We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great!”

Nine Fine Food Modern Japanese
Ranked #58 of 1,390 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Perth Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not that great!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We enjoy a good Japanese meal and tried Nine Fine as a birthday treat. I would say our experience in a word disappointing.
The restaurant is nicely appointed and comfortable. The food is described as Japanese fusion, so not for the Japanese food traditionalist. The menu was limited in scope and there was absolutely no sushi to be had. Our meals from the set menu were good to excellent in quality. Our server was the greatest problem. She probably should not been at work that night as she was obviously having a bad day.
Will I go back again? Probably not as there is better Japanese to be had in Perth. Would I recommend this venue to a friend? Yes but only if they are not expecting to find a hint of traditional Japanese food and accepting of average service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PBaba58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    44
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A surprise find”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I never knew this restaurant existed and found it by chance. The best contemporary Japanese I have had in Perth. The duck was devine and my dessert of banana and chocolate spring roll was delicious. a great find in the Perth restaurant scene.

Helpful?
Thank Vesna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice Sushi”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great restaurant sushi bar, very delicious.

Overall was perfect :)

Will be back in the future, Thank you very much, We loved it

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprise experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My son wanted to celebrate his 21st here and although I am not a lover of Japanese food I was pleasantly surprised. Absolutely loved it. We went on a Tuesday night and only one empty table!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Dissappointed last visit”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have been to this retuarant many times, historically the food has been superb, however this time the menu has changed to more japanese / European fusion and has lost its edge

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine Fine Food Modern Japanese also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Nine Fine Food Modern Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing