We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easygoing Downtown local”
Review of Brass Monkey

Brass Monkey
Ranked #442 of 1,352 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easygoing Downtown local”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Relaxed, easygoing, comfortable setting. Staff are friendly and the building is open with a few different areas to socialise in.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ta-Polly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    77
    54
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What are you doing???”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I went in there for the $15 steak on Wednesday.
The place is old, smells and the way it is set up (the different rooms) is just, well, crap...
Even if it was not busy, we waited at the bar for about 5 minutes before a staff turned up.
My steak came 50% medium rare, 50% well done (how do they do that?), I ordered it rare. My mate steak came rare, he ordered it blue.
Our table was vibrating from some machine in the cellar.
I did work at the Brass Monkey about 8 years ago, the place hasn't change one bit, and I though we were looking after customers a bit better at the time (at least one person behind the bar at all time, which is a pretty basic bar rule...).
Going down hill Brass Monkey!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alavotre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere outside, not so much inside”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Went there twice in a row on a recent visit to Perth as it seemed a better option than other neighboring establishments. The main bar area is pretty old fashioned and not so attractive. Outdoor seating in the courtyard has a good atmosphere if the weather is good. Food is generous and good price. Drinks are pricey ($9 for a beer) but that seems to be the way it is in Perth.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moominoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and relazed spot”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Good music, cocktails and people. Nice for a game of pool and drink or a pub meal. I have been many times and the collection of music is a good mix for everyone to enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aleisha91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Somewhere different for a change”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

If you are looking for a change, want to meet new friends or just have a good time then go here. Dont forget to have your meal after your drinks or there will be no room left for the variety of tempting beers available.

Helpful?
Thank WerewolfandFozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brass Monkey also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Brass Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing