We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK For a Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My Wife and I spent 2 nights here following our arrival in NZ. The hotel is situated near the Skytower, and there are several bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. The room was clean and tidy and had all the usual necessities, including a refrigerator, although the hotel had crammed a sofa into the room and it wasn't possible to sit on one end of it becausec the bed was in the way! Complimentary Wifi would have been useful, given that many of us these days have wifi enabled devices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN22216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
There are newer reviews for Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 927 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had a bus trip to Auckland for the All Blacks v South Africa . This hotel suited us s it was in a handy location, close to Sky City.The rooms were clean and tidy. Beds comfortable.
Couple of convince stores handy, one with a kebab shop included.
Staff were generally ok, didn't have much to do with them apart from check in. Stored our bags after check out, till leaving for air port.
Overall a decent budget hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Internet is cheaply rationed, could be bit more generous considering we rely on it a bit these days. Parking can be easily found across the road at reasonable rate.
There was no kitchen in our room, but cutlery was promptly made available.
Staff is very courteous and room was clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitesh_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Only stayed one night, but was very pleased with rooms.
All the the Staff from Counter to cleaners were very helpful, nice to have a pleasant welcome from all who worked there.
I would recommend to anyone,
Possible need of some English food at restaraunt, like steak ,not much variety ,if you don't like spicy food.
Rooms were very clean and modern, with a good hot shower.
Beds were comfy with plenty of fluffy pillows.
Flat screen TV and alarm.
Coffee and tea making with Microwave an extra .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

For our first stay in Auckland, we were booked at the Auckland City Hotel.the staff were very helpful and were able to accommodate our additional guest at last minute. The package we were given included breakfast however we would have much preferred including parking charges instead. We were not asked for our breakfast order and what was served included, warm bacon, scrambled eggs, two fried frankfurts with French toast with syrup and icing sugar allow the same plate... Not exactly the perfect breakfast for type 1 diabetic....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have to admit that this was one of the good hotels, with nice rooms, good location, good service and cleanliness. Hotel is 10 storied building with plenty of rooms. I stayed in twin bed room for 2 weeks.

Room was was quit large with 2 beds, plenty of lighting, a TV and sofa for relaxing, a chair and a small table if you want to work. Beds were good enough and i don't have any problem during my sleep. Room was very quiet and In terms of cleanliness, service maid always make sure that room is clean and all the bed sheets and towels are changed everyday.

Each room has separate AC machine and heater as compared to conventional all in one. Though heater takes some time to get up to speed.

Each room also has a working kitchenette, which contains microwave, refrigerator, toaster, water heater, 2 hotplates, daily useful utensils and cleaning gear. Service maid daily cleans the utensils and they were upto mark.

Front desk was also good and they were always quick in their services. They also have good internet plans with great speed.

I didnt tried their restaurant, as I am a vegetarian but always I see 4-6 tables busy with guests so probably it was good too.

Hotel location is good, it is walking distance to Skycity tower and you have many grocery stores & liquor shops near by.

All in all it was a comfortable stay with great value for money and I would recommend everyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Take front rooms for sunlight.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asheesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were staying only one night. Upon arrival you are required to pay $25 for a Hotel carpark - nothing in the small print about the charges for parking. The manager only charged $15 because I mentioned that I really had "No" choice about paying the $25 if I needed a carpark. I think he agreed it should be more publicised.

Also, when booking my Hotels through Hotel.com, the Credit Card provided is the one they charge at the end of your stay. But, the manager got me to pay up front. This was confusing for me, as I have never struck this with any of my previous bookings with Hotel.com.

We had brought our swimmers as it shows there is a pool. But the pool is "Off Site" at "Youth Town"????? Please! That is a block away from the Hotel! Very cheeky marketing and very disappointing!

The room was basic enough, but the thing that got me was the King sized bed! It was 2 beds pushed together and they were not even the same height. When we slept, we rolled to the middle, but couldn't roll evenly over because of the height differences!

To be honest, for $40 more, we could have stayed at Sky City and possibly had a carpark included. I won't be going back again and I certainly won't recommend this to anyone, which is a shame.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cassandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $90 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing