service standards and guest feedback provides an important avenue of communications for this.

Normally we aim to service all rooms by early afternoon, but on especially busy days there could be delays. However we can always prioritise to meet guest needs, so our guests can request rooms to be serviced by a certain time by informing front desk.

The restaurant is a separate business to our hotel, but we will forward your comments to them for their reference. We hope that we may have another opportunity to serve yo in the future.

Regards
Auckland City Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent the final nights here on our mini "rugby road trip" following our team around the North Island. We found this hotel to be excellent value for money and while not in the city centre, we were short walking distances to the Skytower and the harbour. We left our hire car parked here and just walked everywhere. Having a little kitchenette was a bonus with a decent sized fridge and microwave to store our goodies collected along the road trip. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. We had no view other than the buildings behind us so kept our curtains closed. I don't think you would stay here for a view though. It was great to have 1 hour free wi-fi in our hotel room (not the lobby like most other hotels we stayed at in New Zealand) as this is the way we kept in touch with home. Staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient. We are going to stay here again for Lions tour.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KylieHiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Nice hotel but hard to get a park out the front to go and checkin, especially if you arrive around 5pm like we did.
We chose to park car at hotel car park $25 a bit too expensive, most expensive hotel car park we had during our four weeks in NZ.
Room was really nice, beds very comfortable. We did leave a pair of sports shoes there which we realised the day after we had left the premises. A couple of emails by me to hotel with reply saying there was nothing left in the room. That was a bit disappointing as that is the only place they could have been.
The only other disturbing thing was when we went to leave and get the car from the car park it had been moved, for a couple of minutes we thought we had lost the hire car. I believe they should have told us they had moved it.
Restaurant was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank softball51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

I didn't need to park a car, I defer to people's experiences regarding that. Location: It is a block from the Auckland Mission, but that could be easily bypassed by crossing the street (I walked past it, no problems). I had a room on the ground floor, facing the street. My room had two very small bedrooms and I was by myself. By sleeping in the room further from the street I heard no street noise. Kitchenette was good. The little "continental breakfast" they give is, to me, supplemental what you may cook for breakfast, so its fine. My room was clean, the free wifi worked the best of any hotel I stayed in to date, anywhere. My only issue was when I arrived the room did not have a dvd player in the room and it took two days for someone to put one in. The front desk staff are pleasant and they let me store my luggage on the last day, as I had a late flight. Close enough to the harbor, the K Road, very close to the Sky Tower. I stayed here in 2009 and five years later I was more than happy. I do not agree with the bad reviews, my experience was just about completely very worthwhile, and that is a testament to their wanting to please people.

Room Tip: No pool, spa on premises. You may want a higher floor due to street noise. I had no problem on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crossbow0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I thought this hotel was great for the price. The location was great for walking in and out of town easily, the studio room was spacious and clean and would have suited for a longer visit as it had kitchen facilities although we were only there for one night and the staff were very courteous to us so I had no problems on that front.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Having read some previous reviews was worried about this hotel when arriving for daughters University Graduation night. In order, we found all staff including reception to be polite, helpful and smiling. Room was very clean , comfortable ,roomy, and quiet. Location was great, close to Queen Street and Aotea Square. No we did not see or get accosted by any homeless people even though we were walking around late in the evening. No we did not use the air conditioning as we used the natural one by opening the windows for the night. Only down side was having to pay the $25 for a car park for the night, but at least we knew the car was safe, and no it did not get shifted by staff ! All up we were very happy with our experience.

Room Tip: Our Room on south west side seemed to be quieter than perhaps Hobson Street side and we were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Property: Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing