We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I booked this Hotel on Agoda after I'd arrived in downtown Auckland and discovered that the Backpackers I thought I was going to stay at had not processed my booking properly.
Lucky me, because I'll be staying at the Auckland City Hotel from now on. Its convenient location is great - just a few minutes walk from the Aotea Centre and Queen St. There's a couple of convenience stores close by if you need some extra nibbles.
The hotel is quiet, friendly, clean and well-run. Its value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kamahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    380
    240
    66
    29
See reviews for
144
390
91
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed 1 night in this hotel after our New Zealand cruise before flying back to Sydney. The room was very clean and with all amenities available - tea/coffee, kettle, milk, mini bar fridge, cups, iron & ironing board even a safe to store your important document ! There are coins operated washing machines / dryer located at level 3,6 & 9. Very good location the sky city tower just round the corner and 15 minutes walk to Viaduct harbour. You have to walk pass the Auckland city mission centre and the inter city Bus terminal is just nearby. Lots of convenience stores nearby. Unfortunately the malaysian restaurant - the Mustard seed located in the hotel was closed till the mid January so are some of the others in the city. The staff are helpful . The only downside was my room facing directly at a 12 floor apartment block and the tenants are out on their balconies or you can see straight through the apartments from the whole room ! Also there is a half inch gap under the main room door. The outside corridor is carpeted and the entry to the room is tile floor. There was a constant draught coming through underneath the main door otherwise this hotel is good for short stay !

Room Tip: Avoid room 307 or rooms that facing the apartments block directly if possible .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chenL21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We booked 3 nights here before we flew into Auckland and we couldn't be happier. We booked on cheaptickets.com and when we got there I guess they made a mistake with our reservation and upgraded us to a 2 storey suite on the top floor for no extra charge. The location was great and a good base for just getting into Auckland, 5-10 min walk to all the shops and restaurants and also to the ferries and Britomart station. Some of the other reviews are correct about looking really hard into the cleanliness with a little extra dust here and there but other than that it was good, even found a sweet pair of sunglasses under 1 of the beds. Staff are very nice and helpful and the in house restaurant was always busy and looked good but a little to expensive for our needs.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mook G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Initial reviews of this hotel got me skeptical, but when I reached here in December 2012 I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is in a very central location and the room was small, but it had all the amenities one would require really. It was perfectly packed with a double bed, chair, table, and it had all the other essential things. It did not have a bath tub. Had a basic shower and toilet, but everything was quite clean.
Good restaurants of all cuisines were nearby and we ordered food from outside without hassle. There are good coffee shops closely and sky city is really close. The central point of this hotel in the city is a huge plus.
If you are looking at exploring auckland city the whole day and coming back to some basic comforts, this hotel is a good choice. If you need a fantastic hotel experience with bath tub, and if you spend more time at a hotel, then this is not the place. For staying for couple of nights and exploring the city, it's perfect. Service is good as well. I would not recommend the restaurant so much here, but in Auckland nearby the hotel, lots of places are around.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brownhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

The moment we walked in the hotel room, we were totally dumbfounded. It ws spacious, clean and nice. The price was cheap because I booked early and they are located right at the city. You can walk to the main shopping area in less than 5 minutes. Food was so easily available and cheap as well, just outside the hotel. All in all, we were really impressed and happy with this stay. From our window, we could still see a beautiful sunset, even though there were quite a number of buildings around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank armani123sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

You can not beat the location of this hotel. The room was lovely and comfortable. The staff was eager to serve. Being Americans, who had never been to New Zealand, we had several requests before and after we arrived. Airport shuttle was arranged. We were able to check-in early and check-out late. Having a frig and coffee/tea service allowed for breakfast in the room, if desired. All in all it was a pleasant place to stay with a nice relaxed atmosphere. We also enjoyed the swimming and hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gale m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I agree with previous reviewers that this is not 4 star. But it's adequate three star. Rooms can be small and cramped but give all that you need. Those on the first floor (which is really a mezzanine have no lift access. Car parking is limited and exorbitantly expensive; we'd have found somewhere else, but the convenience of having the car in the same building when we were only there for one night put us off. Breakfast was OK, nothing special and expensive. I generally found the staff helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Property: Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing