We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really, really bad - we walked out and lost our money!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Outram Perth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Outram Perth
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Perth WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really, really bad - we walked out and lost our money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

We had booked in for our first wedding anniverasary, only to find a box of a room with a view of a brick wall. When we complained, we received no help only a VERY cold sholder and a manager who refused to talk to us. No friendly service at all. Would not book this room as a kennel for my dog. Advertised under cover parking, only to be told to park on the street, they had no parking available. Absolutely would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank marjam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    58
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
84
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

We stayed at the Outram based purely on the reviews on tripadvisor and were let down - maybe we are harsh markers.

The rooms were lovely - modern and funky - on the small side though. Loved the Loccitane prodicts (always a few brownie points there) and overall the hotel is fine.

A few things let the Outram down:
- No bathrobes or tea in the room (they are meant to be there but they werent - had to ring downstairs and ask for them)
- Hairdryer is a cheap one (sounds pedantic and pathetic to whinge about but at 5* hotels you get excited to have a decent hair dryer supplied - especially when you are a girl with long thick hair that takes ages to dry!!!!)
- Lack of parking within the hotel (though there is payparking on the street)
- Lack of amenities (no pool or gym or business room)
- No decent room service menu
- Rooms are very dark
- Shower floods (no doors so it floods onto bathroom floor) - The hotel restaurant is in the foyer area so really impersonal and seems just an 'add on' rather than a real restaurant. They do limited dinner each night which is pretty ordinary looking (the menu is very basic and limited) and the breakfast was ordinary (my eggs were not cooked, they ran out of our first two choices and took ages to come). Saying that the evening canapes were lovely.

Great service from the girl on front desk when we were there - Alma.

Also pretty good location - while not near the city it is near Subiaco (can walk in about 15 minutes) and Kings Park. Peaceful location.

Probably wouldnt go back - we would try maybe the Richardson down the road...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of amenities - it was just a building with hotel rooms and nothing else
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura0576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2008

The Outram, Perth: "Excellent Visit!"
Date: 4 November 2008
Reviewer: A Tripadvisor Member, Scotland, UK

Perth was the first stop in a month long tour of Australia and The Outram (three nights) was to be our first experience of Australian accommodation - we were not disappointed! We had booked this hotel after reading the comments on tripadvisor and found the whole experience a very positive one. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the hotel clean and tidy and the room, although not over large, was very stylish and nicely appointed with good quality bathroom products . The location was excellent as the free shuttle 'red cat' bus stop was right outside the front door . The hotel was also very handy for the beautiful Kings Park. A special mention must be given to the superb breakfasts which were an absolute delight and a wonderful start to the day!

  • Liked — Clean, modern and stylish
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2008

We stayed in the outram twice in october whilst in perth. We found it to be very clean well appointed whilst there - and quite conveninent to the rest of perth.

We stayed in two rooms that we thought were the same however the first had a much bigger bath which was a little strange. And for those couples that want privacy whilst showering there is none - the shower is open in the middle of the bathroom.

The breakfasts were great, and the free pre dinner drinks were welcome. We found it a little hard to find good dinner nearby on a Sunday night as so much was closed on the weekend (try going to the Subiaco hotel.. great food)

The front desk staff were helpful and easy to get along with.

Would recommend to people to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank twigmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2008

My partner and I booked a night at The Outram hotel, and would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a relaxing/romantic weekend getaway.

The staff were lovely, very polite and friendly. The girl on the reception was a great help in recommending nearby restaurants, made our reservation for us, and then when we mentioned we would walk there as it was only a 10 minute walk away, she printed out a map for us to help us find our way.
Much appreciated, thank you!

The room was very comfortable, king size bed (best pillows i've ever slept on!) little balcony, plasma screen, mini-bar, but our favourite feature definitley had to be the huge spa bath! Very luxurious... L'Occitane products provided in the bathroom were a nice surprise also, felt very pampered.

Breakfast in the morning was a real treat too, good coffee and a full cooked breakfast made to order by the Hotel chef. Delicious!

We both left feeling so relaxed, our stay at The Outram was a truly positive experience, we will be back!

  • Liked — The huge spa! But we enjoyed it all
  • Disliked — Nothing, no complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Emma072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

We had been travelling for a few days in a campervan through the Margaret River Region, so were looking forward to a few days in the luxury of The Outram. We weren't disappointed!

The hotel was exactly as we had imagined - it was small, contemporary and definately a boutique hotel. They served a lovely breakfast in the morning for guests, but that was it, so if room service is important - don't stay here as it doesn't exist! We saw a variety of take away deliveries arriving for guests when we were in the lobby, so at the hotel allows people to 'order in'!

The room was lovely and the jacuzzi bath was HUGE! The shower was fine, despite other comments about it's position in the room i.e. behind the TV.

We were getting married while we were there and the receptionists were more than helpful when we had photos taken in the lobby and bar area before we left.

It was in an excellent location and had a 'red cat' bus stop outside, which is the free bus service that takes you around the city. So, it was very easy to get about, as there was a bus every 5 mins or so...

We would recommend this to anyone who likes a trully boutique hotel in a city...

  • Liked — The fabby bedroom
  • Disliked — No room service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickshirelittleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

We stayed one night in room 108. Dark room overlooking the back alley and roof tops. Large bed , open bathroom area with enclosed toilet. One easy chair and stool and a desk with chair.
Bar fridge, TV and DVD with tea and coffee making facilities.Very clean and with nice amenities. Fine for one night but we were glad we were not staying for an extended period.

Service was friendly and included one drink and canapes in the evening and breakfast the next day. Breakfast was good but took ages to arrive. Cooked to order I think.

The Outram is ok and for Perth probably one of the better places to stay but not really upto scratch and expensive at Aus 340 for such a small room.

Where else to stay . We ate at the Opus at the Richarson hotel ( fab food and service) and that hotel looked nice. Otherwise Perth really doesn't have any real boutique 5* hotels. I think a serviced apartment might be the way to go.

  • Liked — Large bed with nice sheets and doona.
  • Disliked — Small dark room. Open bathroom to bedroom.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pollydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 81 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 81 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Perth CBD
Quest West End
Quest West End
#52 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Outram Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Outram Perth

Property: Wyndham Outram Perth
Address: 32 Outram Street | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Perth
#33 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Outram Perth 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perth boasts all the modern cosmopolitan delights of a city escape with the luxury of being less than 30 minutes drive from some of Australia's best beaches, making Western Australia's capital city a standout holiday or business destination. Situated in the West Perth business district, Wyndham Outram Perth is a stone's throw from the heart of the city, relaxing Kings Park and beautiful Swan River. Whether you are staying for one night or a little longer, guests can retreat to the stylishly appointed and comfortable accommodation at this boutique Perth hotel. Choose from hotel rooms with tea and coffee making facilities or two-bedroom apartments with fully equipped kitchens, both offering chic decor for inner city sophistication. Hotel facilities include a continental breakfast served daily in the Coffee Lounge and Bar, in-room pay per view movies and 24-hour reception to ensure guests receive ongoing service. Wyndham Outram Perth positions guests in a central location to enjoy a multitude of attractions and activities in Perth's city centre and its surrounding areas. Take a short stroll to Kings Park, located opposite the hotel, where some of the best views of Perth and the Swan River can be seen, or visit must-do tourist attractions including the historic Perth Mint and the Swan Bell Tower. There is also much to entice guests out of Perth including beautiful beaches, Fremantle, Rottnest Island and Swan Valley Vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Outram Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outram Hotel Perth
Outram Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing