We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality room but bad staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Christchurch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good quality room but bad staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Good central location. The room is tidy and clean. Good decoration in the room but one thing made me feel really bad. If you drive and stay in Auckland City Hotel, make sure it is not within towing time in front of the holiday. That day when I arrive the hotel at about 15:50 and went to the reception to check in. I did ask the front desk staff about parking and she knew that I stopped my car at the parking bay that in front of the hotel. But she didn't told me the it will became tow away area after 16:00. Until I told her my car been stolen out side, she said my car been tow away because I stopped my car at the tow away area. This was the worst hotel experience I ever had.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urchinray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    381
    241
    66
    29
See reviews for
145
390
91
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Central location, which was handy for casino and eating out. But downside of this was heaps of road noise! Courteous staff. Good value for money. Adequate facilities for our requirements for this trip. Bathroom really small.

Room Tip: Don't get room on the corner of the street as heaps of road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theressa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We are a family of 4 . Visit Auckland for 1 week . This is our first hotel . Great bed . Many shops nearby. Also close to SKy City which has very good view of Auckland . Service is good . Staff is also very friendly . Restaurant serves happy food . We will come again !

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NatureLover488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Located on the inner fringes of the city, it's situated only about a 2 minute walk to Sky City. Although the area looks scary at night, it's very safe and a close walk to everything. Surprisngly, t's located amongst some very large low cost apartment buildings, but my night was very quiet and peaceful.

The rooms are basic but modern. As there is no built in air conditioning, they do provide you with an oil heater and portable conditioning unit.

My Deluxe room was large and was surprised to finf that the kitchenette had a stove top, microwave, toaster and plenty of room in the mini fridge. This is great for those on a budget needing to stay a week or so.

The bed was comfortable and staff were very friendly and helpful...Would recommend this property for short/medium stay for those on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

In this price range, the hotel was really a great value. The bed was very comfortable, with a thick, quality cover. Everything felt new. Also very quiet for such a central location. There is nothing much on Hobson street, but one street over is Albert and the Aoeta Centre with theatre, food, movies, etc. A block away is Sky City. The staff here was extremely professional and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Signmanpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed last week at the Auckland City Hotel and was completly overwhelmed with every aspect of my stay. The reception team were fantastic and it only got better from there. The rooms were comfortable, the restaurant "Mustard Seed" served authentic Malaysian cuisine in a very professional manner in a tryuely relaxing enviroinment.
I manage a luxury accomodation business myself and it is always very rewarding to see operators in such a competitive environment - doing it so very well.
Thanks team - see you again in August!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDS1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Property: Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing