We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improfessional staff, [--] air-con damn broken!! No refund, no discount, no service mind.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Ranked #8 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Improfessional staff, [--] air-con damn broken!! No refund, no discount, no service mind.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a private room for 3 people whivh had been charged 140 per night. I made a call to book for air-condition room but when we arrived the room we found that this room had a broken air-condition.
It's not working properly!!
it's damn hot as a heater in the weather of 37 degrees outside!!!
the staff show his responsible by bring us a noisy fan to use through the night.
And then, when i asked for discounting, he suddenly walked away.
If you can find another place, don't come to stay here! if you cannot, make sure you ask them about the air-con is working in proper condition.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iping14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas O, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi lping14,

Thanks for your review, even though it is negative we still welcome honest reviews.

Unfortunately I'm not sure that there is much more that we could have done in this case. When you informed the night supervisor that the air conditioner in the room wasn't working he came up to check it and was confused, because the air conditioner was on and the room was cool. In an effort to help allay your concerns he offered the use of a large fan during the night.

I also checked the air conditioner the next morning after you raised your concerns with me and I can assure you that it was functioning 100% correctly.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Tom O'Brien
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    105
    59
    22
    20
See reviews for
15
56
135
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at the emperors for 10 months while on break from the mines, cleanest backpackers in Perth i think . Staff were great and a big thanks to Tom for all your efforts mate , showers clean , rooms clean , never saw any trouble there, great that its 5mins from everything.
Recommend staying there to everybody .

You run a very clean place Tom, u deserve a pay rise, see ya soon ;()

Room Tip: its all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glen985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas O, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hi Glen,

Thanks for your awesome review - always a pleasure having you stay with us!

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed there as part of a group booking. Rooms are pretty much bare, but clean. Shower facilities are likewise basic but clean. Staff are very friendly and super helpful, which makes a big difference. The communal kitchen -- basically a large commercial kitchen with plenty of big burners and ovens -- is a really nice idea.

Certainly worth considering if you don't want to pay the earth!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank au_traveller_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas O, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for the review! We always appreciate comments, good or bad, but it's always extra nice to get good comments - Hope to see you again sometime soon.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed here for a week after spending time in two other Perth hostels (rubbish in comparison) and breathed a huge sigh of relief. This is the sister hostel of the Witches Hat hostel BTW.

The hostel is very clean (kitchen, bathrooms, rooms etc) and the staff are GENERALLY helpful. The location is brilliant, being central to everything without being noisy. Rooms are spacious. They share a kitchen with a chinese cafe next door so the area is spotless to be fair.

Guests are about 60/40 backpackers to mine workers or wannabe mineworkers. Price is in line with other hostels in the odiously expensive Perth..

One thing it doesn't do particularly well however is cater for the social aspect of travellers. This is NOT a party hostel.
There is a badly lit and small space out the back which is closed around 10:30pm, after which you have nothing to really do. The TV room closes at the same time. Not everyone goes to bed at 11pm with a cup of cocoa. The communal areas other than the tv room are small, insufficentley seated and slightly uncomfortable. There is not free wifi so unless you have very forgiving roommates you will be very bored if you are a night owl as the place is deserted in the night.

Also, there is a member of staff who is overtly negative and whilst not unhelpful does not give off a particularly welcoming vibe if I'm totally honest. It won't take you long to work it out. Air con was not working in my room although I have no doubt it would be rectified as Perth heats up and there was a problem with the lock on my dorm room door.

In summary, you could definitely do worse than stay here but don't expect late night parties.I have stayed in many hostels in Australia and seen far worse.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlangd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas O, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for your honest review!

Unfortunately due to the courtyards being outside the rooms we do have to close them at 10:30pm to ensure that those guests who do want to sleep earlier have the chance to do so. However guests are welcome to sit in the communal areas near the computers.

The other problems you highlighted have since been dealt with - I hope next time you are in Perth that you will come stay with us again and see the improvements!

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Good hostel and friendly staff.
Its in a great location with the city only minutes away.
Have visited a few times and would go back again.

Spent a lot of time in "budget accommodation" in Perth and The Crown is by far the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barn3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas O, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for the review! We try our best! As you know you are always welcome back.

Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hostel was a nice enough place. It had a nice feel and was clean except for the kitchen. Our room had it's own bathroom which was great and the airconditioning was a welcome relief. With underbed lockers it was secure and was probably the best hostel in Perth that I visited.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Being older travellers and looking for budget accommodation, this suited us very well, we had an on-suite room, with fridge, jug, and so close to the Central rail station, free city bus, museum.

Bit noisy at night, but we slept well, no lift, but had help from staff to get cases to room.

Spent some time talking to fellow travellers in the outside area. although we did not use the kitchen facilities they certainly seem adequate, and with a couple of cafes within 50 metres, for us it was good, and would stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twotwotango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,257 reviews
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#6 of 49 in Perth
138 reviews
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#11 of 49 in Perth
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Coolibah Lodge Backpackers
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emperor's Crown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Property: The Emperor's Crown Hostel
Address: 85 Stirling St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Emperor's Crown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emperors Crown brings to Perth a new concept in quality budget accommodation. Just 5 minutes walk from Perth CBD and the night life of Northbridge, The Emperors Crown makes you feel right at home with the city at your fingertips.We have a range of rooms available, from dorms to private rooms - contact us to find out more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Emperor's Crown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor`s Crown Backpackers Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing