We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can meet your new best friend there!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perth City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Perth City YHA
Ranked #12 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You can meet your new best friend there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This youth hostel is very clean and there are many special rooms, for instance gym, movie room, computer room, pool, and so on. The visitors were very kind for me. And I met many mates in there, so If you can stay there, you will find your best friend as me! I found a friend she was soooooo kind for me, so we're friend still now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AiN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    106
    59
    25
    13
See reviews for
10
42
106
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in Perth YHA 5 nights in a twin bedroom. The bedroom had en-suite, TV and air con. The room was clean. The location is great being 5min walk from the main central railway station and minutes from the city centre.

The swimming pool was very nice and pretty much deserted. There is a great fitness room.

The YHA is in a big old building which is lovely although all the socialising room feel a bit too isolated.

The closeness to the railway station meant that at night you would hear trains and railways crossing (bells ringing) which wasn't ideal but we got use to it.

The people using the kitchen did not seem to make much of an effort cleaning and putting their stuff away which I of course experience in previous YHA but this was particularly bad. The other major issue is theft, although there is a sign warning you that this is a known issue and advising people to have the strict minimum in the fridge and storage and not stack up. It does not help that there is no CCTV cameras facing the fridges or sink areas which means repeat offenders can just do as they please. We only had our milk stolen but the fact that there is a known issue and staff don't seem to try and find a way to improve the situation is a disappointment.

During outs stay no one emptied our bin or brought toilet paper which was surprising, I did not expect room service but basic looking after would have been appreciated rather than having to ask the desk every time.

Doors are pretty noisy when closing on their own.

We got a great deal via the YHA on a trip to Rottnest Island, almost half price so if you want to get a good deal make sure you check what the YHA has on offer first.

Finally no alcohol is allowed in the YHA, there is a bar attached to the YHA but I must say the staff in there were unfriendly, ignoring us. The menu on offer is just a greasy unappetising one. The whole atmosphere in there was just unpleasant, so if you want a drink I would recommend going somewhere else like the moon and sixpence which was just brilliant with lovely food. Or if you don't mind travelling to Fremantle (easily done by train) go to the Little Creatures brewery, nice beers and fantastic food.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the railway lines which might be a bit more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didgit74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

NEGATIVE: Theft is a major problem in The YHA Perth.
I was told by backpackers that a laptop was reported stolen and cash went missing recently.
Personal Experience:
5 of my DVDS and 1 gift from my room was either stolen or thrown in the rubbish bin on the day that I left.
*Do not stay at the YHA in Perth.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLANECAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here on three separate occasions over the space of a few weeks, in both dorms and a private room. The private room (expensive) was excellent (get a double rather than a twin) and the dorms were small but OK. Bathrooms were clean but the showers give only a misty spray of water.
The railway track is right behind the building which is great for links to the rest of the city but it's noisy from 5am until late. The airport shuttle stops right outside, the train to Fremantle is a very short walk and it's only two stops on the train to East Perth station. Very convenient.
The bar is tiny and the outdoor area a bit grubby and full of smokers so not a great socialising place. Staff attitudes were variable and could have been better but all in all I felt comfortable here and would use it as a base in future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuthieDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a great hostel, its in a massive old building on wellington, near the trains, buses and CBD. Its got 4 small separate kitchens on the first floor with lots of fridge and storage space. Pool in the back and a tiny bar on the side with decent breakfast and cheap beer. The rooms are a bit hit or miss, a mix of 4 and 6 bed dorms, some have lots of space and some are crowded. The beds are all different types so it's just luck if you get a good one, linen is always clean but the pillows aren't. There's bathrooms on every floor so you don't have to wait for the showers. Small gym is open til 9 or 10pm, it gets crowded with more than 3 people.

It does attract a strange crowd though. Its close to the hospital. Lots of people working mines and construction, usually up around 6am. There's very little social life. Don't expect any drinking games. Some people seem to be living here permanently, and sometimes it had the feel of an aged care home. The "youth" in YHA is more of an ironic youth. Apparently.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dead_Pandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed in a double for 3 nights on g/f at rear. Walls very thin. Location very handy for the city but I'd look at other places considering the price. On a positive note the Kitchen was clean despite busy and the gym was a bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikingbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The yha is in a good location, just a few minute walk to the metro and Wellington bus station, museum, library and CBD shopping. North bridge and the nightlife is only a ten minute walk as well.

That being said, the rooms are modest four or six share dorms.each bed has its own reading lamp and rooms have a/c. I believe they do have private rooms as well if you are traveling as a couple. 39 dollars a night for non members and 35 a night for members is outrageous!

The hostel is very big which is nice. There is a monster kitchen, dining area, gym, small pool, laundry, Internet lounge, reading room, lobby and upstairs common area with a pool table, plasma and comfy chairs. There is also a huge movie room with a/c and lounge chairs. It is probably the nicest hostel in the city.

A bar downstairs serves some of the cheapest drinks in the entire city. Another plus. You are not allowed to drink in the hostel so it's not a party place like some of the others. It's a bit more chill.

Rooms on the back are loud as hell because the hostel is right on the train tracks, on a curve as well. So you can hear each train come screeching around the bend into the station all night long.

Staff is friendly and tours and whatnot can be booked easily from the hostel. They have wifi but of course it's not free which is ridiculous. They also have computers if you don't have your own.

All in all its a good hostel, nice amenities compared to others and very clean. Still it's way overpriced, I think they forget its a hostel and not a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeble W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Perth
#29 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 61 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perth City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perth City YHA

Property: Perth City YHA
Address: 300 Wellington St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Perth City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western Australia's first 5 star rated hostel! Perth City YHA is an award-winning hostel designed to meet the demands of all travellers. Located in the heart of Perth City, the hostel has swimming pool, well equipped gym, spacious kitchen, movie room, free Wi-Fi , group accommodation facilities and tour desk. Packaz Bar and Cafe is located on the ground floor of the Perth City YHA and it runs weekly activities. Northbridge, Mt Lawley and Leederville are within walking distance of the hostel with plenty of cafes, traditional and modern pubs, international cuisine, galleries and museums. This backpacker's hostel offers affordable accommodation with modern multi-share, twin, double, en-suite and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Perth City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth City Yha Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing