We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and unfriendly - don't go there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Hay Street Backpackers in Perth. Our first impression was a very unfriendly guy at the reception. We stayed in a double room next to the pool. The provided linen was dirty, the whole room quite messy. The enclosed shower did not really work. The shared toilet was simply disgusting, even after asking at the reception for cleaning it.

Hay Streeet Backpackers ist wirklich nicht zu empfehlen. Die Räume unsauber, dreckige Bettwäsche, verstopfte, ekelhafte Toiletten und teilweise unfreundliche Angestellte. Es gibt wirklich besseres in Perth.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

Really quiet hostel, it almost seemed that we were the only ones there. The room was clean and the swimming pool was good. Location not the greatest. Liqour store were near, so that's a plus. When came back to the hostel in the evening, the gate was closed, so we needed to climb over it.. Nice. Kitchen utensils were old and there were only a few of them. Good place if you want some privacy and quietness.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Hay Street Backpackers is a good place to stay. The location is great and the staff is friendly. Our room in the back was quiet. Our room was clean, the kitchen area was pretty clean, lots of people cooking so it wasn't spotless, but it wasn't bad. Free WiFi was a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

i've stayed here for 4 days. it is a nice convenient area. with free inner shuttle bus service. post office is across the road, a provision store outside the Backpacker for me to get my daily necessities.

clean facilities. quiet place to stay in. more important is i just want a simple clean and no frills place to stay. i do not need the fanciful expensive hotel to stay in.

walking down the road can lead me to the beautiful Swan River.....and can see the sunset at King's Park.....

Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
2  Thank Chip Loon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: pilihlah lantai 2 karna bisa melihat sekitar lebih leluasa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yayan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Perth CBD
Criterion Hotel Perth
Criterion Hotel Perth
#57 of 66 in Perth
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#53 of 66 in Perth
153 reviews
Perth CBD
The Nest on Newcastle
The Nest on Newcastle
#41 of 66 in Perth
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hay Street Traveller's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Street Traveller's Inn

Address: 266-268 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $13 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hay Street Traveller's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hay Street Backpackers is "The pick of inner-city hostels. This place has excellent facilities." (Lonely Planet, since 2002)Features include one large fully equipped kitchens, cosy lounge with Foxtel TV,free WI-FI, laundry facilities and spacious bathrooms, which are serviced and cleaned daily. The hostel is air-conditioned (night time) and we cater for all backpacker budgets starting from spacious 4 bed dorms with individual locker to serviced double semi ensuite rooms (no toilet), twin and single rooms. On arrival you will be welcomes by our friendly staff as well as 24-hour safe access to the hostel.Hay St. Backpackers is superbly situated; within 1 minute you will find a supermarket, cafe and restaurants, a post office, chemist and bank.The hostel is a quick walk to the famous Hay Street Mall in city centre and close to the nightlife of Northbridge. Although in the heart of the city, the hostel at night is quiet enough to allow for a good night's sleep.We pride ourselves on having a well-researched tour service and offer honest and up to date advice for all your travelling needs. Whether you want to kick back and relax by the poolside or explore the state, you are assured to have an enjoyable and unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hay Street Traveller's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing