We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment Style, Central Location, Great Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We were very impressed with all our interactions with the staff at Medina apartments in Barrack Street. All the staff who we met were very helpful, friendly and approachable. So, as someone who appreciates these things, this aspect of our stay is very important to us, and we were highly satisfied in this regard including front of house, service staff, and with assistance over the phone. I hope that they are able to maintain this standard of service.

We loved these apartments which are very clean and well maintained. They contain the right mix of useful functions, homely and comfortable features, and with clean simplicity that made us wish we lived there all the time. We made great use of the washing and drying machines.

You get a fully equipped kitchen, and a comfortable spacious lounge which you don't normally get in a hotel room. There was milk provided for us in the fridge. We didn't use the storage space in the bedrooms, this was a bit narrow for the average suitcase. You can open your windows, and access the balcony, which is sometimes not available in hotels.

There are three 5 minute car spaces out the front of the apartments which we used with our hire car when we arrived. We didn't use the parking ($22/night), instead returning the car to enjoy the rest of our holiday on foot or via public transport (free buses available in the city).

We walked to the Woolworths supermarket which is usually open till 7pm, and has long queues (learn to spot which lines move the fastest!) - in Murray Street Mall. We visited the souvenir shop opposite ($2 keyrings $3 snowdomes!). The Lebanese food directly opposite was absolutely beautiful and healthy - ($9/meal). Directly next door to Medina is an internet cafe ($1/15 minutes) and diving shop, printing not working. Note the glamorous monosyllabic girls at the counter. A couple of doors up from there is reasonable Chinese/Malaysian style food (fried rice was good).

We had two visits: room 50 on 6th floor with a view from the balcony along Barrack Street including the major skyscrapers, town hall, Swan River glimpse and full view of the Swan Bells. Room 90 on 8th floor with a view of the train tracks and Perth Museum, and strong smell from the Japanese restaurant below when you go on the balcony.

Room 90 is an executive suite with an additional bathroom, and more space in the bedrooms, and centrally controlled air conditioning for all the rooms. In room 50 there is a single air-conditioner in the lounge which has to serve all the rooms.

The corridors seem overly warm, and the rooms can also get very warm in comparison with outside.

The outdoor heated pool was great, although there are a couple of minor improvements that I would suggest - the lights don't come on in the evening, the spa doesn't operate, there is dirt around the pool tiles at the water level, and the water heater intakes are very sharp and should have a guard on them.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank penanghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,361 - 1,367 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2008

We stayed at the Medina Barrack Plaza in mid-February. Checking in around 7pm on a Sunday night we were suprised to find that their parking garage was full and we would have to park about a block away. The entrance to the hotel is very difficult to see so keep your eye out for a small sign that says "Medina" there's not really a place to park your car while you unload either.

The staff was friendly and was able to recommend a good restaurant for dinner seeing that both their cafe and room service were closed that day (Sunday).

The space is modern and the room was lovely. We had a studio apartment with a kitchenette, safe, view from the front of the hotel with a nice view of downtown Perth. The bathroom was rather lackluster however clean.

The location is right in the middle of the city. On our particular street there were some inexpensive souvenir shops and some adult entertainment stores.

It is hard to believe that this hotel is currently rated number one on this website due to lack of services and ammenties.

If you want to be located in the heart of the city this is it, if you like a quieter more touristy location, this is not it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gingertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We stayed here for 4 days in the lead up to our wedding. The location is perfect for the city, its a 1 minute walk. We had a group of about 15 staying there. The apartments were finished to a high standard, the beds were huge, the staff were friendly and helpful. The only complaint I had was that they didn't reserve enough car parking bays for our group, make sure you request one when you book, there are only a limited number. And also housekeeping only straightened the bed, they didn't hoover or unstack the dishwasher. It might just be me, but I would normally expect them to do these.

But overall, it was a great stay and I would definately recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Aussie_Traveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

After glowing reviews from fellow travellers on this hotel and not too mentioned a surprise finding an Affordable Accommodation ranks No. 1, we had to book this serviced apartment for our Perth trip.

Room was nice, spacious, new, terrace balcony and all proper utensils in the room. It certainly a nice set up for Studio apartment.

Sadly, as other Affordable but Good serviced apartments / hotels in Australia , we always found the pool was small but their Gym equipment certainly new...

Another minus point was from Reception Staff, they were not that friendly and helpful. Especially, on my checking out day on 24 Jan, the girl was a bit rude. After our request of calling the hotel, we waited at the lobby and main road just on its door step separated by pavement, suddenly, she said that she saw a taxi out there (which I didn't see at all ) and may be 'zooming out' cause the driver didn't see us. She didn't have any gesture of calling 'Miss or Mr' or something, but just shouting out across her table to lounge area.

I was bewildered and when I stepped out, there was no taxi, when the taxi finally arrived, he really just Arrived and not passing by earlier. The Driver indeed stepped out of the car and helped us with our luggage. Which what we always know that's how the driver and passenger work.

It was a total let down on Staff service if not it would be a nice stay at Medina.

To conclude, room facilities and hotel location was Great but the Staff was Indifferent (thru our stay ) and Rude (on my last day)

Stayed: January 2008
3  Thank bdmnmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2008

stayed here the 6th Jan, great location & very spacious. facilities excellent. one of the better gyms i had experienced on my trip , small pool, but good all the same. Staff very helpful. tried to stay there the followoing week when we returned, but it was booked out. terrific value for money, compared to other hotels etc. which bump up their prices mid week, due to business travellers.B, Dublin

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank betDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

Looked at lots of hotels for Perth and this appealed as it was fairly new, central and had pretty good reviews.
Overall a good hotel with high spec rooms, but as we were put in a room round the back we looked out to an office block and the side of the building which gave little light. I would advise you to request a room facing the main street and also one that has windows as we needed light on in our apartment most of the time. Otherwise a good hotel, central and fair price

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank HollyDayAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

Stayed at the MEBP in November 3 times on our trip to W Australia. Had a different apartment each time each on one bedroom and all were good. We hired a car and disappeared for a few days returning to the Medina each time which had all been pre-booked.

The biggest advantage for us was the location which meant we could walk to the Barrack Street jetty to get to Fremantle, Rottnest etc plus we walked to the train station to get to the Aquarium. There are enough restaurants nearby also, can recommend Halo at Barrack St jetty which has wonderful food but not for a budget night out. There is an excellent buffet at Miss Maud hotel and restaurant where you help yourself and eat as much as you like, this is just a few minutes walk away. Some nights it's best to book ahead. Shopping is also literally on the doorstep with endless shops to choose from. We also walked to King's Park which is a bit further and a bit hilly.

We actually ate in most nights that we were there making a nice change from restaurant meals. We used Woolworths just around the corner which is always really busy but convenient. We could get our own wine etc which was a lot cheaper than drinking the supplies left in the room.

We asked for higher floor rooms as we knew it is surrounded by busy streets. It's not a place to stay for the views but the traffic really quietens down after 10pm as does the whole on the CBD.
The apartments are airconditioned but the bedroom has secondary air con which is recycled from the lounge. We found that we had to have the lounge really cold to get the bedroom cool enough and also leave the bedroom door open at night. The curtains in the lounge are see through net type which might not be so good if anyone was sleeping in there because of the street lighting.

Everything was fine in the kitchen and worked well. Theres a proper oven + microwave. We found that a few of the supplied items were missing in some of the apartments the can opener in one and the sharp knife in another, Woolworths came in handy again. There is a good size fridge and a dishwasher however if you didn't want to have to buy the tablets and want to wash up in the sink there are no wash up necessities.

We didn't try the pool or gym but both looked fine if a little small.
People used the barbeque facilities regularly which is in the same area.

There is parking available in the hotel car park but it must be paid for and you also need to reserve a place. Stopping outside the hotel can be a problem as its right on the street and although there's a small area outside where you can stop for 5 minutes it's often busy. We didn't find this too much of a problem however. Barrack Street is busy and is typical of a street just off the city centre. There are lots of tourists, backpackers, some homeless people, people on their way to work in the city etc. The shops also reflect the area but literally round the corner there are all the large department stores.

Basically it's a great place to stay and having the apartment was much better than a hotel room as we could do our own thing food wise etc. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would use it again.

Stayed: November 2007
5  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra on Murray
#25 of 66 in Perth
1,650 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,388 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza

Address: 138 Barrack St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Barrack Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Perth
#16 Family Hotel in Perth
#17 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#22 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $97 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Barrack Plaza Hotel Perth
Medina Executive Barrack Plaza Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing