We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food in a fabulous location....”

Matilda Bay Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 1,605 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 6, 2018

My husband and I dined here last Saturday evening, a really wintry evening with heavy rain. Unexpectedly, we were in for a real treat. Our first visit to Matilda’s and certainly won’t be our last. Great table overlooking the bay, soft, mood lighting and attentive service. We both had the creamy seafood chowder to start followed by the confit of duck. The home made bread with oil and butter was absolutely delicious as was the entire meal. Ideal place to celebrate a really special occasion, very impressive! High recommended. We’re definitely going back!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Paddingtonurchin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 614 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2018

Went to Matilda Bay for dinner with my husband and we had a lovely evening. We hadn't been for a couple of years and were pleasantly surprised once again. The food was incredible and there was a great atmosphere in the restaurant, The service was fantastic ...Richard looked after us throughout the evening and was very attentive and friendly which made our night!
Will definitely be telling our friends how amazing it was and will be back again soon.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

The food was divine, ceviche fresh, duck was cooked to perfection and the desserts decadent. Everyone in our party of 5 were absolutely thrilled with the meals. Wine list was great also, as were the mocktails. Only opportunity for improvement is for wait staff to keep an eye on empty glasses we had to flag someone down a couple of times and they they only served he person who asked for a drink not anyone else at the table. Overall a fabulous night, great restaurant and will be back.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank CD08PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Stunning views great restaurant, very good vegan menu . Very attentive staff maybe a bit too much . Will be goin back

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank MelG991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely dinner at Matilda Bay. We tried the set menu, which was delicious. As an entree we had the seafood chowder, and for mains the confit duck and grilled salmon. For dessert we had the tahini chocolate brownie and banana macadamia waffles. The portions were generous and we could not finish our meal - the restaurant is pricy, but you will not leave hungry.

I am subtracting one star (if I could, it would only be a half star subtracted) for service - we struggled to get our server's attention at the end of the meal to ask for our bill, but this was a very minor complaint for an otherwise fabulous evening.

This is a good option for a special occasion, I would definitely recommend it.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Selma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matilda Bay Restaurant also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Matilda Bay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing