We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-located and reasonably-priced hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perth City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Perth City YHA
Ranked #12 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Well-located and reasonably-priced hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in a private family room (double plus bunks), and were very please with the hostel's central location and general vibe. The room was not huge, but fine, and the en suite was a bonus. Beds were comfy, and there were large lockers for valuables. The communal kitchen, dining and lounge areas were fine too, including two balcony areas where you could sit and get a breath of fresh air and soak up the sights and sounds of the city. The pool area was a bit windswept, and as the weather was dull we didn't actually try the pool, but I would imagine in hot weather it would be great. We ate one evening at the café, which was very reasonably priced, although the food was just ok, not great.

But the main attraction was that the hostel is very central to the city, just a few minutes walk from the centre, and very near free bus routes, museums, art galleries, and cafés. We'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    106
    59
    25
    13
See reviews for
10
42
106
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The YHA in Perth is a large hostel right in the centre of the city. It is within a few minutes walk
of the main shopping streets and not much further from government offices such as medicare and the tax office. It is also very close to the main railway station. In short it is about as ideally
located as any hostel could be.

The hostel is clean- toilets and kitchens are cleaned several times a day. The kitchen itself is
very large... 8 cookers are usually plenty even for a hostel this size. There is a large common room, a TV room, a pool table and even a small swimming pool. The bar is small but drinks are priced very reasonably for Perth. The staff are nearly always friendly and helpful.

The hostel does have its minus points though. Firstly it is very close to the railway lines and
with the trains starting very early in the morning and going on until late this can often be
disturbing. The hostel is also one of the most expensive in Perth; worth it in my eyes but if you are on a budget and not that fussy about your accomodation this might be worth considering. The biggest and most unfortunate problem is petty theft; More than any hostel I have stayed in (I have stayed in many), theft from fridges in particular is a big problem.

Perth City YHA is in many respects among the best hostels I have stayed in. It certainly has its
problems, but in comparison to other hostels in Perth- there are some absolute shockers, the YHA is definately among the best options.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amcgregor7419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've stayed at 4 hostels in Perth and this is by far the best! The staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, spacious, own reading light and plug socket with every bed and own safety locker.
The bar has got to have the cheapest food and drinks in Perth.
The hostel has a pool and gym - I didn't have time to see either but if the standard of the hostel is anything to go by Im sure hey we're great :)
Also easy to meet people as there is a big kitchen area.
The location is perfect, 5 minute walk from the main train station to Fremantle etc.
Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on he front of the hostel, that way ours further from the train station and theref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claret29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Although a bit pricey 4 twin, it's worth it coz of the great location at the centre of town wit easy access to anywhere. The free CAT is nearby n nr to railway n bus st. Plus they provide clean linen, soap, even hv tv n aircon. A 5-star bakpacker accommodation although the railway behind yha may get noisy if u r a light sleeper. The railway's closed for upgrading during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phlee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stawell, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

For Perth accommodation it is reasonably priced for a private room. Noisy, yes, but earplugs take care of that. What concerned me was that there were people walking past my window and I had no privacy without having to draw the curtains and having to turn the light on.
The bed was exceptionally comfortable, the pillows not so, but a folded up towel was a great substitute.

The facilities were clean, the showers pathetic though, I have showered in water-saving facilities before and they were far more adequate than this.

Check in was kept to a minimum without any orientation of the general layout given - by chance I found a flyer pinned on a notice board opposite the laundry which explained where which facilities could be found. Staff at the check-in were very helpful when I was faced with an 'emergency' and required assistance.
The kitchen was adequate, the dining room had the charm of a soup kitchen though.

Location was convenient, with good access to public transport.

Overall it was an ok stay, I would choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KissMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Rooms are pristine, kitchens ok, gym is a nice plus. Only the staff is not as helpfull as in other yhas. Prices are high, but so is everything in Perth

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subtiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

First of all, if you are a light sleeper this is not the place for you. This hostel is literally almost on the rain track, and a busy rail track at that with trains operating about 20 hours a day! You can get used to it, as we did but this could make a lot of people unhappy. The staff were alright, the internet is standard and apart from the railway this YHA is in a good location walking distance from the city and Northbridge. The Kitchen is split into 4 smaller kitchens on the same floor with one large dining area which I thought was disgusting! The kitchens themselves are alright, I didn’t use them much through choice. The hostel dorms are small and dated, I stayed in 2 while I was there and they were both the same. There are quite a few areas to sit in, however I did find this hotel was not as social as others I stayed in. There are quite a few long term residents who keep to themselves. The bar prices were reasonable and closes around 12pm I think.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Perth CBD
Holiday Inn Perth City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Perth
#29 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 61 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perth City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perth City YHA

Property: Perth City YHA
Address: 300 Wellington St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Perth City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western Australia's first 5 star rated hostel! Perth City YHA is an award-winning hostel designed to meet the demands of all travellers. Located in the heart of Perth City, the hostel has swimming pool, well equipped gym, spacious kitchen, movie room, free Wi-Fi , group accommodation facilities and tour desk. Packaz Bar and Cafe is located on the ground floor of the Perth City YHA and it runs weekly activities. Northbridge, Mt Lawley and Leederville are within walking distance of the hostel with plenty of cafes, traditional and modern pubs, international cuisine, galleries and museums. This backpacker's hostel offers affordable accommodation with modern multi-share, twin, double, en-suite and family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Perth City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth City Yha Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing