We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Ranked #8 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“ok but pricey”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

positives:
good location
clean and spacious sitting area
helpful staff
negatives:
price
additional costs such as wifi, crockery deposit (!)
dorm rooms in need of a thorough clean
kitchens not clean

overall this hostel is ok just not great and not at all worth the price. the bedroom i stayed in hadn't been cleaned in weeks or months.according to girls in the hostel there weren't better hostels in Perth city centre. I would cope with staying here again but would avoid where possible.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    105
    58
    22
    20
See reviews for
14
56
134
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
332 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I booked this place through Hostel World online, very affordable at $33 AUD a night, I was in a 4 bed dorm. Unlike a lot of hostels or backpackers around the world, Emperor's Crown has airconditioning! It made a difference as it was hot during the 4 days I was in Perth, so nice to cool off. I had arrived late, well after midnight as my flight was delayed, I buzzed myself in and the female receptionist was nice, opened the door for me to come in, went through the payment, and gave me my room key. Even the bathrooms are nice too! The place is kept clean with the whole area being done once in the morning. The only two drawbacks I had was the beds in the dorm room was very, very noisy and everytime I moved I could hear steel moving and creaks. The other thing was I thought I would get a complimentary towel, but I didn't. Also, one of my brother's had stayed there too but he was in the private single queen-bed room. Much more luxurious than mine. Check out the pics. I do recommend Emperor's Crown if you are on a budget and want to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas O, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi!

We're glad you would recommend us! We strive to keep the property as clean as possible and check the rooms every single day to make sure that this is the case!

I will see if I can find a solution to the creaky bunk beds, as I can understand that it might wake you up if the person above or below gets up during the night.

Unfortunately it is only the private rooms that receive towels, one of the perks of booking a private room! We are happy to lend you a towel during your stay if you really need one though.

We hope you come visit us again soon!

Regards,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed for a night but the hostel is spotlessly clean and quiet (brillaint for a good nights sleep), and the Swedish couple working there absolutely amazing. You have to pay 20 dollars for cutlery (it's refundable once you give it back) which is a pain. But definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas O, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Charlotte L,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay! We do our best to provide a clean, quiet environment so that you can get a good night's rest!

We would love to do away with the $20 cutlery and crockery deposit, however it really works! It helps to keep the place clean and tidy as people take a lot more responsibility for their mess rather than just leaving it behind. I wish we could get rid of it but it just works too well!

We hope you come visit us again soon!

Regards,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Everything is very clean and tidy with big spacious kitchen. We are a mature couple and had the double room with en suite and A/C, what more does one need. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi is not free but City of Perth provides free wifi in city centre, so easy to keep up with emails. It's not the party backpackers place but is very central and will def stay there next visit to Perth

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas O, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Carol,

Thanks for your lovely review! We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

We're exploring free WiFi in the property at the moment, but as you said there are a lot of free WiFi spots around and we do also have WiFi available for a small fee.

See you soon!

Regards,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The staffs at EC are great, they provide lots of information and provide thorough help!
The rooms are clean and locations is great!
The wifi needs payment AUD 1 for 10 mins, but found wifi at the nearby Cultural Centre which save a little bit on wifi charges for the trip.

No pool or gym but there's a great kitchen that actually need a few new simple equipments.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YunLingS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas O, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi YunLingS,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that we could help you out while we are here. We try and know as much as possible about the city, and if we don't know the answer to your question we will always do our best to find out!

We're ordering a few new implements for the kitchen, so next time you stay with us you will find the kitchen even better stocked than it already is!

Regards,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay here in the last year and I've been most impressed with the Emperor's Crown compared to other hostel options around Perth. The clean this place thoroughly every morning. If you're looking for the young, rowdy party backpackers than this is not the place for you. There are a wide variety of ages here and everyone is very respectful of each others peace and space. Great location, excellent coffee next door.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank QuitWorkAndGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas O, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks for the review, really appreciate it! I especially agree with the part about the coffee from Crown Cafe, it's part of my morning ritual.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I arrived to Perth without knowing anyone but that immediately changed when I checked-in at Emperor's Crown. The staff is amazing, specially Seda and James, who became my family during my stay. Once I got my own place I went back to the hostel a lot just to enjoy and be part of the happy and friendly environment.
Rooms are clean, linen is provided, and I had a private toilet on the 4 shared room which was a welcomed surprise.
Hostel is in great location, 5 minutes walk to everything and quiet at night.
I stayed twice there already and I wouldn't consider any other place to stay if I'm ever near Perth again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PitiCasime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas O, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks for your review, we really appreciate reviews, either good or bad. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,256 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 49 in Perth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#11 of 49 in Perth
249 reviews
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Perth CBD
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emperor's Crown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Property: The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Address: 85 Stirling St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Emperor's Crown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emperors Crown brings to Perth a new concept in quality budget accommodation. Just 5 minutes walk from Perth CBD and the night life of Northbridge, The Emperors Crown makes you feel right at home with the city at your fingertips.We have a range of rooms available, from dorms to private rooms - contact us to find out more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Emperor's Crown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor`s Crown Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing