We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unprofessional and ill-mannered receptionist at Alderney on Hay”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Alderney on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alderney on Hay
Ranked #62 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“unprofessional and ill-mannered receptionist at Alderney on Hay”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My friend and I just checked in at Alderney on Hay around 2pm on 15th of November 2013, we made a booking for two rooms. Then we got rooms but it was not the same floor; therefore, we asked the receptionist about having our rooms are next to each other or in the same floor. However, she immidiately responsed us with an attitude without checking room availability for us, it seemed she lack of expereince and hospitality knowledge. Additionally, she said to us she can't change anything because it was booked via website and after that she said that "WHY DON'T YOU GUYS COME IN HERE AND DO MY JOB?", personally she provides very poor service with negative attitude and she is not extremely professional to work in the hospitality industry. More than that she just said to us that she got 2 degrees that's why she works as the receptionist, we think it was very insulting. After that she rang the manager to come to talk to us and said to us that "YOU GUYS WILL BE REMOVED FROM THIS PLACE" then we explained to the manager about her bad behaviour but she refused that she did not say like she did to us before, then we told the manager to check the camera in order to see her bad reaction towards us, including she is a liar.

Anyway, we are still disappointed with her terrible service and it is not fair for us that the manager did not investigate for this matter during our check in process. We are wondering that why the manager did not make it clear for us because we did nothing wrong.

Lastly, the manager made our check in process professionally and explained to us clearly and nicely which is a good sample for her to follow.

Room Tip: if you don't want to have bad experience like us when traveliing, there are plenty of hotels aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aorjin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
I must mention that you were banned from the property previously due to damages done to the apartment. You checked in by using another name and was told by me that you are banned and never to come back again to this property.

I was called by the young receptionist (who has a lot of good guest comments for her friendly service) and informed that there is a issue with a booking where you were guaranteed apartments next to each other. I have looked in to this and found in the reservation notes that this has been requested by you and the reservations staff member adviced you this is subject to availability and cannot be guaranteed. As the receptionist adviced you this and was happy to give you the keys you argued. I witnessed that you were pulling faces at her and was asked to stop if you want to check in.

After you were checked in only I was adviced by a staff member that "these are the same transvestites we banned" As we have checked you in already I said to her to ignore it and check the apartment before they leave for damages.

After a few minutes you came back to the reception. The receptionist was decent enough to appologise to you if she got angry with you for your personal attack on her. But you in return went to her face and started taking close up photos and ran in to the apartment. I had to call you and get the photos deleted advising you that its against the law and you are on camera. If you wish to view the incedent we can arrange that as we have recorded the full incident as if the photos are published the receptionist would like to proceed with legal action.

I also adviced you again that you are not to enter the Alderney On Hay premises and if found, we will be calling the Police / security to evict you.

Due to your bad behaviour a graduate student who had a good future in the hospitality industry has now decided to give up and look for another career as she does not want to deal with clients that are rude. She has resigned and we have no doubt she will be a great asset to any employer as she has been for me.

Also this site should be used for travellers to decide on where to stay rather than having personal attacks. As a property we operate at 90% + average occupancy with the room rates increasing by 8% each year and less than $5000 spent on sales and marketing including advertising. This it self shows that as a property we have a large number of happy customers.

Kind Regards

Management
Alderney On Hay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    65
    49
    43
    69
See reviews for
119
26
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The apartments were ok, very small beds and generally clean. Disappointed with the customer service, lack of parking and incorrect reception opening times. Stay at this appartment about 4 years earlier and was very disappointed. We all now refer to this place as 'Ordinary on Hay'.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DINKs_from_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We did discuss on this issue via email this week and we did explain to you that only 1 car bay per apartment is allowed and this was mentioned to your apartment organiser and occupants during reservations and again during check in. We also have signage near the entry of the car park and all through the car park which you denied of seeing although they are clearly visible and similar signs are used by public car parks too. (also you have also stayed in the property previously and experienced the same parking arrangement and condition of free parking) As advised previously the complimentary car parking voucher that your apartment was entitled to was given to the person who checked in and he has signed as received and agreed to display this voucher. The car that was clamped had a different car registration number to this voucher. As you advised us you parked the second vehicle as no one was in reception we viewed the cameras and found the reception was open til midnight. At no time a call was made to the after hour phone assistance or to reception. Please note that the person who checked in signed agreeing to the condition of entry form that clearly states 1 car park will be provided free of charge and the voucher will be displayed. In this instance you managed to get the car park entry codes from a third party and parked without authorisation and was clamped by the contractors the strata company hire. If more clients parking two or more cars, will result on genuine guests who gets a free parking bay to miss out. This is not fair as everyone is entitled for a free car park bay at the Alderney On Hay and not a few people only benefiting this priviledge. As you aware most properties in Perth charges between $15 - 25 per day for parking and we are still providing free car parking bay for each client and we can only do this if guests do not abuse the system and try to park more cars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Australind
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was looking for accommodation in Perth that had a heated pool as my kids wanted to swim in winter time. I actually rang the hotel myself before booking as I had read a review on here stating the pool was cold to swim in even though sold as having a heated pool. I was assured by hotel staff prior to booking the pool was heated to 28 degrees - so went ahead and booked. To my dismay when it was time to take the kids swimming they were unable to due to the temperature being WELL UNDER 28 degrees. I went down to hotel reception to advise them, I was told they would have someone from maintenance come and look at it and I asked for a manager to contact me to discuss as the pool was the only reason I booked their hotel. Nobody from maintenance came to look at the pool (I waited to talk to them) and also didn't receive a phone call to discuss from management. The next morning I went back to reception to speak to the very rude reception staff. I explained the above and was told that they had sent an email off the starwest as reception staff can "not do anything about the facilities, only the rooms". I advised I was very annoyed as I had been waiting to speak with someone. Long story short I now have to email the general manager - (apparently by the name of Mr Anthony) to speak about this - nobody obviously had any intention of contacting me as I was originally advised.
**SO TRUST THE REVIEWS - POOL IS NOT HEATED AND HOTEL WILL NOT TELL YOU THE TRUTH ABOUT IT**

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliesha354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for your feedback. We did receive your first complaint to reception as pool is cold and what compensation do I get. Unfortunately as a property we need to first check whether your claim is correct or not. In this instance as the pool is monitored by Poolwerxs we contacted them and they have assured us that the pool is on correct temperature. The pool temperature is set by this company who looks after the pool on behalf of the strata company. During your stay we also have another guest in house for over 3 weeks requesting the pool temperature be reduced. Unfortunately we cannot adjust the settings done by Poolwerxs as we believe they are a professional company and has more experience than any of us when it comes to pool maintenance. In this instance I can assure you that the pool is in correct temperature and below is what Poolwerxs has sent to certify this.(NB: We had to cross the name of the person as to this site guidelines)

I hope you do understand as a property we cannot change the pool temperature as to each individual customers requirements.

Management
Alderney On Hay

To whom it may concern,

As Certified Pool Operators of the swimming pool facility at Alderney On Hay. I would like to clarify that it is a heated water environment.



Kind Regards



XXXXXXXX| Multi-Unit Franchisee



PoolWerx

The Healthy Pool People



Perth City | Beldon | Mullaloo | Hillarys | Sorrento | Joondalup | Ocean Reef



Tel: (08) 9300 9103

Mob: 0423 829 536

Fax: (08) 9300 9104

sorrento@poolwerx.com.au



Top Total Business and Business 2 Business Sales 2012,2013

Franchise Council of Australia Multi-Unit Franchisee of the Year WA 2011

Australian Franchisee of the Year 2010

Business 2 Business Excellence Award 2010

SPASA Swimming Pool Technician of the Year 2008

Regional Franchisee of the Year 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Have stayed at lot of apartments for work and pleasure but this apartment outstanding on its services nothing was a problem. Is great value for money. We were offered the best long stay rate. The apartment was very clean and fully equipped. Staff is very friendly & helpful.
Location is central for everything we needed.Over for the outstanding service was a great place to stay in Perth as we have tried a few in Perth over past 12 months I will chose to stay only at Alderney On Hay again.
Thank you to all staff who made our stay perfect !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 451ChristoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Myself and 2 of my friends were enjoying the accommodation at the apartment and i must say and we all agree that they have very good service standards and they are maintaining it very well. staff is well trained to look in to any need and want and you can take/bring your own food and cook at your comfort and that could come handy on your budget than eating out but when it was a busy day of cause eating out was the convenient thing to do. Rooms are spacious and clean and we enjoyed our stay for the fullest. I would go there in my next visit as i'm pleased with what we all received.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranjith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legazpi, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Family of 4 of us looking for accommodation in Perth accidentally came across this property and was booked. Later when we saw the negative reviews were concerned and wanted to cancel the booking but as Perth was booked out all reasonable price 2 bedroom apartments sold out so we kept our booking and was very concerned.

I. Can tell that we are lucky we didn't cancel the booking as we found nothing wrong with the deluxe 2 bedroom apartment. Lounges were not brand new but clean. Apartment was very clean, we didn't need parking but they offered free parking and advices us and got us to sign a form if we need parking to get a voucher to display.
To be honest for $155 for a 2 bedroom apartment I don't think it's great value.i kids enjoyed the pool area .

Room Tip: Book a deluxe apartment and you will find you are in a modern apartment. I think the ones who has ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Shared the apartment with 3 mates for a few days, bought some food and cooked in the apartment and saved money on eating out. The apartment was clean and tidy with 4 single beds(King singles would of been better for 4 big blokes.)But we thought it was a good room on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Mantra on Hay
#30 of 81 in Perth
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#64 of 81 in Perth
146 reviews
Seasons of Perth
#59 of 81 in Perth
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderney on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Property: Alderney on Hay
Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing