We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Ranked #8 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great place to stay!”
Reviewed August 6, 2008

I stayed in The Emperor's Crown hostel in April 2008 with 2 other friends after reading rave reviews about it on many sites and i wasnt disappointed! It was the first hostel we stayed in and we were pleasantly suprised.. the staff at the front desk were friendly and the hostel itself seemed quaint and cosy on arrival. The room was average sized with a double bed, one single, a small fridge, a tv and an ensuite shower room and looked clean with new sheets included..unfortuntely our a/c remote wasnt working on arrival but the staff gave us their remote (as they are all the same) and so we slept in a lovely cool room.

the kitchen itself is the best out of all the hostels we stayed in (i stayed in 6) and it had the most facilities and kitchen utensils out of them all.. it helped that it was a working kitchen (they have a shop next door which sells snacks) and so it was always kept clean and tidy as a result. There are lots of hobs and enough pans for everyone however the werent a huggee amount of seating but this generally wasnt a problem unless u were in a large group as the size of the hostel meant that you were never dining with that many people.

Out of all of the hostels i stayed in this was the least social in that because there arent many people actually staying you dont really meet alot and also we found that the television room upstairs was only used to watch tv and there were no other real areas (apart from outside where people smoked) to just chat and hang with other travellers. saying that the rooms were very quiet and the management always made sure that guests left the outside area at 11 so that we could sleep in peace!

Overall the hostel is a lovely peaceful one to stay in with great facilities and near the city centre but isnt one of the full on party animals.. i had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and the only bad thing i have to say about the hostel is that we stayed there for 6 nights and in that time our room/bathroom was not cleaned once and while i saw the cleaner clean the communial bathrooms nearly everyday our bathroom which had 3 of us using it didnt get cleaned at all/nor did we get fresh bath mats/towels which did leave it in a bit of a state by the end of our stay...

  • Liked — the kitchen
  • Disliked — how unsocial it was
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank icecreamgirl7988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    105
    58
    22
    20
See reviews for
14
56
134
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

I was very impressed wit the Emperor's Crown - first hostel I've ever stayed at that I can say was very clean! Staff are helpful and the computer/entrance area is nice. Whilst a good base for exploring Perth, I wouldn't stay for too long as it somewhat lacks colour and excitement.

  • Liked — Central and extremely clean!
  • Disliked — A bit bland, not a 'party hostel'
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sydney_beach_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mezzolombardo, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

It is clean, confortable, near the centre. You can park in front of the hostel. The main street of club, restourant is very closed.

  • Liked — clean and pretty
  • Disliked — the shower
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank margheritaBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

This is a good hostel if you want somewhere more like a hotel. Its really clean and modern, but its not got a family atmosphere. The tv room is small and not enough room for everyone - the communal areas are small and uncomfortable and the ktichen and outside space closes at 10.30pm. I was worknig when I was staying her e- so its ideal for that. Most people seemed to go to bed early, and it also has people coming from the mines. I think its an upbudget hostel and low budget hotel. Its $29 a night which is more expensive than others in Perth - but its also clean - so you pay for that. Met some really nice peolpe here - but most seem to be passing through. Staff are ok - most are people behind the desk are staying there and working for free accomodation - so they don't really give a [--]. All in all - nice enough place, but not warm and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaTac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Nice place, clean and very well situated.
Staff was nice altought I have to admit the reception was often closed.
Probably not the place to party but I did like it more for this reason.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank crislondon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

The hostel gave zero directions about how to find it, but once I did, I was pleasantly surprised. Perth SHUTS DOWN at 6:00- you can't even find a convenience store, so be aware, this hostel is on a deserted street at night.

My room was fine, the bedding was nice, and the other people were respectful. I requested a female room, but found myself assigned to a bed with a man above me on the bunk beds.

Internet was convenient, staff liked to help. My room smelled a bit and was dank, but overall, it was fine.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelerkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2008

Absolutely spotless compared with other hostels in Oz but do not agree with other reviews about the friendly staff.
Most of the time we were there (1 week stay) there was no-one at reception or it was shut and when we did see someone they were not very warm at all. They could not even raise a smile when we checked out.
There are excellent internet facilities.....most residents seemed to spend their entire stay on a terminal....get out in the fresh air I say.
Good shared kitchen facilities and very clean...just don't expect a party!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank oztravellerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,256 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 49 in Perth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#11 of 49 in Perth
249 reviews
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Perth CBD
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emperor's Crown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Property: The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Address: 85 Stirling St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Emperor's Crown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emperors Crown brings to Perth a new concept in quality budget accommodation. Just 5 minutes walk from Perth CBD and the night life of Northbridge, The Emperors Crown makes you feel right at home with the city at your fingertips.We have a range of rooms available, from dorms to private rooms - contact us to find out more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Emperor's Crown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor`s Crown Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing