We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!!”

Matilda Bay Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 1,378 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband, some friends and I went here for dinner some years ago and it was very good from memory. So good in fact we got married here. The food on the evening of my wedding was talked about and still does to this day that was nearly 4 years ago. The staff are amazing and fill every request. If there is one restaurant you are going to go to in Perth it should be Matilda Bay. The view is wonderful day and night. There is a bar that you can have a few dinner drinks before hand and even a private wine room you can have a dinner in with some close friends. I would definatly recommend a sunset drink and dinner as the view over the swan is amazing and the park surrounding it really sets the mood. The parking is great and just right out the door. The decoration of this place is also great. The toilet is a must as the have the most amazing stair case hand rail i have even seen, very creative. Love Love Love this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    170
    61
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cray on bay special”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Fabulous place for any meal .we went for Sunday lunch special " cray on the bay " they have in summer . While crayfish done anyway for $ 39 . Considering the price of them them this was great value . Service ,restaurant , and views are amazing .
Well worth the price unlike lots of places in Perth . Service very professional .
Highly recommend .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overrated and ridiculously expensive”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've lived in Perth for 35 years and been to the Matilda Bay Restaurant a few times over the years. Last night was the last time. It's become ridiculously expensive and the food last night simply did not justify that expense. It wasn't terrible. Just slightly on the wrong side of ordinary. And as we both chose a steak, there wasn't much skill involved. Choose good meat and it pretty much cooks itself. The steak came with nothing at all accompanying it. You have to pay extra if you want vegetables. A glass of wine at $15 was pured by a fairly miserly hand. The sweets were ok - but not worth $18 each. As I said, the food was not awful. But you want something a bit outstanding when paying $176 for a glass of red, a beer, two rather ordinary steaks, two sweets and two coffees. The view is still good, but from now on I'll take a picnic and enjoy it on the grass outside. More fun and an awful lot cheaper.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sm0nahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth D, Public Relations Manager at Matilda Bay Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Matilda Bay, the delicious steak is dry aged for 28 days, is very tender and flavoursome and cooked with great care by our experienced chefs. In fact, the Grill menu is extremely popular among guests. Our menu pricing is comparable with other contemporary venues in Perth and is also advertised on our website. At Matilda Bay, wine is poured according to a standard glass size and is in accordance with the responsible service of alcohol. Finally, thank you for your patronage and we are sincerely disappointed you did not enjoy your experience with Matilda Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“You can't beat the Matilda Bay for style and classy food in a perfect setting.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Top Perth restaurant. We enjoyed perfectly cooked aged steaks and lovely desserts.

Very good wine list. Always a special lunch or dinner by the Swan River.

Helpful?
Thank waterman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant on banks of the Swan River”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Excellent restaurant and ideal for families with children ..lots to see and enjoy the food whilst doing so.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matilda Bay Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
South Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Matilda Bay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing