We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Malaysian food in Perth!”
Review of Insan's Cafe

Insan's Cafe
Ranked #239 of 1,378 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value Malaysian food in Perth!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed just around the corner from Insan Cafe, but only discovered it 3 days after arriving in Perth! It's situated next to a bustling Japanese noodle bar, so it can easily be missed. However, the open windows and door concept made it easy to find.

The food is tasty and authentic. Nasi lemak and mee goring mamak was tasty. Soto ayam could be better. The nasi ayam was delicious, albeit Malay style as opposed to the Hainanese style.

Prices are reasonable and staff were friendly. Highly recommended for those wanting a dose of true Malaysian style food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Insan's Cafe, responded to this review, February 11, 2017
Hi dear customer,
Thank you for all comments and your rating has been given. We are really appreciate it and also would like to apologies if any shortcomings. We will try to improve the weaknesses. Hopefully we will see you again☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Halal Malaysian Food in Hay Street”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Frequented this cafe for a number of times during our 1 week stay in Perth. Perfect place to fix our Malaysian food craving in the cold early spring weather. The food were yummy, and the nasi campur (mix rice) selection were good value for money and generously proportioned. Staff were also very friendly and the owner personally walked around saying hi when it's not too busy . Now if only they can perfected their teh tarik... :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ihazelynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Insan's Cafe, responded to this review, February 11, 2017
Hi dear customer,
Thank you for all comments and your rating has been given. We are really appreciate it and also would like to apologies if any shortcomings. We will try to improve the weaknesses. Hopefully we will see you again☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Authentic Malay Food”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stumbled into this restaurant by chance. Felt like something light and was absolutely surprised at how tasty the satay was. So was the mee goreng. Just like how mum made them back in Malaysia. Lovely vegetarian curry puffs too. There is no need to miss Malay food for all visitors to Perth. The menu was extensive and service fast. The prices were reasonable and the place very clean and comfortable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hajijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Insan's Cafe, responded to this review, February 11, 2017
Hi dear customer,
Thank you for all comments and your rating has been given. We are really appreciate it and also would like to apologies if any shortcomings. We will try to improve the weaknesses. Hopefully we will see you again☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Insan's Cafe also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Victoria Park, Greater Perth
 

Been to Insan's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing