We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't have been better”
Review of Big Tom's Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Tom's Cottages
Ranked #759 of 1,352 Specialty Lodging in North Island
Reviewed May 20, 2013

this little cabin was exactly what i was hoping it would be. if you think to yourself, "i'm going to new zealand and i want to feel like a local in the country without sacrificing comfort or cleanliness (amongst all kinds of other cool stuff)", this is the spot for you.

great things:
van, the proprietor, was a great guy--there for anything you might need
fresh consumable amenities such as eggs, bacon, homemade bread and jams, local honey
great shower-good pressure and heat
nice bedroom
small but functional kitchen
breakfast on a nice day on the porch
outdoor bathtub was a blast
milky way viewing
walk to fly fish
surrounded by vineyards, surrounded!

so, if you are the type that goes for this type of vacationing, you found a great spot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 24 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent two night at Tom's Cottage and had a great experience. The place is classified as a B&B but it is actually a small two bedroom house. The house is secluded and has beautiful views from both the front and the back. The house itself is very quaint with a fireplace and a deck. The kitchen was fully stocked with supplies for breakfast. The house had a rustic feel and was very comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and well cared for. Our hosts were very accommodating and eager to please. Our only quip was there was no service to the unit during the day. The beds were left unmade etc. otherwise it was a great two nights!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in the small cabin at the lower end of the property. Prepare to be entertained by the abundant wildlife as cows, sheep, goats, and birds without number are very much in evidence. The house commands postcard views of Te Mata Peak and the lovely Tuki Tuki river. With Craggy Range and Black Barn wineries just up the street you can take a break from rustic cooking with absolutely world-beating restaurants and vintages. Or you can just sit in front of the log fire and enjoy lazy mornings at home with farm fresh eggs and bacon. The abundance of fresh-cut flowers and the superb cottage garden are particularly nice. Peace, quiet and privacy are on the menu here. Oh yes, there is a wood-fired hot tub if you dare to take the plunge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShanghaiJululu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Wholly private location in stunning bush.
Cottage compact but beautifully-appointed, including fully-equipped kitchen (with complementary organic eggs, bacon, preserves and freshly-baked bread) and indulgent bedroom with views over the valley.
Comfortable verandah from which to enjoy the bird-song and setting sun over Te Mata.

Blissful getaway, highly-recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedEnZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for three days at Big Tom’s cottage and we couldn’t have asked for a more picture perfect setting.

Waking up to beautiful early cloud covered valley, only to be treated to magnificent door step views of Te Mata peak. Ending our days with a glass of wine beside the log fire, was a treat.
The rustic charms of this peaceful retreat was the perfect way to end our stay in Hawkes Bay.

Reliable methods of contact would have completed the experience. Fortunately, good reviews of this place ensured our persistence in trying to making contact, with numerous email attempts bouncing back. As a recommendation, the arrangement of final payment may have been better processed on the day of arrival, as on the day of departure no one available to process our payment. Follow up payment arrangements had to be made upon arrival back home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We booked Tom's Cottage (the small one) for 3 nights of relaxation, food and wine in Hawkes Bay, and were so impressed. The internet booking was efficient but the website doesn't do justice to this amazing find. It was perfectly positioned between the Tuki Tuki river and Te Mata peak, with an uninterrupted view of the peak from the outdoor bath tub! The setting was private to the extent that you could have the bathroom windows wide open for sunshine when having a shower with only the olive grove outside the window.

The hosts were attentive but not intrusive, the breakfast provisions were varied, generous and lasted us for the 3 days easily. Attention to detail was evident with a selection of wine glasses, functional kitchen, plenty of towels, fresh flowers in the rooms and much more.

Overall, we highly recommend this little gem and hope to return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gingermegs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed in Little Tom's cottage in June. We had traveled all over the North Island of New Zealand and this was our favorite place. The cottage is adorable and has beautiful views of Ta Mata Peak. The owner, Van, is great to have a conversation with. He brings a basket of breakfast items over so you can cook a delicious breakfast in the cottage. The dog, Tui, was a lot of fun. There is even an outdoor wood burning bathtub. I wish we could have stayed a lot longer. This place is awesome!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonJoviGroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Island hotels
0 mi away
Waitangi Holiday Park
Waitangi Holiday Park
#8 of 213 in Northland Region
253 reviews
0 mi away
Crab Cove
Crab Cove
#454 of 1,352 in North Island
18 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
The Homestead B&B
#207 of 268 in Waikato Region
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 44 in Taranaki Region
93 reviews
0 mi away
Studio 404 Farmstay Bed And Breakfast
Studio 404 Farmstay Bed And Brea...
#15 of 51 in Taranaki Region
18 reviews
0 mi away
Uenuku lodge
Uenuku lodge
#29 of 305 in Auckland
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Tom's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Tom's Cottages

Address: 116 Matangi Road | Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #759 of 1,352 Specialty Lodging in North Island
Price Range: $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Tom's Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing