We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Perth, The Outram
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Going back”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed one night for the Bruce Springsteen show.
What a great place.
Nice clean room with all you would want, a tiny balcony but it is enough for fresh air.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Free buses at the front door.
We liked it so much that we are now staying 2 nights for the Rolling Stones concert.

Room Tip: Our room had no view but I think this would be the case for most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyBPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    62
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
91
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. The rooms are spot on. The free bus service that runs around Perth pulls up out front and this makes life really easy. Plenty of brochures on what is available to do. All in all no complaints.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank diandray50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We arrived at The Outram by taxi. We had a planned three day visit, no car, so imagine how pleased we were to find that the free Perth bus service stops almost outside the door. We made great use of it and the train service whilst in Perth.
Our greeting by the member of staff, was first rate. She gave us so much information about what we could do or go to see we just wished we had booked for a week. Very knowledgeable and helpful.
The room was amazing. The bed incredibly comfortable. We liked the quirky washing his/her washbasins on either side of the walk through shower. We felt guilty taking advantage of the huge two seater spa bath, but there was plenty of room on the side for equally large glasses of wine!
As we were on the first floor we benefited from the free WiFi available downstairs….we had it in our room too!
One drawback in the rooms is trying to wash up the glasses or coffee cups in the handbasin without breaking anything.
We would definitely stay at The Outram again though, so not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor benefit from being able to access the free wifi from downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julian009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
212 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We arrived in Perth on late Saturday afternoon. After checking in we went to find somewhere to have a coffee and perhaps later for dinner. The area was absolutely dead, admittedly it was the day of the Grand Final and almost everyone was busy barracking for the Fremantle Dockers, but the only place with any sign of life was a bar. The Outram is situated in a area of offices and businesses so fine during the week, during the day but not much open in the evening or weekend.
The hotel is handy for King's Park and it is a fairly easy 20 minute downhill walk to Subiaco. There are four free bus circuits in Perth and the Redcat leaves from the hotel door very regularly. It is easy to get around the central city using the CAT buses and you can use the train and regular busses to get further affield.
The rooms are fine for short stays as they really are a hotel room rather than a studio apartment. I don't think we sat on the very uncomfortable looking bench sofa at all during our stay. The TV was a problem and although promised no one turned up to sort it out. There is wifi in the reception/lounge area and wired connections in the room, but there was a problem with the room connection during our stay and it took several days to sort out. We had to keep going to reception to send emails etc which was a bit of an inconvenience.
The shower situation in the room would not be to everyone's taste it is behind and free standing wall but open to the room. Our ensuite at home is similar so not a problem at all for us.
If you are looking for a place with views this isn't it as you are surrounded by other buildings.
The bed was extremely comfortable but as is common with many hotels these days the lack of drawers or shelf space presents a problem for those staying longer than a couple of days if you want to unpack your suitcase.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful no matter who was on duty. They were happy to recommend things to do and provide details of how to get around as well as restaurant recommendations. We often had coffee in the lounge area which was very nice and the buffet breakfast which was quite ordinary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coopsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We are Worldmark owners and that is what took us to The Outram for two nights. The location is the hotel's winned attribute.

The hotel rooms are very modern and excellent in standard, but eccentric as the bathroom is 'open plan' (except the toilet). A walk through shower might be a fun idea, but what's the point? There was a huge double spa which we did not use as our reason for being in Perth took us away most of the time.

There was a French Press coffee pot for one in the cupboard with the teamaking things, but no coffee for it...disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flight2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is in West Perth, a fair walk to the CBD, although there is a bus stop for the free bus service right outside of the door.

The room was surprisingly different, with an open bathroom with the shower hidden behind a free standing wall. The bathroom also had the biggest spa bath I have ever seen in a hotel room!

I had been under the impression that there was a restaurant and bar on site. This however, was a breakfast room with only continental breakfast, the bar was bottles of wine available from reception. We discovered on our second day that there was a café hidden by the trees next door!

The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on, fabulous. Although we were only on the first floor, there was no noise whatsoever. The room and bathroom were spotless.

The free bus service into the city was very good, buses ran every 15 mins and did a complete circuit of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, the view may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Firstly the nightly rate is a bit steep for what you get, but it's Perth so you can't really expect much better so I haven't marked it down on that front.

On arrival we found the staff very helpful and the room clean, but over the next few days it started to degrade due to the lack of room service. While it's understandable that the room isn't serviced every day it would be good if the rubbish bins could be cleaned out and new towels offered every couple of days.

Other positives were a complimentary copy of The Australian provided each day (plus local Sunday papers) and a good selection of snacks to be purchased or charged to your room 24 hours a day at reception.

When we checked in we were warned about works taking place in the hotel from 8am weekdays, but there's also a construction site next door who are happy to kick-off at around 7am with drills, hammers etc.. This is not the hotel's fault but something to be careful of, maybe check with the Outram if they know the status of the works when booking.

As previous reviewers have mentioned the rooms are bizarrely designed. The spa is enormous, which is good if you want a spa but otherwise it just takes up 20% of the total space of the room. The shower, which is located directly behind the TV (which faces the bed), has two doors - which is unique, but also fairly pointless unless you've got two people entering from different directions. There's an identical bathroom mirror and sink on either side of the shower, which is helpful if you've got two people staying there but is also taking up space.

There are two bedside lamps, but bizarrely you can't control them individually and turning either on from the power point next to the bed turns both on at the same time - making it difficult for one person to sleep while another one reads.

The bathroom doesn't afford much privacy, and because you have to turn the light on with the door open before entering the toilet it's no good if another person sleeping in the bed is a light sleeper or is light sensitive.

There is very little natural light (our only window faced a brick wall) and by the second day the room had started to develop a dank, musty smell which we couldn't get out even when opening the balcony doors.

A car park is available at $10 a night, but of the limited spots available two of them require precision driving skills to avoid hitting either the bollards or the concrete supports - and the marks left on the concrete show that many have come unstuck in the past. We ended up giving up and parking outside instead of damaging a hire car, the bays to avoid are A and H.

There are a few places to eat nearby, and to get takeaway but keep in mind that there's nowhere in the room to eat other than on the bedside tables while sitting on the bed. Also BYO cutlery as there's none available in the room.

Not a bad option for a short stay or overnight, but more than a couple of days is probably pushing your luck. It's located in a fairly quiet area of town but the free red bus is located directly outside which is helpful if you're trying to connect to the CBD area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Best Western Premier Terrace Hotel
West Perth
Sage Hotel West Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Perth
Quest on Rheola
Quest on Rheola
#38 of 64 in Perth
50 reviews
West Perth
Quest West Perth
Quest West Perth
#3 of 64 in Perth
267 reviews
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#5 of 64 in Perth
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Perth, The Outram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Perth, The Outram

Property: Ramada Perth, The Outram
Address: 32 Outram St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia (Formerly Wyndham Outram Perth)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Perth
#29 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Perth, The Outram 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perth boasts all the modern cosmopolitan delights of a city escape with the luxury of being less than 30 minutes drive from some of Australia's best beaches, making Western Australia's capital city a standout holiday or business destination. Situated in the West Perth business district, Ramada Perth, The Outram is a stone's throw from the heart of the city, relaxing Kings Park and beautiful Swan River. Whether you are staying for one night or a little longer, guests can retreat to the stylishly appointed and comfortable accommodation at this boutique Perth hotel. Choose from hotel rooms with tea and coffee making facilities or two-bedroom apartments with fully equipped kitchens, both offering chic decor for inner city sophistication. Hotel facilities include a continental breakfast served daily in the Coffee Lounge and Bar, in-room pay per view movies and 24-hour reception to ensure guests receive ongoing service. Ramada Perth, The Outram positions guests in a central location to enjoy a multitude of attractions and activities in Perth's city centre and its surrounding areas. Take a short stroll to Kings Park, located opposite the hotel, where some of the best views of Perth and the Swan River can be seen, or visit must-do tourist attractions including the historic Perth Mint and the Swan Bell Tower. There is also much to entice guests out of Perth including beautiful beaches, Fremantle, Rottnest Island and Swan Valley Vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Perth, The Outram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outram Hotel Perth
Outram Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing