We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasantly Suprised”
Review of Alderney on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alderney on Hay
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Perth
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Pleasantly Suprised”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had to book two appartments for a junior sporting team, and the price at the Alderney on Hay was just right.
I read a lot of the reviews here, and happened upon only one positive one...so I was a bit worried.
I personally spoke to the hotel (on a Sunday!!) and let them know what I needed, a nice clean place for me to take other people's children. The staff member suggested thei delux appartments.
We got Room 9 on Floor 1, and Room 16 on Floor 2.
The appartments were clean, with two good sized bedrooms, three way bathroom from the main bedroom, well equipped kitchen, and separate laundry and toilet.
Main bedroom - double bed and desk and chair. Built in wardrobe with extra bedding, and access to the bathroom.
Second bedroom - two single beds. Built in wardrobe and access to balcony.
Lounge area - modular lounge which incorporates a sofa bed. Perfect for one, or for kids, though I expect it may not have been comfy for two adults. Sliding door access to the baclony, with a view - nice to be able to go outside, though the view isn't much to write about. Flatscreen digital TV with remote. Coffee table, with coasters.
Dining area - part of the carpeted area, next to the kitchen. Wooden table with six chairs, table mats.
Kitchen - Fridge, oven, hotplate, kettle (free tea and coffee etc.) toaster etc and enough crockery and cutlery for 6.
Laundry - washer, dryer, basin and cupboards which contain vacuum cleaner, mops broom etc. With a sporting group the washer and dryer were used every night. Just remember to clean the dryer filter after each load for best drying results.
Noise - Not noisy at all (apart from the kids we had with us!!) the only noise I heard was one emergency vehicle siren a long way away. We stayed two Saturday nights and we were not disturbed at all by the backpacker lodge next door..
Gym and Pool - Mezanine floor has heated indoor pool and spa (and shower) and separate gym - treadmill, weights, ball, rowing machine, exercise bikes etc.

Curtains did a great job of keeping out the light, and as mentioned we had no issues with noise.Our room was right next door to the carpark and backpacker lodge, so no issues with sound proofing in room 16 (floor 2).

The units aren't serviced, and I had to ask where to put my rubbish, but that was fine - it's near the carpark entrance on the left of (as you look at reception. The reception people and cleaners were very helpful and friendly.

Reception hours are limited, but well signposted. Guests are given an afterhours access code on arrival, and each room is automatically provided with 2 keys.

Parking - parking permit provided on check-in. However our vehicle was too high to go into the underground parking. This was not an issue for us because the on-street parking was free before eight and after six, which suited us ok. We had no issues with security on the street.

Split system aircons. Only one remote.

I think you need to be specific about your requirements, and book early. Had we known we could have swapped out our double bed for two singles, but we left it too late.

We made good use of the convenience store up the street - behind the Kebab shop, which opens at 6.30am everymorning and closes late. Further up the street there is an IGA, and further still there is McDonald's etc.

Getting to the hotel on the first day prooved tricky, but the rain and the GPS didn't mix. However it's only about 25 minutes from the airport.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room. We stayed in Room 9, floor 1 and Room 16, floor 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneU0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    67
    51
    43
    70
See reviews for
121
29
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stay here around 5 or 6 times a year. It is a very average property but for me it is in a very convenient location in East Perth. It can be a bit noisy if you are unlucky and get a lower level road side room. While the rooms are tidy they can seem a little unclean and he beds are average at best although I have slept in worse.
As a frequent visitor I too find the front desk staff unfriendly and there is never any acknowledgement that you are a return guest or that they are appreciative of the fact.
The best feature of the Hotel is that fact that it is a short walk to one of my favourite restaurants Cafe Italia on Hay Street

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room that isn't facing the road not that they actually listen to requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyjwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Extremely noisy at night. Next door to back packers accomodation - so lots of night noise. On busy street with traffic all night and no sound proofing in room. Room smelt , stained lounge, squeaky beds, small tv.

Room Tip: Check for sound proofing, location good for city and public transport not suitable for families want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Perth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Was booked in for one night to pick up relatives from airport. Good location, very clean and extremely comfortable beds. 45 minutes after we had booked out my sister-in-law realized that she had left 5 very valuable diamond rings on the bedside table. We rang the hotel and returned. When we arrived at reception all of the rings were in an envelope waiting for us to pick up. We congratulate the hotel for employing staff with excellent honesty and integrity and will return when we go to Perth again. Thank you for a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: We stayed in room 32
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1716sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kondinin, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We (family of four) have stayed at this location several times when visiting from the country. We have always found the rooms/mattresses/seating etc to be more than sufficient. Having had to stay for over a week in times past due to medical appointments/emergencies I have found the washer/drier to be invaluable and the cooking utensils etc more than adequate for me to save a few bob by cooking some meals in the apartment. The ONLY suggestion I would have is for the staff to maybe acknowledge "frequent guests" as repeat customers, show a little familiarity and SMILE!! There is a difference between efficiency and brusqueness. SO FAR not enough to deter us from staying. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Staff very unhelpful as we were due to arrive after midnight and requested late checkout. Rudely Informed by staff that it would need to be organized on the day which seemed illogical as it was the already the day before we were due and we wanted a late start for us and three kids before we travelled further the following day. Advised that a rate of $10 per hour applied and then full daily rate after Midday so we didn't bother and decided to vacate by 10 but were woken by Housekeeping at 9am entering room!!!! Room was very very basic and despite booking for 2 adults and 3 kids no one bothered to make up the sofa bed which was a lovey surprise at 2am, however they had kindly left us 2 sachets of coffee to aleast get us started the following day. We then awoke to find our car had been clamped and the Reception staff could not have been more smug or less helpful. We waited 3 hours for someone to return our call and release our car all the whie reception dismissing our requests for assistance to contact the clamping company (who they clearly engage to police their car park yet deny this)as we needed to urgently make travel connections. Our advice would be to simply find somewhere else and leave this one for the drunks who came and went all night!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 662JenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

When we arrived the room stunk and was dirty. (Supposed to be deluxe apartment). The mattress is lumpy and has wires jutting up. Sooo terribly uncomfortable. Then we get padlocked out of our room. When we arrive back at 8pm with our 3 tired children we can't get in and have to phone an after hours number. We are told someone is on their way. After 40 minutes and 2 more phone calls the person on the phone actually turns up and says we have to come to reception to fill out a registration form. (I think he just wanted to keep us waiting as long as he could) We already have one filled out in our room but that is apparently not acceptable and we have to fill out another one. By this stage the kids are losing it, busting for the toilet and I am furious. I feel like we are staying in a prison. We were unable to drop our registration form in to reception because we were not around when they were open and we didn't want to drop it into their drop box because that is accessible by other tenants and would have all our details on it. Instead of giving us a call they lock us out of our room, tell us it's legal to do so and our fault and because I was angry with this man and told him it was completely unacceptable he says we are now banned from ever staying there again. Thank God I say and good riddance. In my opinion I would not stay in these so called deluxe apartments if someone gave me a million dollars to do so. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#51 of 64 in Perth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra on Hay
#26 of 64 in Perth
1,080 reviews
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#33 of 64 in Perth
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderney on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Property: Alderney on Hay
Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing