We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, and well-located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Even though it's not in the best part of the Perth CBD, I never felt unsafe in or near this hotel. The room was extremely quiet, but very dark. The TV sound had some issues in our room, but this was not of great concern to us. It was very clean, with the kitchen utensils also being clean, which can sometimes be a problem in serviced apartments if the housekeeping service isn't meticulous about the kitchen.
It is expensive at about $200/night on average, but hotels in Australia are generally overpriced, so taken in the context of the market itself, it's good value for money.
The best part about this hotel is the service, which was impeccable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogsbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

Disappointed – maybe we were unlucky? Read the ratings and reviews in Tripadvisor and made our choice, a 1 bedroom Premier Apartment. Perhaps we did not get given a Premier Apartment but it was on the sixth floor but at the rear of the building and nicely decorated.

Positives: Very well equipped kitchen with all the tools you may require, large fridge/freezer, good lighting throughout, very quiet no exterior noise, soft bed linen, plenty of robe space, newspapers delivered to door on both Saturday and Sunday (unusual to get a Sunday paper at a hotel in Perth), convenient car parking (once you locate it the first time), comfortable settee, big working desk, convenient location very close to shopping mall, free CAT bus stop and great souvenir shop over the road. The gym was well lit with a good range of modern equipment. The lap pool was enjoyable despite its stark surroundings.

Negatives: Minimal parking in front of the building (had to circle the block several time before getting a space to check in). We were given a designated parking spot but found it was taken and parked in the next vacant spot. We advised the Receptionist of this and were requested to return to the car park and move our car to another position. We could not get our plastic key to open the Gym/Pool door – apparently it ‘plays up at times’. There were no pool towels in the gym as directed in room instructions (phoned Reception for towels, waited 10 minutes, phoned again to be told they were on their way, after another five minutes went in person to Reception to get towels). Another couple phoned later and got towels promptly, as I said maybe we were unlucky. The passageway from the lift to our room was very hot and did not appear to have any air conditioning. Our apartment was very dark, the only window for the living area looked onto the end of the enclosed balcony and we had to have the lights on in the living area during the day. The only access to the balcony was from the smallish bedroom. There was one air conditioner in the living area none in the bedroom. Although we left the air conditioner going all night our bedroom temperature did not drop below 23.5 degrees. The spacious bathroom was off the living area not the bedroom. The shower screen leaked a lot of water onto the bathroom floor (fortunately we were able to use the pool towels to soak it up). The safe inside the wardrobe was on a high shelf and hard to reach. Local channel television reception was poor. The bar/cafe was closed for renovations but I don't think it opens at the weekend anyway.

No we would not stay again nor would we recommend the apartments.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtStarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed in one bedroom apartment on 3rd floor. such a pity that there is a large column in front of the balcony so you can't get a proper view of the city -one floor higher up woudl have made a big difference. Very expensive hotel but all of Perth hotels are very expensive in comparison tp other places.
good have a balcony though.
Room service as usual - very expensive
apartments very secure - door locked after 8.00 and you need your card to get in and to use the lift.
Great location - less than 5 mins walk from main shopping streets/malls
Internet access is $13/ hour - don't use!!!! internet cafe right beside the hotel for $2/hr!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosieclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed at the Priemer one-bedroom apartment and was pleased with the amenities and space of the apartment. The bedroom and the living area each had a TV. The bathroom (with the washing machine) with a bath-tub was clean and spacious. We were surprised that laundry powder needed to be paid for. The cooking facilities were in good working condition and clean. There was a working desk with excellent lighting. High up on the building we enjoyed the quietness and privacy.

There were concerns regarding the "seedy surrounding". Well, we found a ClubX/strip club but even so, the surrounding streets were quiet (for any central city location) and safe to have a walk-about at night. There was a busy bistro/cafe near the entrance but we didn't get to dine there. Given the central location we found shopping a breeze. We also walked to the State Library and the museum.

The only real downside was the lack of taxi space for drop off/pick up and when two taxi pulled in, we had to wait to load our luggages. The front desk was helpful in organizing the taxi for us and came out to the roadside to direct the taxi to the right spot for us to load luggage and get on.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkl615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We have just come back from spending 6 nights at the Medina Exec Barrack Plaza.

I have to say I wasn't expecting much, but was very pleasantly surprised to see the very modern 2 bedroom apartment with a balcony that we were allocated. The building is only 4 years old and the decor was great.

The location was great. Just 1/2 a block from the Murray St Mall with all the major stores (inc Woollies which was handy for stocking up the fridge) and 1/2 a block from the train station. We had an interesting view of the city from out 9th floor balcony and we could even just see the Bell Tower and River. The bus stop for the Red Cat is across the road and it is a 5 min walk to the Barrack St Jetty.

The rooms were serviced daily (often they are not in apt style accommodation). The kitchen facilities very good, handy to have an internal laundry (travelling with 3 kids...) and there were 2 TVs (yay).

We made use of the swimming pool on Level 2 and parking, as much as it was not cheap, was handy to have onsite. Parking in an CBD area is not going to be free so we were happy to pay for the convenience. They could let people know ahead of time where the entry is though!! (Wellington St in case you are interested)

I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again when I return to Perth.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5Monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Stayed here with a group of girlfriends for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. When we arrived it was an absolute mission to try and find their parking which is very hidden and just a pain. I dont know where the hotel gets off charging guest $25 PER Day to park in their carpark. Parking aside, the hotel is very well positioned and you have everything at your doorstep. A free CAT bus service is a 2 minute walk and the train/bus station is over the road. The apartments were very very spacious and had everything we needed. Each bedroom had a large bathroom attached which was handy with 4 girls staying. It cost us $297 per night and then the parking on top. Mini bar was fully stocked to the brim but was as most hotels are very very overpriced. Swimming pool was small but quite nice. Could not understand why the bar/restaurant and room service was not open on weekends????We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed at the Medina for 5 nights while on holidays. Our executive room was upgraded to a much larger room. The room was neat and clean. It had everything we could have possibly needed. The washing machine and dryer was very handy. We didn't hear any noise from the other appartments all the time we were their. My only complaint is the lack of internet. Medina does not have internet but their is city internet wifi which is very expensive and really slow plus just about useless. On a side note I found the state itself was a backwater for internet service.
We enjoyed our stay at the Medina and if we were ever in Perth again would definitely go back to the Medina.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carshamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra on Murray
#27 of 66 in Perth
1,659 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,393 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza

Address: 138 Barrack St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Barrack Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Perth
#15 Business Hotel in Perth
#17 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#22 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $97 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Barrack Plaza Hotel Perth
Medina Executive Barrack Plaza Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing