We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Alderney on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alderney on Hay
Ranked #54 of 66 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Stayed five nights in these apartments and they were a rip off.

We booked and apartment with two doubles and were supplied with a double and two singles.

Bathroom was filthy, mould in the shower. The couch stunk.

No electronic equipment in the gym worked and when I enquired I was answered with "oh, the treadmill has been broken for ages but we didn't know the bike was broken"

The pool was filthy and the spa and sauna doesn't work.

Have no idea how it can be 4 star

Stayed: March 2008
4  Thank fee_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 276 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2008

I will never stay at this establishment again. It is absolutely filthy. All the carpets in hallways are stained, there are grubby marks on all the walls, the shower had mould in it, the lounge was stained, curtains were dirty, sliding door had sticky hand prints on it, the whole place has a musty smell to it. I could go on and on about how dirty and run down it is. The staff are extremely rude and do not care about your complaint.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank CNRJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Very dissapointed with parking facility, infact booked extra parking and on arrival was refused this service. Staff not helpful at all suggested parking in Hay Street, which turns into a clearway in the morning.
When leaving after staying 3 nights we were very angry to see the the lifts were not working, ran emergency number to be told that the lifts would not be fixed before our departure. Great when you have to carry luggage down seven flights of stairs.
Would not stay here again. No service at all.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noparking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

This place is disgusting!! The staff are rude, the whole place is falling apart. There is mold and dust everywhere!! The heated pool is far from heated and the spa is cold. The gym room looks like it hasn't been cleaned in years and most of the equipment is broken. I think the reception lady needs to get a personality, if she hates working there so much then she should leave. We would never recommend this place to anyone. It really needs to be graded as a 3 star.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TravellerWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

Stayed for a week in February. Very disappointed with standard of cleanliness. Sofa sagging and all upholstery stained and grubby. Walls and doors were marked, and curtains stained. The manageress was not interested in our complaints and made no effort to come and see for herself. Her comment was that we were in a standard apartment but that was no excuse for it not to be clean, we paid good money for it.

In addition we were not happy with security. When office was closed entry was via a door in the garage with an entry code but we often found that the door was left open, so anyone could wander in. There were no spyholes in apartment doors either.

The only plus side was that the location was very good , but the apartments are badly in need of refurbishment and are definitely not 4 *

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank grasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

The lack of reception services is a problem. The reception closes at 3pm on weekends/public holidays and 6pm on weekdays. If you are catching a return flight after these times, don't stay here. There is nowhere to securely store luggage once the reception closes. Also after reception hours all access doors have different entry codes, so if you forget them, tough.
We stayed 9 nights and the apartment was only serviced on Day 6 and then they didn't do a thorough job. You have to take your own rubbish down to bins even on the day you check out. The location was good but believe it should downgraded to 3 stars.

Stayed: December 2006
5  Thank WhingingPomBrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2006

Yikes!!

Dirty paintwork, stained carpets, poor decor throughout with marks and bare plaster in places. Singing in the corridors at 1 am. Bedroom and bathroom and furniture was a bit outdated, but clean.

Thought that was it then... You get to the hotel and there is no receptionist, you have to collect an envelope with your keys from a safe, in which is a piece of paper with the passcode for the rear entrance door. This was quite civilized, but you also spot on the paper another door where the code is 696969!! Seems someone lacked imaganation with that one, until you get to the bathroom and realise the hotel has its own inhouse masseusse service! No other papers for you, like the usual bar fridge type stuff.

By now I was getting really suspicious, but the final strange thing occurred when we found 3 towels out for use on the double bed!!

Not saying that this place wasn't above board, but we were left wondering what else might be going on that had made the guy in the corridor so happy!!

Not somewhere I'd stay again..... but good for a laugh..

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Seabirdifly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra on Hay
#29 of 66 in Perth
1,205 reviews
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#53 of 66 in Perth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderney on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $87 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing