We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of CBD Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

CBD Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $12 - $65
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Had dinner at the CBD last Saturday night thanks to a gift voucher. Given that this is a restaurant "& Bar", I didn't have great expectations. However, the food was brilliant and well-worth the "up-market restaurant" prices. Service was good too once the theatre crowd had left.

If it weren't noisy and difficult to maintain a conversation, as is the case with just about every restaurant these days, I'd give it a 5.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ski_bum2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    35
    39
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and funky in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had dinner prior to going to the theatre
Thursday night at CBD Perth.
The place was buzzy with a real hip and happening business crowd.
Food was extremely good, service same, menu very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squashgodfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rydges Hotel Perth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We got married last year and had our reception at Rydges Hotel. It was wonderful! The staff are lovely and look after your every need, in particular Melissa Beamish. We could not recommend Rydges highly enough.
We have had dinner there a number of times and the food is always fantastic as well as the service - it reminds us of our wedding day.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
526 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Could Be So Much Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

As a Rydges platinum guest I have visited a number of their hotel restaurants, and have to say that their Perth hotel restaurant could be so much better. After 4 meals I have found the service is highly variable and on one night it was evident that they were not only short staffed but some staff were clearly new to table service. The food is expensive and of average quality and the steak I had one night was full of sinew. At a menu price of around $50 you expect a quality sirloin steak. With the mining boom driving demand in Perth, and with a shortage of skilled labour, service standards are lower than other capital cities in Australia. If you are paying menu prices for dinner there are many other better value & quality options in the Perth CBD. I will re-visit CBD from time to time and if the overall standard has improved I will post another review.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtraveller195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We weren't greeted as we entered and had to approach one fo the staff to get a table. She didn't even look at us just said 'wait a second'. She eventually seated us and gave us our menus. We waited 30 minutes without anyone taking our order. The staff weren't busy at all. The place only had 4 tables to serve. The staff just continued to walk past us and chat amongst themselves. Other tables had to waive them down just to get their attention. We ended up just walking out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenstownLover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CBD Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
East Victoria Park, Perth
South Perth, Perth
 
East Victoria Park, Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing