We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but worth it for exquisite food and location.”

Old Swan Brewery Restaurant
Reserve with
Old Swan Brewery Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #387 of 1,639 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Kings Park
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it for exquisite food and location.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

it is hard to fault anything at this restaurant as the location is superb and the food is top quality to match, the proportions are a good healthy size and the staff are very friendly. I would recommend this restaurant highly to carnivores and meat lovers as it is primarily a steak house but they do have some seafood options for the non red meat eaters. obviously with this combination it is expected that you would pay top dollar, but for a treat or a special occasion i think it is well worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Auzzy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    120
    60
    46
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fine setting at a price”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We went here on Christmas eve. It was a stunning evening so we were able to sit outside. Our waitress was a cheerful English girl who , friendly and helpful though she was , it was obvious that she really didn't have a clue about her menu or the wines. (Something we experienced a lot in the WA region where short term staff were employed extensively without the requisite skills to match the restaurant experience).
The signature dish of the Old Swan is their steak. At $79.00 per steak you felt it would have to be outstanding but to to be 100% honest it was really pretty average and certainly not worth eighty bucks!! However , everything was served with quite some style and panache and it was all very agreeable.

The three of us had entrees , mains , sweet and coffees. We had a decent red wine but not over the top. All told our bill came to $350 for three. Ouch.... It just wasn't good enough to justify this kind of price.
However it was a pleasant place at a pleasant time - but not much better than that.

Helpful?
Thank horsetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A bit expensive”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The setting by the banks of the Swan River is lovely and the bar/restaurant is nicely decorated but it was a tad impersonal - access is through the brewery offices. The steaks were well cooked and presented and were well seasoned which given the price was no more than expected. Since this restaurant is connected to a brewery I would have thought that the beer would have been more reasonably priced but was disappointed!
Very average for the price

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
129 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“corporate distraction”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I live in Perth and like many cities monday night can be a difficult one for fine dining.So we ended up at the old swan brewery with a business acquaintance.I have no real complaints but then again I have no real compliments.Portion sizes are man sized.Steaks are prepared as asked.Vegetables are as expected but there is something missing.....but I cant quite define it.Did the Executive Chef show the Sous Chef how to do it and then leave taking his (or her)Je ne sais quoi with him(or her) Is it a lack of leadership?Is it a lack of ambience?
Maybe I am expecting too much -- but at 100$ a head -without wine --I dont think so.
This is my fourth visit and I am still looking maybe the distraction of the corprate conversation keeps this place going.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calatrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful steaks, too pricey tho!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My fiance and I came here for dinner on a Friday night. It was very busy and we were seated right by the door which people were coming in and out of a lot which was sort of annoying (don't think they should have a table there) but we tried to ignore it. We both ordered steak of course, they were good quality and perfectly cooked, but sooo expensive! $70/$80 for a steak?! They were nice but I've had steaks in plenty of other restaurants which were just as good for half the price. The atmosphere and service was great, would only come back for drinks or a light lunch. Try Matilda Bay restaurant down the road, beautiful and reasonably priced :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SIW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Swan Brewery Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Old Swan Brewery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing