We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money”
Review of Origins

Origins
Reserve with
Origins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 1,352 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $49 - $49
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: East Perth
Description: Embrace all the wonders of tea, every weekend in Origins. Beautiful three tiered stands, jewelled with savoury bites and picture perfect cakes will be served as you sip on organic tea, espresso coffee and flowing sparkling wine. AUD65 per person.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Very disappointing and expensive meal. Changing to the pan pacific has not done this restaurant any favors. Loud music ruins the dining ambiance. We waited an hour for our entrees which were quite nice. The main of snapper was very small and for forty dollars, very disappointing. The wagyu steak meal was also small and under seasoned. The waiter was helpful and the staff were friendly but we will never return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    24
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our group of four enjoyed a beautiful meal here last week. We had purchased a set menu deal through an online promotion which meant that we had an incredible meal, cooked exactly as requested, without any complaint (one of our party likes their meat well done...) with personable, professional service from Evans, for extremely good value. The set menu included at least three choices for each course, with all of the meals looking appealing and tasting delicious. Desserts were amazing!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelledownsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Meal With Excellent Service”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Really enjoyed our meal at Origins. It is certainly not a cheap place in which to dine; however, our meal of ocean trout with Lobster medallion (medallion was a bit small) was full of flavor and delicious. Deserts were more reasonably priced and probably the best deserts we have had in some time. Our waiter, Azmi was passionate about his wine and was more than helpful in helping top select an appropriate bottle for our meal. He was friendly, polite and well informed on wine matters.

Overall, an excellent, special occasion dining experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James_Melbourne02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at it's Best!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had the "set menu" and were not at all disappointed. Service was professional, attentive, friendly, helpful & warm. All dishes were beautifully presented and cooked to perfection but each with a little surprise that set it aside from other restaurants. Prices for food are high. Wine list is extensive but quite expensive. A good choice for a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Middydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
“Never lets us down!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have been going to Origins restaurant for a number of years now and it has provided many wonderful memories for me and my family.
We went to Origins on Friday night for my wife's birthday and once again we had a memorable experience that left us completely fulfilled.
Great service and great food all round.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origins also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Origins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing