We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“580 Hay St”
Review of Maya Masala - CLOSED

Maya Masala
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Scarborough
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“580 Hay St”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Visit Maya Masala at 580 Hay St, quieter during lunch hours and serves the Thali - which is home style.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank atuld71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    29
    19
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic early dinner!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We popped in to the restaurant after walking past at 4.30 pm on a cold Sunday afternoon and we could not resist the smell of the yummy food! Fantastic restaurant, marvellously clean and tastefully decorated. The food was every bit as good as it smelled. And so reasonably priced. We are so pleased to have found this wonderful restaurant and we will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerthKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
409 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Truly fantastic Indian food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We are Brits, well travelled in India, and we hadn't heard good things about Indian restuarants in Australia. However, we stumbled across this place and had a truly fantastic vegetarian meal. I highly recommend it - as good as any Indian resturants we have found in the world.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, yum. Could have eaten more...”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Some of the nicest Indian food I have eaten in a long time (apart from at home or with friends!). We shared a delicious masala dosa (vegetarian) for entree, which was served with delicious curry sauce and fresh coconut 'raita'. It was beautifully presented and golden and crispy. I was longing for another but, unfortunately like most Aussie restaurants these days, they rely a lot on student and transient (young tourist) labour which results in rather patchy service. Comprehension issues, lack of real dedication or knowledge about the restaurant etc tend to lead to delays in service and mistakes. E.g. we ordered 3 chais over the course of the meal, but only two arrived (and only two were charged happily). The water was plentiful though, which was appreciated, not because the curries were too hot, just because WA can be!
Our mains were our usual combination of dhal, veggi and meat curries with spiced rice and naan. All yummy, generally a more south indian bent than your usual punjab fare. Apart from the dodgy service (which all told, wasn't that bad), the only other slight negative was that a few of the dishes/drinks were a little on the cool side, but perhaps I like things pretty hot compared to many people, it seems.
Regarding my ratings below - it's a big space and would be great for big get-togethers, but also has nice benched seats along the sides which are reasonably conducive to cosiness.
Refreshingly affordable compared to many WA prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Yummy Indian curries”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I may sound partial towards Maya Masala because I am originally from India and adore Indian dishes.Needless to say that my wife is a great cook when it comes to Indian dishes. I have been here one too many times and cannot get enough.It is one great place for the family to enjoy a healthy and delicious meal. Go Maya Go Masala.

Helpful?
Thank gmj_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Masala also viewed

East Victoria Park, Victoria Park
 
Carlisle, Victoria Park
South Perth, Greater Perth
 
East Victoria Park, Victoria Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing