We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our queen sized room was clean and comfortable. Quick to warm up with the portable heater provided. The location of the hotel was great, approx 5-10min walk from Queen St bus stop (if catching the airport shuttle bus into the city), 5min walk to sky tower or 10min walk to the wharf!
Staff were helpful and friendly, even helped us out with free wifi and car parking!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ziliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 942 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in June 2013 for three nights. It was our first visit to Auckland, and we're from the U.S. This hotel has the PERFECT location for getting around Auckland City. There's no need to drive anywhere, really. But if you must leave the City, the motorway is within two blocks. Underground parking is available at this hotel, but it isn't free. Queens Street (the shopping district) is just a few blocks over, and there are tons of eateries in the area. The bus terminal, the ferry, a shopping mall, a police station, grocery store, currency exchange, Starbucks, everything is right nearby in walking distance.

The hotel is clean and updated, and there is a Malaysian restaurant (The Mustard Seed) right off the lobby. Prices at the restaurant are reasonably priced (well I found NZ to be quite expensive for food in comparison to the U.S.). The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The only issue we had at this hotel was that street noise can be heard in the rooms, and our room was cold. Our room was on the fourth floor with windows facing Cook Street. At upwards of 10 p.m. we could hear traffic, and on one night there was street cleaning with all of the leaf blowers making noise. That was horrible. The traffic noise subsided after about 10 p.m. each night. It was winter, and it seemed that even with the windows closed the noise and cold air just came right through. I don't know if the glass is double paned, but if it is, that hotel could use better seals around the windows, and the City shouldn't allow street cleaning to take place around 9-10 p.m. right next to a hotel.

The suites are equipped with a small kitchenette, complete with stovetop, microwave, cooking utensils and cutlery, pots and saucepan, mixing/salad/serving bowls, dishwashing liquid and drain pan. That's a plus since it can be far less expensive to prepare your own meals than to eat once at a takeaway in NZ. Hotel guests have use of a gym that's nearby (for anyone needing to tighten up that body a bit), and I think the gym has a pool. WiFi is also available for a charge.

Overall, it's a great place to stay, and I'd stay there again in a heartbeat whenever traveling back to NZ. Voila!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc_Asellus_Borealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here in August 2010. Reception was friendly and helpful, room was clean, and due to the location (if you need caffeine the second you awake) the kitchenette was a big plus. The management had "green" leanings, which I appreciated. Read the other reviews regarding the noise, can't comment since we were there in low season. Verdict- I would most likely stay here again considering the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duomi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

A nice stay for the price. I wish I had read reviews requesting a higher floor as street noise can be heard throughout the night. Rooms were clean, comfy and spacious. Reception was friendly and the location is just a few minutes walk from sky city.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BostonianReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Auckland City Hotel for 6 nights. It was wet and cold in Auckland we stayed in the executive suites and were on the top floor. The first night the wind was shocking and howled through the hotel room alnight and did not sleep. Contacted the managers who after 1 hour finally come up to our room to see what the problem was. They has to put seals around the windows and also gave a huge discount on the cost of the apartment due to this. They also do not have heating in the room and give you oil heaters instead. The staff were very attentive to the guests and assisted with any enquiry I had. They also have a restaurant located in the hotel but would close very early. They provide in room WIFI but I had to keep logging in which was very annoying and it was also very slow at night. The beds were comfortable and the room clean however the shower was pathetic and would go hot and cold the whole time you are in there and is very small. Not so good when its so so cold outside and you ned to warm up. The hotel is in walking distance of the centre of the CBD but there are a lot of hills.

Room Tip: Try not to book top floor rooms in the winter period as they have not sealed the windows and you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Traveling on my own I wanted somewhere close to the Aotea Centre to see a show and found this Hotel conveniently placed. I was there for 3 nights and was able to come and go, feeling safe in the area...Night and Day stores were close as well as takeaway places. Also, the Hotel was within walking distance to the shops and Sky Tower and easily accessible to the Ferries to go on a day trip to Waiheke Island. Staff were accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park to the rear of Hotel were nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha-Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband & I stayed in the hotel for 3 days over the weekend in June. The room was lovely, great shower & also a kitchenette for making breakfast etc. Very comfortable beds and clean & tidy. Easy walking distance to the central city. View not great, overlooking the back units but we were not spending much time in our room anyway. Could we suggest they have 2 of each type of plate in the kitchen so you do not have to share/wait till the other has eaten.
Would absolutely stay again. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 65 in Auckland Central
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#35 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#28 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,271 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
696 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $96 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing