We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Affordable Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brass Monkey

Brass Monkey
Ranked #537 of 1,645 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Service, Affordable Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Brass monkey is a great location for a drink with mates. Very close to the Perth Train Station means that you are not in the heart of Northbridge, while still far enough away from all the lights and bustle. Prices were great, and service was fast, with a smile on the faces of every staff member. Well worth a visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Magentium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    77
    52
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Travel Guide from Ireland”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I visited the Brass Monkey with a group of 14 people for a Pizza and a good Sunday session. 2nd November 2012.The pizza's were bland to say the least,and the price of beer was outrageous nearly $10 for a pint.Between the group of us,we spent over $1000,and later on in the afternoon,we were asked to leave as the management decided we had too much to drink.No one in the group was aggressive or being out of order,being mostly female and all over 30 years of age,yet they insisted we leave.To say we were flabbergasted would be an understatement.I am a tour guide in Dublin,and the Brass Monkey is one of the places I would advise people not to visit.So for all you people who come from Ireland/England/Scotland/wales,avoid this place at all costs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easygoing Downtown local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Relaxed, easygoing, comfortable setting. Staff are friendly and the building is open with a few different areas to socialise in.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ta-Polly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What are you doing???”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I went in there for the $15 steak on Wednesday.
The place is old, smells and the way it is set up (the different rooms) is just, well, crap...
Even if it was not busy, we waited at the bar for about 5 minutes before a staff turned up.
My steak came 50% medium rare, 50% well done (how do they do that?), I ordered it rare. My mate steak came rare, he ordered it blue.
Our table was vibrating from some machine in the cellar.
I did work at the Brass Monkey about 8 years ago, the place hasn't change one bit, and I though we were looking after customers a bit better at the time (at least one person behind the bar at all time, which is a pretty basic bar rule...).
Going down hill Brass Monkey!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alavotre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere outside, not so much inside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Went there twice in a row on a recent visit to Perth as it seemed a better option than other neighboring establishments. The main bar area is pretty old fashioned and not so attractive. Outdoor seating in the courtyard has a good atmosphere if the weather is good. Food is generous and good price. Drinks are pricey ($9 for a beer) but that seems to be the way it is in Perth.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moominoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brass Monkey also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Brass Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing