We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My fave restaurant in Perth. Exquisite food, lovely ambience”

Nine Fine Food Modern Japanese
Ranked #56 of 1,369 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
perth, australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My fave restaurant in Perth. Exquisite food, lovely ambience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you love japanese food; if you love exciting and innovative japanese food...this is the place to go!

I love the salmon plate. The flavours were just sublime. The service was very good and the setting was quite chic and sultry - dark hues with sheer curtains etc (from what I can remember!)
Dont underestimate it because of it's location (i.e. it's not in the heart of the city or Mount Lawley). You'll see what I mean when you go.
I think the wine lost was fairly pricey but again, that was a while ago.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nfallen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    44
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and gluten free options”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had the set menu that offered great choice and was super tasty. I have coeliac and can only have gluten free. The wait staff were readily able to assist and adapt most of the dishes which was much appreciated. Look forward to going back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pettj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What can I say one of the best meals I have ever had - The food was exquisite, the service quick and friendly and the restaurant was great. The presentation of the meals was amazing. The restaurant is decorated very stylishly. I would highly recommend that you give this a try - not your average Japanese and sushi.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonya773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Great value and great food! The scallops and lamb were to die for! I like to read a menu and choose before I go to a restaurant and that was the only downfall; the website doesn't have the current menu! But it doesn't matter what you order, our whole table was happy! Ten out of Nine!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dublinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“We will return”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were there last night for dinner and were quite impressed by the service, the atmosphere and the food. We chose the Osusume (four course set menu). We both had the agedashi toothfish and were more than happy with the delectable morsels we received. That was followed by the Kinoco caviar pasta which was absolutely delicious but we were both glad that these were appetiser sized because there wasn't enough balance in the texture. It tasted great but something fresh and crunchy mixed through or on the side would have made it amazing. We then had the duck confit and this is where we were a little disappointed. The wine reduction jus was rather oddly flavoured and didn't really go with the scallops or the duck. The duck itself was so soft and tender that the meat fell off the bone so we were at least happy with that. I blame myself for picking something that was so far from the Japanese cuisine! We then had the mattcha brulee (yum) and the kuro goma (black sesame) gelato (even yummier).

On a whole, the food was more than passable and better than most fine dining places we have been to. We will definitely go back to try the Omakase.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine Fine Food Modern Japanese also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Nine Fine Food Modern Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing