We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had one night in Aukland on my way to the south island and stayed at this hotel. Great location -- was able to walk to the harbour and jump on the on/off tourist site seeing bus. My only "gotcha" was that they were not very service oriented (which I soon learned is the situation throughout all of NZ. I needed to ship something and they were able to direct me to a post that was open on Saturday. I did have an interesting situation that the maintenance man helped me solve. They give you the standard hotel keys which typically slide into a door slot to open the door. However, there was no door slot and my door was unlocked. I went to the front desk and explained my confusion and they looked at me like I had three heads. The maintenance guys was standing there and walked to my room with me -- to discover you have to wave your key in front of the door lock to activate the lock. Who would have thought??? But, my room was quiet, clean and the wakeup call was prompt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main road -- but it is pretty sleepy in this area on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavoncollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 997 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for one night for the Coldplay concert. Staff were very friendly and the room was small but contained all the essentials. We had a small kitchenette which we didn't need to use and two double beds. Bathroom was very clean and shower was our favourite thing. It was big and brilliant pressure. Reasonable price and we didn't try the buffet as it was a bit expensive. Great for a night or two in town

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The beds are well past there used by date abd are extremley uncomfortable, there cleaners don't no how to clean properly or make a bed, they rip you off with the wi-fi usage, carpets are filthy, portable heating and air con, overall just a very below par standard at this venue, recommend to find accomodation else where!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ahock32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days before travelling. Had a King Size Bed Suite and it was great with little kitchenette, lots of smaller and larger grocery shops near by to get food. Service was friendly, nice Malaysian restaurant to eat at down stairs. Came back for one night stay and they showed me the only room they had available was a small room with double bed - would of been no good for 4 night stay, so recommend you go for King Size Bed Suite. They upgraded me anyway which was good.

Room Tip: Don't go for standard room, go for Studio or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here during October 2012, our room was lovely - very clean and modern, with a small kitchen and everything we needed. Bathroom was slightly on the small side but that really didn't matter because the quality and comfort of the room was top notch. It was exceptionally good value as well and very close to the centre of Auckland, and the Sky Tower. The reception was very helpful in pointing out to us places on the map, local supermarkets and giving us an idea of walking distances etc.

I would stay here again without a doubt. Excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm8154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We found our room had a very unpleasant odour, and on further investigation found a thick layer of dust around the small fridge. Not sure what the cause was... spilt milk? Response to our call was slow. When shown to another room later that night, we specifically asked that there would be no wake up call, but we were woken at 4:30am by the wake-up call system. The 'packed breakfast' we requested (as the restaurant didn't open until 7am) was some sandwiches, a small muffin, a packet of drink, and an apple. Other breakfast cereals (for the continental breakfast other mornings) were chocolate cocoa puffs, rice bubbles and cornflakes, no muesli. The linen was changed at 4pm in the afternoon the second day. The staff were pleasant and helpful, but we didn't think this was value for money at over $150 a room (including a continental breakfast). The beds lacked blankets, but fortunately these were supplied on request. More like an upmarket backpackers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123,449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I checked-in to this 4 Qualmark Hotel, 8th of September 2012, one thing I first noticed is that there is no parking area for arriving guest. So if you plan to drive all the way to Auckland and book here, I suggest you go straight to the car parking buildings instead of leaving your car in front of the hotel, I heard you'll get your car towed straight away.

Check-in was smooth and receptionist was friendly. Anyway, I'm booked to room 413 for a week, the room is decent, modern and tidy till I noticed the grime in the stove. Then after that, I thought I'll check the utensils, glass and fridge. Look at the pictures, it seems the housekeepers neglected to clean it. I highly recommend you wash first all the utensils you plan using.

Above all that, the place is located in central Auckland, close to lots of amenities and value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,007 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#31 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#39 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,712 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $101 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing