We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money in Perth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Perth, The Outram
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2007

An excellent hotel, in a nice part of Perth. Because the hotel is close to the free bus in the city, it doesn't matter that it is on the outskirts. Free broadband internet, beautiful staff (except the night guy, who was a bit laissez faire), very nice breakfast, comfortable bed, and well appointed room. Some strange stuff, though
- such as the huge spa (which is just not appropriate anymore,
with water shortages), the shower behind the television unit (which means that water leaks into the bedroom area), and very small windows. But in terms of prices in Perth, this is the best value for money going around. Don't expect the whole five star, multi-national experience - this is a boutique hotel (18 rooms), but a great hotel, in comparison to some of the other rubbish that I have stayed at in Australia.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank Risky_Rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 157 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2007

Albeit a short stay, alas one night, we thoroughly enjoyed the Outram. No, it is not a Deluxe hotel with 24 hour room service or bellboys at all hours like Four Seasons or Mandarin, but for a 22 bedroom property it is a good quality 5 star experience and at the price (about half a Four Seasons / Mandarin level) excellent value. The arrival experience was fine - prompt checkin, although the registration card had terminology that made you wonder what types of guests stay here. We stayed in a reasonable size room (I guess 33m2) - would have been larger if it were not for the enormous bath - a little out of proportion and considering the constant warnings of water shortages in Perth maybe inappropriate. Wardrobe was small (I guess to make space for the bath), good quality linens and towels - although they could do with 2 large towels each rather than just one - the second tiny handtowel was the size of a handkerchief - impossible for my wife to put her hair in. We too experience the mini flood whilst showering - great design, shame it was not tried and tested first. Amenities were good - Molton Brown, although a bit dull....would be nice to see more local premium products - it's part of the joy of travelling to experience new things. If the owner / manager reads this, PLEASE replace the terrible laminated bar pricelist (in the draw rather than near the minibar, oddly) with a properly printed one - tacky beyond belief! Good, comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast in the morning - excellent coffee, although it would have been nice to have a pot rather than just a cup. The Avocado, coriander and lime on toast sounded wonderfully refreshing and it came exactly as was described...a fan of avocado with leaves of coriander and half a lime....yawn - it could have been some much more creative and exceeded the description rather than falling short. My wife had the low carb cooked breakfast - poached eggs, asparagus, roasted tomatoes, steamed spinach and Tasmanian smoked salmon - wonderful!

The service was friendly (would be considered too friendly / casual in some parts of the world but here it seemed just right!). Excellent housekeeping standards - very clean rooms.

Other points of interest for Perth - here are some good restaurants to check out as recommended by the concierge - Cream, Lamont's, Bradley's and Star Anise.

We went to C Restaurant which sounded great....until we arrived and found it to be a proposal giving and tourist trap with mediocre cuisine...my starter was OK, followed by an Asian fish soup where the fish overcooked...for main, I had to send the pasta back because it was overcooked - the surprised Manager (I guess because nobody else complains) came to inform me that it was fresh pasta - I gave her the cooking times for fresh and dry pasta which she was taken aback and promptly apologied and finally arrived back with another dish - this time properly cooked.

Finally, for car hire steer clear of Bayswater Hire Cars. Not only do they have No Birds, but they seem to have no business sense or customer service skills either. After hiring a car I noticed that there was a slight dent which was not evident when I picked it up. I returned within half an hour to advise them and request it to be marked on the rental agreement. The blonde receptionist automatically assumed I had done it and on looking at the car accussed me of doing the damage. After getting the manager involved, who said the "our cleaners have been here for years and would have told us if the car was damaged...." quote, finally agreed to check with the cleaner....who turned out to be a new Asia immigrant who had been on the job a week and said that it was there before I took the car. A half hearted apology then came forward and we made nothing of it, even though almost 2 hours had been wasted sorting this out. On returning the car (a few days earlier than originally agreed) we did, admittedly, arrive 2.5 hours later than the due back time. The receptionist promptly tried charging for an additional 1/2 day - I challenged saying that a) we had been inconvenienced by having to return the car and have the documents properly filled out and b) 2.5 hours is hardly 1/2 a day unless there are only 5 hours in a day. With a huff, the Manager came - he remembered me - said I was late (really!) and proceeded to charge me for 1/4 day (how generous, Scrouge, I'll remember you at Christmas). To top it off, the insurance I had been paying, so reliable sources inform me, apparently did not go to an insurance company at all....no wonder.....seems that the dent was meant for me, an unsuspecting tourist....

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank Taffy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2007

Stayed for 3 nights in March '06 and was not particularly impressed. According to a manager, the hotel is modeled after an upscale, boutique Parisian hotel. Though well appointed, the rooms are small and the shower is situated directly behind the cabinet which houses the TV. Picture this; a small room, the bed in the center of the room, the TV cabinet that is about the width of the bed facing the bed and shower directly behind the TV totally open on two sides which results in water being splashed around the back of the room.

They do not have a restaurant but do serve breakfast. Although the neighborhood is nice there is little to recommend it for shopping or eating.

The hotel is not well situated, Kings Park being the only notable place within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank u2et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2007

We stayed at the hotel on our wedding night. The rooms are small, but nicely set out, with sleek, modern decor and good quality toiletries. However, I agree with the previous reviewer about the shower - water goes everywhere. Breakfast was nice, with proper coffee and a decent menu. The service was a bit disappointing, as we had to ask several times for our coffee and they didn't do anything special for us despite knowing it was out wedding day. However one staff member did go out of her way to get a taxi for us (quite a challenge in Perth just before christmas).

The hotel is not in the centre of Perth, but it is on a main bus route and very close to King's Park and Subiaco, which I think is nicer than staying in the centre, which can be a bit dull on the weekends.

In summary, a nice hotel, but for the $325/night we spent, I expected better.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tiger_in_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2006

Great staff, quiet location with bus stop just outside the front door, and wonderful breakfasts. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

Stayed for 2 nights while my kitchen was refitted. Well located and testfully decorated. Large spa in room. Very little staff when We checked in. No one to assist with bags and the hotel staff was unable to offer us any room service or even wine. Breakfast service was good and hotel was well maintained. Nicely located away fron the central business area of down town. A little on the expensive side when considering the size of the room and the services that were unavailable in a hotel that claims to be 5 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2006

Fabulous hotel in Perth, Australia. I cannot say enough about the staff...friendly, helpful and cheerful. Full of good information and suggestions. The breakfasts were a highlight and a great way to start the day. The chef was delightful and even let me watch as she prepared canapes for the evening's happy hour.

The property is ideally situated close to the train and at the foot of Kings Park which made for pretty strolls and wonderful sightseeing. The park also has a wonderful gift shop that is not to be missed.

The rooms are comfortable and well planned. We liked the his and her sinks separated by the shower. A good design concept. All modern touches and delightful Molton Brown products. What more could you ask?

Will book the Outram next time I am in Perth. Suggest you stay there too (but not with me)!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Carrie&Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Terrace Hotel, BW Premier Collection
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#12 of 66 in Perth
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#5 of 66 in Perth
390 reviews
Perth CBD
COMO The Treasury
COMO The Treasury
#1 of 66 in Perth
324 reviews
Scarborough
Ramada Vetroblu Scarborough Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Perth, The Outram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Perth, The Outram

Address: 32 Outram St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia (Formerly Wyndham Outram Perth)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Perth
#30 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $139 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Perth, The Outram 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perth boasts all the modern cosmopolitan delights of a city escape with the luxury of being less than 30 minutes drive from some of Australia's best beaches, making Western Australia's capital city a standout holiday or business destination. Situated in the West Perth business district, Ramada Perth, The Outram is a stone's throw from the heart of the city, relaxing Kings Park and beautiful Swan River. Whether you are staying for one night or a little longer, guests can retreat to the stylishly appointed and comfortable accommodation at this boutique Perth hotel. Choose from hotel rooms with tea and coffee making facilities or two-bedroom apartments with fully equipped kitchens, both offering chic decor for inner city sophistication. Hotel facilities include a continental breakfast served daily in the Coffee Lounge and Bar, in-room pay per view movies and 24-hour reception to ensure guests receive ongoing service. Ramada Perth, The Outram positions guests in a central location to enjoy a multitude of attractions and activities in Perth's city centre and its surrounding areas. Take a short stroll to Kings Park, located opposite the hotel, where some of the best views of Perth and the Swan River can be seen, or visit must-do tourist attractions including the historic Perth Mint and the Swan Bell Tower. There is also much to entice guests out of Perth including beautiful beaches, Fremantle, Rottnest Island and Swan Valley Vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Perth, The Outram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outram Hotel Perth
Outram Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing