We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hostel”

National Park Hotel & Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
National Park Hotel & Backpackers
Ranked #790 of 1,322 Specialty Lodging in North Island
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

When I stayed here the hostel was full due to a running event. There was still more than enough space to move around and to find a quite place.
The interior is a bit old but everything was clean enough to use it.
It is a great location to use as a base for the tongariro trekking.
Had a good time here with some people I met

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertvanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for National Park Hotel & Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 21 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2011

We spent one night at this hostel, prior to going hiking in the nearby Tongariro National Park. We stayed in the private 'family' room which had two bunk beds (one had two singles, the second had a single on top, double on bottom).

The room was decent enough, nothing fancy. The shared bathooms down the hall were clean.

Only complaints are that the bar on the property is on the other side of the wall from most of the rooms, and when it got noisy in the bar, we could hear it in our room. Also, when I first reserved the room, the website stated that they provided towels, however upon arrival they didn't have any.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Great location for crossing, good deal as they cater to backpackers or if you want backpacker prices but really want someone else to fix you a fantastic meal. Restaurant is worth visiting whether you stay here or not. Amazing food - try the venison shank! There is always a vegetarian dish as well. Bottle store on premises so they have the best selection of famous NZ whites and the reds. If its not at the bar, they will fetch it for you from the bottle store. We went for a small room with bathroom down the hall. Bathrooms kept very clean - quiet sleeping. The room is small but we didn't go to sit around in a hotel room - we went for the mazing scenery of the crossing. I certainly never expected to find great dining at a combined hotel-backpacker place! Convenient for the crossing with bus pick up and drop off arranged at reception. Go prepared for the hike. It's not easy but worth every minute.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria2008Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

The photos of this backpackers show the National Park Backpackers YHA on Findlay Street, a great backpackers. The 'backpackers' on Carroll Street however is not. We went to the Findlay Street backpackers to check in, and were told they had no reservation for us and there's been a few mistakes as it appears this hotel has slapped 'backpackers' at the end of it and caused confusion.
We went along to the National Park Hotel and Backpackers on Carroll Street (the hotel reviewed here) and the manager was downright nasty. We tried to explain the situation and all the response we got was "Well we're still taking payment". The place was dead, very dark and gloomy and there was no one around. It looked like a very run down hotel and the facilities were minimal.
We then went back to the National Park Backpackers YHA on Findlay Street and checked in there and had a lovely two night stay.
We did however receive nasty emails from the manager of the first hotel and really do not recommend this place AT ALL. We have travelled around lots of backpackers within NZ and have never seen such a run down place or dealt with such an unprofessional maanger. Go to the National Park Backpackers YHA on Findlay Street, MUCH nicer and livelier.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NWalker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Hostel staff we found were very helpful. The main lady she drives you to the crossing and will answer questions that you might have.

The rooms are not fantastic, but for the area they were quite good. Kitchen was ok as well and was a good meeting area. If you here to do activities it's a good base to see the volcanoes in the area.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
Thank Sabretoothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lore-Elene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Island hotels
8.3 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ski Haus
Ski Haus
#6 of 9 in National Park Village
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tongariro Crossing Lodge
Tongariro Crossing Lodge
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Park Hotel & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Park Hotel & Backpackers

Address: 61 Carroll st, 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #790 of 1,322 Specialty Lodging in North Island
Price Range: $41 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Tongariro and Whanganui National Parks, we pride ourselves in true "Kiwi" hospitality. There is so much to see and do in this region of New Zealand, if you like the outdoors you will love this region. We cater to the budget minded traveler, we have a Bar & Grill to relax in after your days activities with a great NZ menu, takeaway food & wholesale liquor available. Just relax and enjoy this great natural wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your National Park Hotel & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing