We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me!”
Review of Bambu Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bambu Backpackers
Ranked #14 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Perth
1 review
“Not for me!”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is one of the poorest hostels I have stayed in. In fact, I had my shoes stolen in another hostel yet I would return to that one before I’d stay at the Bambu again! The inside of the hostel is dark and dreary as there are no windows, which is pretty depressing considering all the Aussie sunshine outside! The rooms are ok, but there is no proper ‘’chill out’’ areas, it is just not an environment that invites you to sit, converse with other guests, read, watch tv.. in short spend time there at all! The front room of the hostel is laid out more like a bar and pretty much turns into a club on Friday and Saturday nights, with the manager playing cheesy dance music on the decks... It would suit anyone who just wants to party, but as I was working and looking for a long-term ‘home away from home’ environment it didn’t suit me. if looking for a relaxing place to stay or even just some comfortable surroundings then steer clear!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    8
    6
    24
See reviews for
Families
0
12
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

great location and nice staff, helped us re book around a tour, we foiund the place clean and tidy but the staff made a big difference for us

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just don't go! Dirty. Smell bad. No management. Noisy.

Room Tip: I don't think there is such a thing in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J Hyo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

only staff were travellers themselves, no obvious management. rooms only cleaned once a week. They are dark and dingy. Was there for a week and had NO hot showers. Always cold. Not really much of an atmosphere. It's no boutique hostel. It's just tacky.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyschronicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
narrogin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I have given this hostel 5 goes and every time it gets worse. read all the other bad comments and thats what i've experienced. Beg bugs. roachs. dirty. smell dark. GROSS. apparently its under new management but it hasn't changed. Seriously i dont know how they are still open. DON'T GO THERE!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Very poor hostel, dirty, dark, no windows, people pissing in the showers, noisy,
you will not sleep well here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank australiaDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2010

dont be deceived by the reviews and pics.this hostel is like the midnight express.... we arrived late 2009 in december.. the staff were rude and unhelpfull... the room was dark and dingy and filthy. the bedding was dirty and the matress stunk.. we were booked in for 2 weeks but only managed to stick it for 2 nights. we were scratching and itching from the room.. we couldnt even get a drink, and were told to leave the lounge around 12 midnight as they were locking up, it was like a prison not a hostel. when we decided to leave, we were told we would get a refund, only to find out we would recieve nothing back. STAY AT THIS HOSTEL AT YOUR PERIL........

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheep31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,256 reviews
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#5 of 64 in Perth
419 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 49 in Perth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#11 of 49 in Perth
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Backpackers

Property: Bambu Backpackers
Address: 75 - 77 Aberdeen St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fun and friendly BackPacker Hostel in the centre of Perth's nightlife precinct. We aim to provide guests a cheap, clean and safe place where they can make new friends and see the best places Northbridge and Perth have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bambu Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing