We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Amuse

Restaurant Amuse
Ranked #4 of 1,645 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $66
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East Perth
perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

A gastronomical experience.We were celebrating a special birthday and a visit to this restaurant made it an unforgettable experience.The food was fabulous with each course bursting with taste.The wines superb and the service was outstanding..I loved the understated decor.Even though it was a Tuesday evening the restaurant was full.When it came time to leave we were even escorted to the taxi!!!Expensive yes but oh so worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank westoz_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    94
    38
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“De Gustation Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Off the beaten track, but probably one of the best meals I've had in a long time. Each course was matched with a selection of Australian and European wines.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friday Night Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

A special occassion meal for a special occassion. We had to cancel our original booking because of illness. We re-booked as soon as possible, but had to accept a Friday night instead of our usual Saturday.

We were greeted at the door. Carolynne recognised us from previous visits and escorted us to our table.

As usual the service was brilliant. All the staff that visited us during the evening were attentative, knowledgeable and unobtrusive. They noticed absences from the table and if they thought that there was a question we had, they took the innitiative and asked us.

The food.

We have eaten here several times. Each time we visit the food is getting better and better. I must say that we noticed a slight change (for the better) in that there is more emphasis on foraged ingredients.

Amuse has always had local foods to the fore and as a core to their ethos.

We started with a trio appetisers. Seeds, grains and blood limes/Carrot walnut and hyssop (a bitter herb with a hint of mint)/Pumpkin, curry leaf and beurre noisette. Each a different combination of tastes and textures.

The sour dough bread provided was without a doubt the best bread I have had anywhere. Crusty, aromatic and soft.

The following courses were comprised of combinations of vegan, vegitarian, pescatorial and meat dishes. Including the "egg in a jar, a soft boiled egg with pine nuts and mushrooms and the inclusion of a sweet smoke in the jar.

Other combinations included Pork, Prawn and popcorn. Sweet potato, snapper brandade and dashi. Venison rustleberries and wattle.

The sweet courses started with guava and lemon myrtle. Grapes (which had been carbonated, go figure!) coconut and ginger. The third and final sweet course was Pear, pecan and vanilla.

It is difficult for me to say if this is the best restaurant in Perth, as a realist, I can enjoy a meal at a food hall as much in the right situation.

However Amuse will be the first choice I make when asked where I want to go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cyberplank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Totally lived up to all our expectations. food was impeccable and the service was fabulous. Fantastic for a special occasion.We will definitely be returning in the future. The timing of the degustation courses being bought out was spot on. And the flavours were amazing. All about the food and the service. By far the best dining experience we have ever had.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jod006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have had the luck of dining in the best of best around the world. I come to Perth and what do I discover, THE BEST! OMG this restaurant is amazing from the staff to the food. Great atmosphere and a degustation menu that makes you say "I want a plate/bowl of that". Incredible flavours mixing together that makes you go ahhhhhhhh with every mouthful. And the owners love Pug dogs!! Special people. Do not come to Perth and miss this restaurant, this will be a mistake, big mistake! One superb restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fizam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Amuse also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Restaurant Amuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing