We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
9
32
30
31
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
32
30
31
52
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 154 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Good points- close to free buses into and around city. And these buses are really good. No ticket or cash needed. Just grab a map and explore the city. Very cool.
Breakfast is basically free help-yourself cornflakes, weet bisc or white bread. Condiments are also provided.
Note that milk is not provided so go to the Coles supermarket on the corner to get cheap(ish) cartons, not from reception.
Also, the kitchen amenities are poor so make sure you have a can opener. Pots & pans and plates cutlery etc are rented off the hostel at $10 deposit.

Rubbish points- very expensive for what is it. We paid $28 each for a bunk in an 8 bed dorm. The dorm isn't large and as other people have mentioned, a large number of the guests here are actual overseas 'residents' working in Perth. They treat the dorms like their student digs ie dirty clothes and rubbish everywhere. Our room stank.
If you can get through an hour in the hostel without overhearing some idiot from England moaning about how skint they are and they can't find a job and are stuck in Perth until they do blah blah meh then you've done well.
Cleaning standards are poor. Tables in the communal eating area are dirty and the floors are filthy. While we were there we did see staff making an effort to clean the shower rooms but I got the impression they're really annoyed with guests leaving such a mess everywhere and I can't blame them. Hostels of this size are pretty unsociable places, with little groups of particular nationalities keeping to themselves. A horrible atmosphere most of the time. The average age is early 20's so expect lots of rubbish conversations about not being able to find a job etc.
In our room I couldn't understand why when it was so beautiful outside there were so many people still in bed at 3 in the afternoon. People like that shouldn't be allowed a passport Ha!
Overall. Decent location. But choose somewhere else to stay unless your 21, living off a credit card and want to meet like minded job seeking filth mongers.
Also. Wifi is $3 for an hour. Connectivity is poor.

Date of stay: March 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's situated close to the city, that's all it has going for it. Very expensive for everything including the awful dirty, cockroach infested rooms, the old crap washers and dryers and general stuff like cartons of milk etc in reception. No value for money at all, was paying $250 p/w to stay in a 6 bed room on wonky beds and then have the nerve to extort $15 extra per day for parking or they clamp your car and demand $125! staff are just disgraceful bar 1 or 2 and have horrible attitudes, to say they work in hospitality is laughable. Poorly maintained and no air con. Terrible kitchens and claim to supply free breakfast but is really just bread, butter and cereal without milk. All this and they claim to be a HOTEL and not a hostel! Would strongly suggest to look elsewhere for accommodation.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jimbobbyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Considering you are in Perth, this is the place if you are looking for a clean place. The staff is amazing.
Two kitchens, tvs, dvd room, cleanings everyday, toilets and showers are always clean and hot water never lacks.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Seeing this hostel on a perth map having won a backpackers award we thought it would be ok. First of all, it's not cheap. Cheaper than a hotel but more expensive to renting an appartment! For our $500/week for us both, We shared a 4bed room with really nice people! No air con, but it wasn't hot yet, cockroaches, filthy shared showers/toilets that were full of moths, staff would kill them and leave them on the floors, staff would come hoover rooms and barge into rooms and bathrooms. No privacy at all. One or two really nice staff, the rest are really rude and passive. Charges for internet, when its beside the library where internet is free, even for non members. As a hostel it should provide backpackers with good deals, instead they are making a mint for doing nothing. Lazy, lazy, lazy!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This backpacker has everything you would need, including a bar, snooker, TV, Pay for it Internet.

But this is not the cleanest place on earth. Which means it's average in Perth ( but it means it's under average in European terms).

It's a place to stay and you get some sleep (i was in a 4 dorm) and that's it. I was lucky to have fun people to stay with - so it made the stay OK.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonnyBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews