We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Globe Backpackers & City Oasis Resort
Ranked #43 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Reviewed January 3, 2008

This is a really awefull place with small, dingy, dirty rooms and rude staff. My boyfriend and I had three nights booked here, however, after one night we chose to move to another place. We booked a double, ensuite room only to find out they messed up our booking. We were instead given a tiny single room (which they cramed a double bed into). Its was so small that my backpack had to be stored at the end of the bed as there was no room on the floor! The air-con was broken and the little window in our room was jammed shut so it was impossible to sleep. We had to share two toilets and two showers with with 24 other people (or 4 dorms each with 6 beds in). The showers were no more than a luke warm dribble, and the toilets stank of urine (after some of the guests used the sink as a toilet during the night as clearly the couple of loo's available between us were both occupied!). The sanitary bin was overflowing and you would not want to go in the bathroom bare footed as there were all types of sticky substances on the floor. The kitchen too was filthy, and the grill/oven was thick with food remains and rust. The free breakfast was 2 boxes of weetabix and 4 pints of milk which was put out at 7AM. If your not quick enough to get in then you dont get any! Not ideal for a hostel with a capacity of 90+ people. The staff refused to refund us for the 2 nights which we cancelled, even though we stressed that the hygiene was unacceptable (and reminded them that they had messed up our booking in the first place). They even tried to charge us an additional fee for cancelling the two nights. In a nutshell, dont stay here. There are far better backpackers to stay in. Or, for the same price you can get a little self contained apartment overlooking the Swan River with private facilities - the development is called Mountway Holiday apartments. They're not flash but they are heaps better than Globe Backpackers!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Viajante7330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 96 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2007

Really poor hostel - the rooms are small, cramped and above the bar and the bathrooms were filthy. Even after they were cleaned they smelled so bad that we couldn't wait to leave - the experience really put a shadow over our stay in perth.

The reception was also badly organised, they lost my internet booking (done through their own website) then when I phoned to confirm it (as I hadn't heard from them) I re-booked and they got the booking wrong. When we arrived reception was closed because their booking system seemed to have gone into melt-down and the staff were hassled and it took a lot of persuading to get any help out of them.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank StinkyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2006

Having backpacked all over Australia, I can say this is one of the best hostels around. We had our own double room & there are also singles and dorms available. The hostel is spotlessly clean, TVs & DVD players in a lot of rooms, a huge kitchen, internet lounge, TV / movie room, job shop, videos & dvds to rent etc.
The staff are knowledgeable, helpful & friendly.
Location very central.
Much, MUCH better than most other hostels, well done the Globe!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BabyBlueLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anaiiiii8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled solo
Thank Antoine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gummygummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Go_mar_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 56 in Perth
155 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,349 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#13 of 66 in Perth
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Perth
#21 of 66 in Perth
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globe Backpackers & City Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe Backpackers & City Oasis Resort

Address: 561 Wellington St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range: $15 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Globe Backpackers & City Oasis Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Globe Backpackers and City Oasis Resort is the fun, comfortable, clean and safe hostel that will suit your backpacking budget. Our location is unbeatable, right in the city centre. Discover the wild beauty of King's Park, the exciting Northbridge nightlife, the city's vast and varied shopping district and the stunning swan river, all only minutes walk away. You will find any of your transport needs at your doorstep including the free city bus service. Central train and bus stations are minutes away and cross the street to begin you adventures in rural WA at the Tour Coach stand. The Globe is a great base from which to explore Western Australia. If you confirm your return accommodation at Globe Backpackers, we will store your luggage for free until you return. We offer flexistay so you can be spontaneous and change your travel plans to suit your whims, your new friendships - or the weather! Explore Western Australia and make lasting friendships at the Globe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Globe Backpackers & City Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Backpackers & City Oasis Hotel Perth
Globe Backpackers And City Oasis Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing