We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and affordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alderney on Hay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alderney on Hay
Ranked #64 of 81 Hotels in Perth
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable and affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

I have stayed at this place a number of times and am shocked at all the bad reviews!! Yes the hotel is a little old - but its clean and roomy, the apartment we stayed in had 1 x double bed, 2 x single beds, lounge area with a fold out sofa and bathroom,kitchen and laundry. You definitily get your value for money and even a nice little balcony. It is comfortable and clean its not super flash but what do you expect? If your staying with a group its perfect! We have always been happy to stay here as a cheaper option. Ive stayed here with family friends and my partner - we have all thought it was perfectly fine !!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    63
    49
    43
    69
See reviews for
118
25
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

During the weekend we stayed in a two bedroom apartment. We were very happy with the service, the room was clean, it was cosy, beds were comfortable and overall it was a great place to stay, and we will definately be staying again. With regards to the wheelclamping as mentioned in other reviews, dont worry. When you check in they give you a green voucher to be displayed on your dash, they tell you to do this. In the elevator there is another notice to say leave the voucher on your dash at all times and then in your room, in the hotel information it is mentioned again. As for the second car most other hotels charge $20 per night for the extra car.Do take your rubbish out and put in bins provided in carpark. Overall hotel is reasonably priced and if you dont expect 5 star, you will be very happy!

Room Tip: Dont sleep with window open, street very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Booked this last minute on line as we were desperate for accommodation in Perth - had a heart attack when I read the bad reviews after I had already paid. HOWEVER was pleasantly surprised, yes the decor is a bit dated and there were some mold stains (not actual mold) in the shower but Ive seen those at the Mantra 3 doors up as well at double the price. The 2 bedroom suite was clean & comfortable, well equipped kitchen and laundry - heaps of space. Dont know what other rooms were like but ours was fine. No problems with parking - read the instructions and park in the right spot and place permit on the dashboard and you wont have a problem. Easy check in and check out. Cafe downstairs on site. Perth free tourist bus stops out front on other side of road. Really good italian restaurant 100metres up the road towards the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgian_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

stay for two nights. in a appartment fit for 6 people there was only one car park and car wheel got clamped and had to pay a fine of $140.one usually fit 5 people we had to take 2 cars to fit everyone in and was only allocated one park we werent told where else to park . when we arrived we had trouble checking inn. they ended up taking 700 all up for 2 night stay because they had lost the booking information we had to email through a bank statement proving that we had paid the amount.when checking out we could see that people were taking away there rubbish from there rooms, we ask the man at the service desk about the rubbish and if we had to take it some where they said if there is too much rubbish left in the room take money off the credit card, we then ask how much is too much and he said i don't no in the end we went and got all the rubbish out of the room and put it in the bin.i thought we were having a weekend away where we didn't have to worry about taking the rubbish out i thought thats what they were paid to do i wouldn't

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Mount Magnet, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Room was clean, was cheapest we could find. Beds were absolutely awful, so hard. Needs COFFEE cups, not the thimbles provided. Plenty of room, but the only TV is tiny.
Great location, but not enough parking spaces.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissakim8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Booking was easy through "Wotif"

Apartments are clean and spacious and are great for a Family break in the city.

Location is good, walking distance to all the City attractions. We stay here on a regular basis when we are having a little holiday with Family.

The swimming pool is small but adequate and there is a gym for those who like to work out.

One parking bay per unit.

Aldernay on Hay is a good hotel for that little family break!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitzfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Spacious and clean great facilities in apartment room.

Nice full kitchen and laundry very roomy with adequate furniture.

Quite would recommend to anyone wanting a clean affordable accommodation in Perth CBD.

Close to all shopping in the City.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiescotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Mantra on Hay
#27 of 81 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#63 of 81 in Perth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderney on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Property: Alderney on Hay
Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing