We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - for a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Ranked #8 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Booked a double room ensuite here and disappointed given that it was the price of a hotel room (although Perth is very expensive at times). The private rooms are tired (but with all facilities including TV, DVD player, aircon, fridge and a good shower). The room was clean but had creaking floor boards and reminded me of a student bedsit to be honest. The room was not cleaned or made-up in five days.

HOWEVER as a hostel this is one of the friendliest, best-run hostels I have ever come across. The communal shower and toilet facilities are spotless and the dorms not too big (I had my last night coming back from Rottnest in a dorm bed). There are also superb and spotless communal kitchen and lounge TV facilities with flat screen tellies. Also really cheap internet facilities (and wi-fi).

It is also brilliantly-placed for Northbridge nite spots, train station and free CBD circular bus.

NOTE: my rating is for the hostel not the private room I had

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ybyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for The Emperor's Crown Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 311 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2010

I stayed in a single room for 5 nights. The best thing about this place is the location. It's a very short walk to North Bridge restaurants, clubs and bars, train station, museum, library, art gallery and grocery store. Yet, it's on a quiet street which shares a block with a police station.

However, I do feel the single-room was overpriced for a Backpackers. The staff was not particularly welcoming, but were responsive to requests. Despite being a relatively new establishment, the room was not well kept. Like most backpackers, they do not clean the room everyday, but you still expect a thoroughly cleaned room upon checking in. Instead I felt the room was cleaned in a rush with many surfaces left dusty. The beddings were yellow and worn in appearance, though they did smell fresh. Both the bedroom and bathroom was very basic. They do not provide soap or shampoo and you are expected to provide your own and yet they did not have any shelf or surface in the shower on which to place them. For $100+ a night, it is still cheaper than a hotel near the CBD, but not by much. Internet here is expensive like most places in Australia. I suggest walking to the library nearby for free wifi and/or terminal access.

Throughout my travels in Australia, this was the worst value. I had stayed in better quality hotel rooms cheaper than this and higher quality single-rooms in other Backpackers for less than half the price. Perhaps Perth in general is more expensive than the other major Australian cities.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsjcc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

This review came a year late but I think they highly deserve one.

Pros
- Clean surrounding (The bathroom was spotless!)
- Fast wireless access
- Luggage room is available for us to keep our luggage after check-out
- Quiet location and near to the central Perth

Cons
- The staffs wasnt too friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flairista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

It was a pleasure to stay at this hostel for three nights during my trip to Perth. As it's a new building, it's been designed with the highest standards. It's extremely clean, the toilets are perfect and checked regularly, and the bedrooms are carpeted, cosy, have lockers big enough for your whole backpacks and the beds are the most comfortable I have EVER slept in!

There is an awesome cinema room and DVDs are available at reception for $4 fee and deposit and there is a garden for summer drinks and the kitchen is cleaned by staff every night. The only thing I'd say is that there is little atmosphere, but if you're passing through and need a good night's sleep, it's perfect! As there's no bar on site, it remained pretty quiet, unless people are playing drinking games in the patio garden - and then you just want to go out and join them!

Great, clean, friendly hostel. Would stay there again for sure.

Stayed: October 2009
Thank Kimontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed in a double ensuite room for 5 nights. It was just like a hotel room - air con, TV & DVD, small fridge & tea/ coffee making facilities. But you also got the benefit of a hostel - a kitchen, internet cafe, chatting to other people staying there etc. We didn't go, but they had social events several nights a week (e.g., movie night, a communal dinner). The room was big enough and clean. The hostel is in a quiet part of Northbridge, but within walking distance to the bars and restaurants of Northbridge, and also an easy walk to all parts of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

The facilities in this dorm is better than others and the layout is thought of.
The lounges are well separated to isolate interaction zones from the rooms, therefore the rooms are generally quiet. Kitchen is well equipped.

Located at the front of Northbridge, the location is quieter, although dark.
The rest of Northbridge tends to be rather nocturnal.

Beds and lockers could be more secure (not able to lock)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kicking_asphalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights. Comfy beds. Clean. For A$29 a night, no complain about it. Walking distance from perth city where you can take complimentary CATs buses to tour round or hop on to the train to Freo.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michie_Fong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#13 of 65 in Perth
1,254 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#6 of 52 in Perth
148 reviews
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#10 of 52 in Perth
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Perth CBD
Bambu Backpackers
Bambu Backpackers
#12 of 52 in Perth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emperor's Crown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Address: 85 Stirling St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range: $15 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Emperor's Crown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emperors Crown brings to Perth a new concept in quality budget accommodation. Just 5 minutes walk from Perth CBD and the night life of Northbridge, The Emperors Crown makes you feel right at home with the city at your fingertips.We have a range of rooms available, from dorms to private rooms - contact us to find out more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Emperor's Crown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor`s Crown Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing