We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another YHA!”
Review of Perth City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Perth City YHA
Ranked #12 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Perth City YHA's converted from the old St John Ambulance building downtown. The location is convenient if very slightly seedy and right next to the railroad tracks. The hostel is a typical Aussie YHA: not exciting but clean and functional. The bar (and hostel) is surprisingly affordable, especially given that Perth is a very expensive city nowadays.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
Thank nobbynobbynoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 253 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2009

I did not check any reviews for this hostel before, so the train noise problem came to me as a surprise. The only time I could sleep was between 1:50 am and 4:50 am. the honking and braking trains felt like they´re driving through my room. Well, indeed the track is only 3-4 meters away.

I asked for a quiter room next day and this one was on the right side of the building, first floor (double room without bathroom). The noise was still anyoing, but at least I could sleep for 6-7 hours (wearing earplugs).

To sum up: The hostel is not well designed. No rooms should be located 3-4 meters beside a busy (perth central...) train-track, while the kitchen and TV room is on the not so busy road-side. My complain was handled ok, therefore I rate the hostel with 2stars. This was the first backpacker after 2 month travelling that made it impossible to sleep for me. This review reflects my personal opinion only.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Achim444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

This is a modern YHA hostel with excellent facilities eg internet, kitchen, pool, phone for people to receive calls, lockers and laundry. We found the rooms to be small but clean and comfy. It is in a great location - only minutes walk to the city centre and the train station. There is a bit of noise from the train line behind the hostel, but this didn't bother us as the trains seemed to stop overnight. The staff all seemed very friendly and helpful. Not sure about the hygiene of the guy running the cafe though!
One thing to note is that the premises is licensed so no alcohol can be brought into rooms.
In all a great hostel, we would highly reccommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Stayed in double ensuite. No problems at all. Nice TV. No view from room. Short 5-10 minute walk to downtown shopping district. No frills, but clean and nice. Also close to bus stop. Small cafe and bar in YHA.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroad2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

I did not know beforehand about the train noise problem, I just arrived with a booking for 4 nights in a single room (double with ensuite bathroom). My first impression was OK: Pleasant staff at the reception, clean room, although a bit austere, lots of facilities. I noticed the noise from the trains right away, but thought that it would become less during the night.

Wrong! I cannot describe it better than one of the other reviewers, quote: "From just before five o'clock every morning there was constant bell ringing, train horns tooting, the screeching of breaks and scraping of metal. Trains pull into the station every five minutes so there is no opportunity to nod off again." This then goes on all day until long after midnight, so besides not being able to sleep (I *did* try earplugs, it was no use) I did not even feel comfortable just *staying* in my room for a bit of privacy.

Besides the train traffic there was also a lot of noise from inside the hostel. Some of the guests were not shy to hold loud conversations both in the morning and at night; my neighbours of one night were watching TV until after midnight; in addition the door mechanisms are made such that it is impossible to close a door without it making a very loud noise (so I inadvertantly became one of the noise makers myself). These things might not be such a problem if the walls and doors were a little better soundproofed, but they are not - one can hear everything that is going on in the next room, on the corridor, or outside the building.

So even though the remaining of the hostel's services may be OK, one of the absolute basic services - rest - is not provided. Because I had booked a single room and not a dorm bed I expected a certain level of quietness. To say I am disappointed would be an understatement. I actually feel ripped off!

Final remarks:
(+) Internet access (GlobalGossip)
(-) Housekeeping staff once barged in without knocking or announcing themselves
(+) Luggage storage facility
(+) Central location
(-) Kitchen smells even in my room

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herzbube102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Looks like quite a number of people have commented about the noise due to the proximity to the train tracks here. Well, when we got there we were really quite shocked since while we know that the hostel is near the tracks we did not expect it to be just beside it. You can imagine we were quite turned off by this fact, especially since we were given a room just beside them.

Good thing is, it turned out that the trains were not as noisy as we thought they'd be. Admittedly the train drivers do sound their honk every so often. However - it could be our eardrums malfunctioning, I don't know - we don't find them particularly loud, and could sleep 4 good nights there in our stay. If you are a very light sleeper then maybe you should reconsider, but if not, this place is really not a bad place at all.

Sadly the location, though near the train station, is not at the posher side of the city. Since we arrived in midnight, and visited Fremantle on the next day and Mandurah on the following, which resulted in us not exploring the city itself for the first few days, we were under this false impression that Perth was not as developed as we thought. Despite it not being in the more populated area the place there seemed pretty safe, so no worries about security there.

Staff there were helpful, though a tad slow at times, but that can be overlooked I guess.

Overall not a bad place to stay at all, particularly if you're looking for somewhere clean, cheap and

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starfrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed and tried to get an early night before a 4am wake up to airport. Check in great, nice facilties like bar/food place, did not see the pool so can't rate it, big clean kitchen, massive fridges for longer term people to store food, and internet rooms. Our room was the private ensuite and fine - small tv, air conditioner, and basic shower and sink room. Bed was really comfy and seemed clean - but we were quite close to the kitchen and opposite then mens toilet so there were voices and slamming doors a lot before midnight and that really annoyed me. But i'd stay again and maybe request a room somewhere quieter. Could hear the trains but they were not annoying I found (through my ear plugs). Seemed a social kind of place and really secure at night as someone said.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZorroNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 56 in Perth
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Perth CBD
Bambu Backpackers
Bambu Backpackers
#17 of 56 in Perth
82 reviews
Perth CBD
Akara Hotel
Akara Hotel
#14 of 56 in Perth
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perth City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perth City YHA

Address: 300 Wellington St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range: $23 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Perth City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western Australia's first 5 star rated hostel! Perth City YHA is an award-winning hostel designed to meet the demands of all travellers. Located in the heart of Perth City, the hostel has swimming pool, well equipped gym, spacious kitchen, movie room, free Wi-Fi , group accommodation facilities and tour desk. Packaz Bar and Cafe is located on the ground floor of the Perth City YHA and it runs weekly activities. Northbridge, Mt Lawley and Leederville are within walking distance of the hostel with plenty of cafes, traditional and modern pubs, international cuisine, galleries and museums. This backpacker's hostel offers affordable accommodation with modern multi-share, twin, double, en-suite and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Perth City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth City Yha Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing