We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We have stayed at this wonderful hotel a number of times. Superb accommodation; very welcoming and caring staff. Opus restaurant restaurant at the hotel is excellent. Room service available plus fridge is stocked with light meals and drinks. Lovely pool and delightful guest lounge with refreshments, papers and magazines. If service is what you are looking for the Richardson hotel is the place to come.
Since our last stay WiFi is now installed throughout the hotel.
Quiet location, close to the CBD, Kings Park, Subiaco and the restaurants of West Perth. Free Redcat bus to city a few minutes walk from the hotel. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry45_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Thank you Kerry45_10 for your comments and I am delighted that you consider us a home from home. It is reassuring to hear that we are delivering a consistently high level experience which we will continue to strive for. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    95
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
74
349
29
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Great hotel --- facilities, rooms, dining is outstanding & the staff is even better. Have stayed at the Richardson a number of times when in Perth. All rooms have a balcony. Free internet & it works. Restaurant is very good. Location is great -- free bus service to downtown area. But the best thing about the Richardson is the people. The service & attitude is beyond what you get anywhere!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolomitelbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you dolomitelbk for your comments - you're too kind - sadly we cannot mass produce and bottle your experience! So we will have to ensure that today, tomorrow and beyond we continue to strive towards delivering exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Who would have known that my mum and I could match that of a luxurious overseas hotel stay right here in the center of Perth City?
From the moment the concierge opened the door to greet us, we felt immediately welcomed to the Richardson Hotel. My mum and I quickly settled in our upgraded appartment with some cheese and champagne before receiving a phone call from the manager, Andrew Farnfield, to greet us!
Our first evening consisted of a 6 course degustation dinner at the award winning Opus Restaurant for which we were waited on hand and foot by the lovely Renata who's knowledge of the food and wine being served to us was very informative and made the experience all the more special.
Our second day involved a 3 hour visit to the Day Spa and boy were we thrilled with this! Sharni was just lovely and very professional. She advised us of which products would help us to relax and which would invigorate and motivate us after the massage.
Meeting downstairs for breakfast, we were thrilled to find a welcoming face in the wait staff greeting us with complimentary breakfast menu and even remembering our names and coffee orders from the previous morning.
Overall the service was 100%, the stay was just marvellous and I would highly recommend a weekend "away" at the Richardson or even to dine at the Opus Restaurant.
By far the best hotel I've stayed.

Room Tip: Check out the on-line weekend packages!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you WAstay for your feedback and I was delighted to read that we spoilt you and your mum. Our staff are our greatest asset and it is reassuring to hear that, throughout the hotel you had a consistently high quality experience. Hopefully we can encourage you to stay in WA for your next pampering escape!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Quite simply some of the best service in Australia. The rooms are comfortable and well maintained and the overall feeling of the hotel is great. But the service is hard to beat - it makes the hotel shine! Nothing is too hard and every guest is made to feel special.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with curved balconies are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMCinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you HMC in SG for your comments, in particular regarding the service and maintenance of the property which is a foremost focus. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with the Autumn Escape which included dego for two in their restaurant. The room was well appointed, not as new and fancy as some 5* locations we have stayed a however we didn't notice or care as the customer service was impeccable. The minibar was very well stocked and fairly priced. Even the freezer was filled full of food for purchase. The Nespresso machine came with free selection of pods for use which we made good use of!
We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms, although a room not a suite, the kitchen was adequately equipped for the stay with microwave oven, plates, cutlery - things that are often annoying left out of rooms and only out in the suites. The room had glimpses of Kings Park and overlooked leafy Richardson St.
We had the degustation at Opus the first night. I have a few dietary intolerances which the Chef went above and beyond to enjoy I still had an enjoyable experience, despite a busy night managed to pop out to discuss with me personally to ensure there where no concerns. The food was delicious.
The second day we decided to order one of their Picnic hampers to enjoy over in Kings Park - a short stroll from the hotel. The picnic basket was packed (we couldn't eat it all and polished the rest off that night!) containing sushi, sandwiches, marinated chicken wings, cheeses, crackers, fruit salad and a chocolate torte! Polished off with a bottle of Verve it was perfection.
The customer service was however the high light of our experience - all the little details were taken care of, right down to not having to ask each morning for me gluten free toast - they knew who I was and didn't need prompting. When we left for our picnic (with the sun shining) reception offered us umbrellas as they knew the weather was predicted to turn later on.
We returned from our break relaxed rested and overly fed. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chompchompblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you superbean76 for your comments and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular you found the service to be exceptional. There is challenging balance between an intuitive, proactive approach and unobtrusive service and it is reassuring to hear that this was achieved. I'm really glad you liked our new picnic hamper - Perth offers so many fantastic venues to enjoy alfresco dining - or al caldo in summer! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Just book it now and save yourself the time searching around the others. This is an outstanding hotel. We stayed for 10 nights in a Deluxe room during April 2011 and loved the place. Every aspect of the hotel and the staff were excellent. The service was professional and efficient, yet always wonderfully personal, friendly and genuine. Our room was huge, comfortable and perfect for a longer stay - the additional living space was a big benefit. The maid service & room maintenance, etc, were all timely, polite and discreet, whilst the room service (for food - we only used once) was amazingly quick yet excellent quality. The overall level of guest care was sensational and we will return without hesitation. We particularly liked the understated, quiet nature - everything is done properly and with pride, but without show or drama. The location of the hotel is commented on in a few reviews and we didn't find this to be any problem - the CBD and Subiaco areas, and Kings Park, are all easily walkable if you are not rushing around. We did use taxis from the hotel on a few occasions and these were always on time and provided a good service, despite some warnings to the contrary. Book it - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_R17_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you Mike_R17_11 for your feedback and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed every element of your extended stay. I was particularly pleased that we were able to deliver a consistent level of service over your 10 day stay. I will certainly take the time to pass on your kind comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This is a cross between an apart-hotel and a boutique hotel. The exchange rate didn’t help and prices for hotels in Perth are high but the prices for this hotel were exceptionally high. It’s set in a good location in regard to getting around Perth (on the free buses!) and there are shops and restaurants within walking distance. However, it’s also set in an area which is part commercial and part residential so it is amongst office buildings. One staff member said “you can’t choose your neighbours” but isn’t this exactly what you do when you choose a location for a hotel?
First the positives. It's spotlessly clean and the staff are very polite and (mostly) are willing to try and help. The rooms are mostly quite spacious and the kitchenette with a microwave and well-stocked fridge-freezer with reasonable charges is a big positive. The breakfast buffet was good and if you wanted hot food it could be freshly prepared. Sadly this was not always done well. Eggs were over or under cooked and toast either arrived cold or with butter that was frozen so even hot toast couldn't melt it. As far as we could see these little problems were always sorted out but rather a lot happened. The decor is what you'd describe as safe and uninspiring. OK but not what you'd expect from a 5* - one should be wow'ed. I appreciate you can’t please all of the people all of the time and I suspect they're aiming at modern colonial but need to visit Singapore to see how this is done better.
On the down side - we travel extensively and don't believe this should be classed as 5*. I noticed that many who rated this hotel highly were from Perth and/or were single contributors to Trip Advisor. Sadly, there is little choice in Perth (so little competition), if you don't want to stay in one of the large sole less business hotels.
We paid extra for an upgraded room - this was a special trip for us. We were initially put into the 'disabled' room which we later found out must be one of the smaller rooms in the hotel. The room looked into and therefore was looked straight into by the office only a few feet away. The staff in that office couldn't help looking across at us and sitting on the balcony almost felt like sitting in their office. This was not a 5* experience and made us feel cheated and was hardly going to endear us to this hotel. The pool area immediately below the balcony had smoking guests which chases you back in doors. Additionally, there was absolutely nowhere to hang anything!! No towel rails in the bathroom and no coat hooks in the whole place. Surely disabled people often have travelling companions who need these things - this seems unfair and inconsiderate. We asked to be moved and were told we'd have to spend a further night in this room but would be moved to the front of the building the next day.
The next room was larger and although it was also opposite from some other office buildings, it was further away as they were on the other side of the street. The shock came later … After a day’s sight-seeing and a shower to get ready for dinner, I asked my partner to close the curtains because dusk was falling and I wanted to put on some lights. There were no curtains. When we raised this problem we were told that none of the lower rooms have curtains on the lounge windows but the higher up rooms (which aren’t overlooked) do. It’s fairly obvious that lights on inside a room without curtains means you may as well be on a stage – remember we were right opposite an office building which still had a few staff and some cleaners wandering around. A further room move followed.
The next room was everything we should have had from the start – towel rails, space, not overlooked, curtains and as a bonus views over that area of Perth. Sunset from the balcony was lovely.
The manager was very apologetic and sought us out to make sure we were now content – we appreciate this. Our belongings were also moved for us each time. However, this still meant we had to re-pack twice which took time out of our holiday and we were half way through our trip before we could feel settled. We never had dinner in the restaurant because the prices were extremely high and therefore can’t comment.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a front room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for your detailed review and it is with regret that we did not meet your expectations. First and foremost, it was unfortunate that the reservation was made less than 24 hours prior to arrival and this was the last room available. I was glad to read that we were able to move you later in your stay to a more appropriate room and that you found the staff friendly and efficient. Thank you for pointing out your concerns regarding breakfast and I have followed up on this. I would agree that we are not inexpensive – at AUD$490.00 for a junior suite inclusive of 10% tax and service is certainly above average for Perth, however it compares favorably with other cities in developed countries for the product and services provided. It is worth noting that there are a number of inclusions within this rate – complimentary internet access, complimentary access to the The Spa, complimentary coffee from Nespresso machines in all rooms, reasonably priced private bar (pot of ice cream is $3.00) and VoiP telephones (eg $0.10 per minute to a landline in the UK). Although we may not have the pomp, ceremony, glitz and gold of some hotels, I do believe we offer an excellent quality experience with warm hospitable service, a great restaurant, outstanding spa and we are every bit a boutique hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 64 in Perth
272 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
1,506 reviews
Hyatt Regency Perth
#18 of 64 in Perth
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,129 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richardson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richardson Hotel & Spa

Property: The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Address: 32 Richardson St, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#2 Spa Hotel in Perth
#3 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Richardson Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson is Perth's leading five star boutique hotel, designed by renowned London architect Sir Terry Farrell. The Richardson's superb facilities and attentive staff provide all the luxuries one would expect of a hotel that prides itself on making each visit an enjoyable and memorable experience. The Richardson has a policy of no smoking within the hotel facilities. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Richardson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richardson Hotel Perth
The Richardson Hotel And Spa
Richardson Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing