We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable modern Australia restaurant”
Review of Petition

Petition
Ranked #16 of 1,605 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Description: KITCHEN Mon - Fri 7:00 - LATE Sat - Sun 8:00 - LATE WINE BAR & MERCHANT Mon - Sun 12:00 - LATE BEER CORNER Mon - Sat 11:30 - LATE Sun 12:00 - LATE
Restaurant details
Description: KITCHEN Mon - Fri 7:00 - LATE Sat - Sun 8:00 - LATE WINE BAR & MERCHANT Mon - Sun 12:00 - LATE BEER CORNER Mon - Sat 11:30 - LATE Sun 12:00 - LATE
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

I had heard good things about Petition and it was nearby my workplace so gave it a try for dinner. Modern styling and decor with a mix of seating styles. The menu is not large but well chosen and covering a range of tastes. Oysters were perfect, the braised ox-tail was probably the best I had tasted. Service was fast and friendly. This is a restaurant for adults who enjoy food and wine.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank TKrieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Petition, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Hi Tkrieg,

Thank you for taking the time to visit us and for leaving us some feedback about your experience with us.

Our menu is concise, but can be tailored to suit a variety of palettes and specific dietary requirements and we go through so many oysters every week they are always super fresh. The ox cheek has been a real signature from our winter offering, the pumpkin and ginger match up with the slow cooked meat perfectly too.

Our service team love what they do and always look to deliver a friendly, professional and memorable experience for everyone they are looking after.

Thanks again for visiting and we hope to welcome you back to Petition Kitchen, Wine Bar & Merchant or Beer Corner again some time soon.

Warm Regards,
James Broadhurst
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 844 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2018

In Perth for our daughter Grace's amazing EP Launch at The Bird, we decided to celebrate her Mum's birthday a bit early and I was given the task of sifting through Perth's gazillion restaurants. Realised that the answer was right under our noses having been to Wildflower just a while ago. The Treasury resurrection is a masterpiece and Petition delivered on every level. Great food adapted to fussy eaters including a vegan and a non-mammal eater, friendly and fun-loving wait-staff, reasonable prices and a buzzy atmosphere all made this a winning decision. Not to mention the "Happy wife - Happy life" decider. The results are in. Petition passes with 100% Yes vote.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Petition, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Hi Mike A,

Thank you for coming to visit and I hope the EP launch went according to plan and thank you for choosing us for an early birthday celebration.

We take a lot of pride in what we do and always like to look after guests the way we want to be when dining out, whatever the occasion. We are lucky to have very committed and professional people working in the kitchen and on the floor who are very passionate about what they do.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Petition Kitchen, Wine Bar & Merchant or Beer Corner again some time soon.

Warm Regards,
James Broadhurst
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Whether it’s the Petition Kitchen for lunch or the Wine Merchant in the evening I love the Petition.

The Kitchen has an amazing deliciously menu. Great for friends, couples or business meetings.

I love the Wine Merchant - it’s choice of drinks and food. Always amazing service!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Jacqstar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Petition, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Hi Jacqstar_11,

Thanks for taking the time to visit us and we are glad to hear you are making the most of nearly all Petition's venues!

Out kitchen and service teams always work hard to deliver the best food and service they can with what they can get their hands on and we always try to provide an appropriate environment for almost any occasion.

The Wine Bar & Merchant is constantly rotating through a lot of unique and alternative producers, along with all the usual classics, so there should always be something new and delicious to try.

Thanks again for visiting and we look forward to welcoming you back to Petition Kitchen, Beer Corner or Wine Bar & Merchant again some time soon.

Warm Regards,
James Broadhurst
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

The menu here is quite unusual, eclectic and proffers some great flavour combinations. Service is responsive. Atmosphere can be a little noisy when it gets crowded. Perhaps more suitable to a younger crowd, but not exclusively so. The adjacent wine bar is a most excellent venue. The staff there really know their stuff and are great to talk/listen to whilst enjoying a wine and perhaps some cheese or charcuterie, from Petition's kitchen.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Petition, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Hi Blossom55,

Thank you for taking the time to visit us and leaving us some feedback about your experience with us.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food and service you received and we always we have some wonderful staff working for us across all Petition outlets, who are all very passionate about what they do and what they serve.

Thanks again for visiting and we look forward to welcoming you back to Petition Kitchen, Wine Bar & Merchant or Beer Corner again soon.

Warm Regards,
James Broadhurst
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Service was good, atmosphere was nice and the presentation of the food was nice but... it lacked the flavor we were looking for. Is go as far as to call it a bit bland unfortunately.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Jace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Petition, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Hi Jace,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about your time with us.

We take a lot of pride in what we do and always push to deliver well sourced, thoughtfully prepared & well seasoned food, so are disappointed to hear the dishes didn't live up to your expectations.

If you would like to please don't hesitate to contact me directly, or ask for James, if you happen to be in the area any time soon to discuss your experience in more detail.

Warm Regards,
James Broadhurst
Restaurant Manager
james@petitionperth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petition also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Petition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing