We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not an usual hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Schaeffergarden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schaeffergarden
Certificate of Excellence
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not an usual hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is not an usual hotel, as they stress more on the restaurant and the conference options available. The rooms are clean and some feature a balcony with a beautiful overview to the main hotel building and park. The restaurant is good but seems a bit less than what it claims to be.
The hotel is surrounded by its own park/meadow - which is quite nice. The only issue is that the location is a bit outside the city - but if you know your way around the city and its public transport, it turns out to be quite comfy. There is a bus stop just in front of it, and there is a train stop at some 7-8 min walking. By train you can reach the city center in 10 min.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    35
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
30
3
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Clean and simple rooms. Hotel well out of the centre of Copenhagen in Gentofte but ok for business. Good free wifi, free parking but not much around in the area.
Very Good breakfast and restaurant ambiance, enjoyable stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogwindymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a conference for 40 people, and it served its purpose. Difficult though to find if you are arriving by train, as signs are lacking at the train station. It has many small rooms for smaller groups, and the conference went smoothe. The park around the place is lovely and the area very quite. The rooms are small and in the newer building without atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank half62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
813 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We weren't impressed with Schaeffergarden. It's a meeting center without much character as a hotel. Our room was spartan, though acceptable. The bathroom was modern, but it could have used a better cleaning. We did enjoy the breakfast which was excellent and had a good variety. However, for dinner the hotel restaurant was grossly overpriced and pretentious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I was stay here for 4 days at the begin of june.
Nice position, 10-15 minutes by car from Copenaghen centre. Rooms in the old manor simple but clean and silently.
Great restaurant for breackfast and dinner. Really nice place to stay in good season , with a park to read a good book.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank maurizio m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went to Schæffergården for a conference, accordingly we did not visit the center of Copenhagen, so I do not know if its a practical place to stay in such a case.
Schæffergården put on a nice conference for us, nice conferencerooms and there was always coffee and refreshments available. The bedrooms are standard, clean and most have a view of the gardens, which I understand are extensive, and maps for walking tours are available at the reception. The hotel is owned by the danish-norwegian fund for cooperation and the main building is an old hunting palace, containing lots of interesting rooms. The restaurant was predominantly ecological and very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

Have you ever heard about Schaeffergaarden in north of Copenhagen? I thougt they represented quality but first of all service is a foreign country there...they don´t have the priority for this. And the standard of the hotel rooms is very low. At the same time there is not much to do in the nearness of Schaeffergaarden.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gentofte Municipality
1.1 mi away
Gentofte Hotel
Gentofte Hotel
#61 of 116 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scandic Eremitage
Scandic Eremitage
#1 of 2 in Kongens Lyngby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.4 mi away
Skovshoved Hotel
Skovshoved Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charlottenlund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Kurhotel Skodsborg
Kurhotel Skodsborg
#1 of 1 in Skodsborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Frederiksdal
Sinatur Hotel Frederiksdal
#2 of 2 in Kongens Lyngby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
9.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Copenhagen Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schaeffergarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schaeffergarden

Property: Schaeffergarden
Address: Jaegersborg Alle 166, 2820, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Gentofte Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gentofte Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Schaeffergarden 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schaeffergarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing