We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAFF make Auckland City Hotel-Hobson Street... A WINNER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed April 29, 2013

There was a bit of confusion with the type of 2br apartment which I had pre-paid after having secured a great deal for 3 nights accommodation, but the staff were most obliging, courteous and helpful and we were very happy with the outcome. Our apartment on the 10th floor was spacious, clean and met all our needs. Our evening meal at the Mustard Seed Malaysian restaurant situated on the ground floor was absolutely delicious!

The hotel staff did the "more than" what was expected eg. we had family visit for lunch and the staff member on the desk moved his own car from his parking spot outside the hotel, so our family member could have it!

The hotel location is close to the Sky City Tower, plenty of eateries as well as the main shopping area of Queen Street. There is a Countdown supermarket - turn left and go down two blocks then turn right and go down towards Queen Street two blocks and the supermarket is located opposite the bungy jump area.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (10th) which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryC4505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 973 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Been here for 1 night after arriving New Zealand. Nice hotel, cosy rooms, comfortable bed and central location. DO NOT expect anything luxoury here as this is not that sort of place. But if you are after a high standard room in a good location, and of course reasonable price, this place is certainly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaveh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booked in here for 4 nights when we first arrived to see the sights of Auckland, for the money you cannot get closer to the Sky Tower! Great location for all the shops and the sights, the room was large and well equipped with heaters, kitchenette and very clean and comfortable the room was cleaned daily. Also had free access to a gym and swimming pool (not used).
Staff are friendly and helpful and we got 1 hour of free wifi per day.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MarknLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location of this hotel is not far from the main hotels but on a less salubrious street.It is easy walking to the quay and shopping district.Rooms are basic but clean and the price was right.Would stay somewhere else if spending a few days in Auckland.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farrercove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is I the urban Mecca. There is a homeless shelter across the street, so expect some folks out wandering at night. It backs up to an apt complex. I felt safe and the room was quiet. Our AC unit was troublesome and noisy, so it was quite warm and stuffy at night. The wifi is available for free for the one hour per day and only on one device. Would stay here again, but would explore other locations first, like Ponsonby.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinmansw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ugh - I wish I never spent my money on this dive! Let me just list a few things that I found intolerable: first, a stand alone air condtioner (the size of a curb-side rubbish can), which was plopped in the middle of the room, greeted us as we entered the room. This thing was big and was placed in the only space that could accommodate it - in front of a small, tired couch, which we could not use. Then, we noticed that the remote control for the TV was held together with duct tape!! Bathroom - dirty floor, mirror and towels. Towels were washed so many times that they were treadbare. View - the parking lot and the apartment building next door. This building was positioned so we could see all of the patio windows of the 80-100 residents. Their drapes were all opened so we could see all of the activities of the residents - people preparing food, boyfriends and girlfriends getting cozy, people talking on the phone and watching TV - you get the idea. We had to keep our curtains closed at all times!. Streets outside were dirty, noisy and to be honest, I did not feel safe in this part of town. This was the only place in NZ that left me feeling this negative....I hope you don't stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 738kevinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank-you for your feedback which allows us to identify areas where we are able to improve. We usually place the portable air-condition unit so that it is more out of the way, we apologize that this was not in its proper place in you case. Our staff would be more than willing to rectify this problem once it has been reported.

Better TV remote replacements have been sourced to replace existing ones and we have overhauled our housekeeping department to improve on cleanliness, although this is not usually an area of major concern from other reviews.

We have informed our linen supplier regarding the linen issue, and they have assured us that they are constantly renewing their stocks to replace worn items.

We are certain that we will be able to provide a much improved experience for you the next time you stay with us.

Regards
Auckland City Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stopped here for 1 night as soon as we landed in Auckland. Our room was nice, with kitchen facilities, modern but cosily decorated. We were on the 9th floor and there was very little noise from outside. The hotel is also really close to the Sky Tower and Hertz vehicle rentals who we hired our car from, we walked there to pick up our car and it took less than 5 mins.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
995 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#38 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,153 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#31 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
716 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#29 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $99 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing