We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location. Fantastic experience for kids!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rangitikei Farmstay
Ranked #233 of 1,262 North Island B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful location. Fantastic experience for kids!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We visited RF with our two children (3 yrs and 6months) and had a fantastic time. Kylie and Andrew were great hosts- very patient and accommodating with the children. Our 3 year old had a ball and didn't want to leave. Kylie was kind enough to let her bottle feed her pet lambs, ride their two ponies "Dude" and "Beau", feed the chickens and collect the freshly laid eggs! She hasn't stopped asking to go back and see Kylie :)

We also took a beautiful walk up to the most amazing view point- 360 degree views, from the coast to the snowy peaks of Ruapehu. Breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarawilliams79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
21
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I took my 11 yr old son and his best mate away for the night. They loved it. They were fascinated by the musem pieces in the Bunkhouse and made lots of use of the pool table. Thank you Kylie for suggesting the walk up to the picnic table. The view was amazing and it was well worth the hike. We really enjoyed looking at the glowworms and just being able to see the night sky without light pollution. Kylie and Andrew made us feel welcome and the accomodation was great. The boys enjoyed meeting the animals and you are very luck that Barney is still there. They were trying to work out how to get him into the car. Thanks so much for a great weekend Josh, Elias and Marie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Andrew and Kylie have a wonderful get away place here. We really noticed the peacefulness and friendliness.

Rangitikei Farmstay is not the average place to stay. It provides great quality, extremely clean, value, and welcoming hosts.

A down to earth working farm with elegance and character.

Thanks
John & Linda

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Andrew and Kylie really made us feel welcome at Rangitikei Farmstay, not only to their fabulous farm, but into their family. We were a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children), and we stayed in the cosy West Hut with its outstanding views of the hills and rolling countryside. Our children immediately felt at ease and at home as soon as we arrived and they loved looking around the farm in it’s beautiful setting. Kylie’s yummy Tan Squares were a lovely welcome treat with our coffee as we settled in. The children loved all of the animals, but especially feeding Jack Lamb, riding Tux the quite horse and their lovely pet dogs Barney & Jamie. The walk up to the picnic table was a highlight and the views from the top were absolutely amazing. Kylie’s New Zealand home cooking was fantastic, and we were never left hungry. The night walk down to see the glow worms was enjoyed by all. Andrew & Kylie gave us excellent advice on our onward travel plans. We really enjoyed our stay at Rangitikei farmstay and didn’t want to leave. We would certainly recommend this farmstay and for us all it will always bring back happy memories, as it was a highlight of our trip to New Zealand

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I spent a really good time at rangitikei farmstay, Kylie and Andrew are amazing host.
It was so nice that we went there twice. You never get bored, there is always something to do, the place is really nice and the animals are lovely.
I will never forget my trip in New Zealand, and I will never forget my stay here.

Room Tip: all the room are really cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were on an impulsive road trip around part of the North Island and decided to stay in the Rangitikei East Hutt for one night on the way to Taupo.

The Hutt was extremely cute, cosy and comfortable on the inside and the bathroom was also quaint and clean. Kylie the host went out of her way to make sure that we had the best time and was so easy to spend time with learning about the kiwi farming way and having a chat, without being intrusive. The walk to and the view from the picnic table was stunning. Waking up to no road sounds, native birdsong and watching the many fantails flit around also was'nt too bad either! We tried the dinner and breakfast with meat and eggs from the farm - yum!, as well as spent time being introduced to the friendly farm animals.

It's a great experience for kiwi and non-kiwi alike and I'm so glad I picked Rangitikei for the "farm stay" part of our road trip that I wanted my non-kiwi companion to experience.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiwipomtaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2012

After traveling around New Zealand, Rangitikei is THE place we will remember. Gorgeous landscape, adorable dogs, the most quiet horse in the world, amazing host, a lot of activities... If there is a place to go in New Zealand, we definitively recommend Rangitikei Farmstay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benoit l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Island hotels
354.6 mi away
Crab Cove
Crab Cove
#492 of 1,284 in North Island
17 reviews
333.1 mi away
Waitangi Holiday Park
Waitangi Holiday Park
#9 of 204 in Northland Region
233 reviews
96.4 mi away
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 42 in Taranaki Region
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.0 mi away
Thornton Lodge Motel
Thornton Lodge Motel
#53 of 73 in Hawke's Bay Region
19 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hikurangi StayPlace
Hikurangi StayPlace
#64 of 108 in Manawatu-Wanganui Region
10 reviews
144.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Homestead B&B
#198 of 259 in Waikato Region
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rangitikei Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rangitikei Farmstay

Property: Rangitikei Farmstay
Address: 422 Makuhou Road | RD2, 4876, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 1,262 B&Bs / Inns in North Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rangitikei Farmstay is a "must do kiwi experience" located halfway between Taupo and Wellington (North Island, New Zealand) on a large sheep and beef farm which has been in the Stewart family since 1901. Situated only ten minutes off State Highway 1, on a quiet rural road, RF provides the ideal location for an authentic experience that will appeal to many. RF has a range of different accommodation options, sleeping 18 in total. This includes the RF Bunkhouse, East and West Huts, all situated around our large gardens. The Bunkhouse is also a farm Museum which showcases agricultural history of farming in New Zealand. We cater for large tour (day) groups arriving by bus or smaller groups/families looking for an overnight experience. Popular activities include the shearing and mustering demonstrations, farm walks with mountain to sea views, feeding our large range of animals, Hole in one golf and claybird shooting. Visitors are sure to leave with fond memories and fantastic photos. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing